Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2012

      This is perfect as written. Made the full recipe (just fit in a 6 qt. slow cooker) and I'll be lucky if I get to freeze half. ;) Been looking for the perfect FO soup recipe and now I've found it - a plus being less complicated than others I've tried - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Easy to make ... not too much fuss and tasted great, but mostly I Loved that it was not overly salty as many French Onion Soups are. I added quite a bit of pepper at the end to deepen the flavor though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Loved this recipe. I pared it down a little bit--just four pounds of onions and about ten cups of broth.

      Just before serving it, I dished it out into ramekins. Then I sliced the French bread, laid a slice on top of the soup, but partially sticking out of the bowl too. I sprinkled mozzarella cheese over top (didn't have any other variety at the moment) and broiled it for about 3 minutes. Turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      YUM!!! I ran the onions through my mandoline for thinner slices. The house smelled so good while this was cooking! I've never made french onion soup and I'm glad that I chose this recipe! Thanks for posting, this was very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I have always wanted to know how to make French Onion Soup and now I do! This tastes just like it's supposed to. It's a perfect recipe! The only problem I had was trying to keep from crying while I chopped all those onions! Made for ZWT5 - Epicurean Queens

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Delicieux, Sauge!I love recipes like this where you can freeze it so now I have 6 huge portions set aside for when life gets busier (or I get more tired?). I deglazed my pan with some merlot and later used merlot for STEP 11. I used Beef Stock which yielded me 5 cups of stock and then made some beef cubes/boiling water for rest of stock. I also used unsalted butter. I mixed the bay leaf, worcestershire, thyme, salt, and pepper in with the onion prior to pouring on the hot stock-just thought it would stir in easier. Used slices from French Bread Rolls for the bread portion. This recipe did not fit into my crock pot so simmered it in my stock pot on the stove instead. If it was a half recipe it would have fit into my slow cooker. I even put some of this into Crock Pot Beef Burgundy b/c I did not have a 12 ounce can of beef broth for that recipe (can had 10.5 ounces). Merci Sauge for sharing your wonderful recipe and also the helpful hints about using the food processor for slicing the onions. Made for my French jaunt during ZWT5 for the Chow Hounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      MMMMMMM!! This was very good!! And a crockpot just makes it so simple! Never thought about freezing French Onion soup, but I bet this would freeze really well! :) I'll have to try that next time. Thanks so much! Made for ZWT4 Family Picks for the CAFE ZMAKK Gypsies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Yummy! I made with sweet Vidalia onions. This soup is so good and I love that it is made in a crock pot. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (461 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.3
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    27%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 995.8 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites