28 Reviews

I marinated the roast the night before, and cooked it the full 9 hours. It just fell apart, a truly wonderful meal. Thanks Kez

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kez October 27, 2002

Charlotte J you've done it again! Until I found this recipe I had given up on cooking pork roast, it was always too dry and bland. I LOVE the garlic! Wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardenz July 28, 2002

Very good! The cloves are such a nice touch! My only change was I subbed the thyme & sage for poultry seasoning, and added some lemon juice to the water since I had no rind. My only complaint is this is so salty. Pork is salty enough as it is, and I should have known not to add any more to it as I never do. Next time, no salt. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 October 15, 2010

this was a very flavorful pork roast. I cooked it for about 7 hours on low, it was a 3 lb roast. It completely fell apart when i tried to cut it but thats ok was delicious and tender. I served the meat and gravy over egg noodles and peas. Was very good comfort food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamwa September 29, 2010

I totally enjoyed this! The combination of herbs and lemon was sooo yummy. Served it with cheesy mashed potatoes and creamed spinach for an extreme comfort meal. So satisfying! Thanks Charlotte J! It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
really_lala March 07, 2010

This was excellent! I made this today, with the following changes: I used white wine instead of water, and put two sprigs of fresh rosemary under the roast and one on top and cooked it in a heavy casserole pot on the stove top rather than in a slow cooker for about 3 hours. About half way through I added several thick slices of onion, two roma tomatoes with the stem cut out, and a carrot julienned. The lemon and the clove were an unusual and perfect addition!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jameshoward September 26, 2009

Yummy, but I also put only 3 cloves of garlic and thought it was a bit too garlicy. I love the unique clove flavor. I also used lime rind instead of lemon as that is what I had. It worked just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Climbnyak January 27, 2009

I cut back the garlic to 3 cloves and still thought it was strong but that might be just our tastes. Used 1/4 tsp cloves and lemon pepper instead of the lemon rind. Good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word July 10, 2008

Excellent Pork!!! I didnt have all the ingredients so subsituted some things, I didnt use sage or cloves, however I added to the salt, thyme, 1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper and a squirt of lemon juice, the flavour was fantastic! Instead of fresh garlic cloves I used crushed garlic from jar, everything was great, I found cooking on low for 7 hours plenty! Thanks, will definently use receipe again, hubby is already planning who to invite for dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basicook June 06, 2008

Very good recipe which we will have again. Reading the reviews, I cut back on the ground cloves but followed the rest of the ingredients as listed. I did not make the gravy as we have to watch our sat fat but did spoon a little of the juice over the meat to moisten a little. Served on New Year with black-eyed peas and collard greens! Yum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM January 03, 2008
Slow Cooker Herb Pork Roast