Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Hearty Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Hearty Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2012

      I made this on 7/30/12 for mine and my SO's dinner. There were a few changes made to the recipe,I used the full amount of the carrots,potatoes,and onion.I only had a little over a pound of stew meat,which was tossed with the flour,salt& pepper. For a bit more color, the flour coated meat was browned in a bit of hamburger "drippings". I didn't have any celery, so a couple of shakes of dried celery flakes were used.No beef broth was on hand, so 1 cup of water and a beef bouillon cube was used. For the paprika, a Smoked Spanish Paprika was used. After adding the remaining ingredients, it only took about 6 hours for the stew to be done. Thanks for a recipe that will be made again. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      This was easy and delicious! I didn't use browning sauce (didn't have any) and used vegetable broth (all I had). I also used sweet potatoes, as suggested below, and they were fantastic! The stew was so tasty and really tender. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I subbed sweet potatoes for the potatoes, and used a whisker of chili powder as I was out of paprika. It took 7 hours on low, meat tender. Served with mashed potatoes, the gravy was delicious. I browned the floured meat beforehand, but next time might try it as written. I also only used half a teaspoon of salt but it was good. An easy tasty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Amazing stew, so heavenly and delicious!!! Cooked on low for about 7 hours, meat was so tender and the sauce was heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I only made a few subltle changes to this recipe and it turned out great. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Grandma, I am not a slow cooker fan as I love to play around in the kitchen as much as possible. I was interested in a stew recipe to try out my new slow cooker that was a gift (over a year ago). I saw your recipe and decided to go for it. Put the ingredients in and away I went ... when returning home my son said "wow it sure smells great in here". We haven't eaten it yet but if our noses do the talking ... it is going to be great! I did add 1 can of tomato paste to the broth, 1/2 cup fresh mushrooms, 4 garlic cloves and a sprinkling of dried parsley, oregano and thyme, and as stated by other reviewers I dusted (with a little flour) and browned my meat cubes off in small batches before adding to the cooker. Thanks for the recipe.. I will try to get a picture of this (if only these pictures were scratch and sniff).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I browned the meat as well. This is a super easy and delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      The flavours really come together on this one--I found it a bit salty, so next time I'll leave out the added salt. Very tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      This stew was very easy to make and turned out very tasty. It was perfect on a cold Autumn day. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, the only thing I did differently was to brown the meat first. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

    • on November 06, 2005

      What a nummy stew. Put this in the crockpot and let it go and dh devoured it. Thanks "granmda"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Hearty Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.5
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    19%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1349.9 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 55.1 g
    110%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    browning sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites