10 Reviews

This is a great recipe, don't listen to the negative review I think its all about the cook if such a good dish doesn't turn out. Make sure you do a home-made paste, this way you ca control the chilli content (and i like plenty of chillies) her is a link to a massaman home made paste http://www.food.com/recipe/massamun-curry-paste-41591
I also changed the coconut milk to low fat carnation milk but only added 10% during cooking and other 90% in last hour with the fish sauce and palm suger. and I used good quality Osso Bucco even better. Good luck.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissy379 November 22, 2011

Incredible flavor..the only problem I had was it was extremely oily! Maybe next time I'll try using coconut milk instead. Either than that it was delicious. Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonglee83 October 20, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe Chickee. I had everything ready and was about to start the recipe, when I was called into work, so I threw the recipe and ingredients at DH and said "follow the recipe and you'll be fine!" I came home to a wonderful dinner. I loved it and so did DH and DD. I know the recipe was followed exactly and the curry turned out absolutely superb. The meat was so tender and it wasnt too hot or spicy either. Will ba making this again... well actually DH will !!!!! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme September 22, 2008

This was great, simple and easy and made the house smell fabulous! The meat was so tender, our toddler doesn't usually like "chewy meat" but wolfed this down. Used a Paenang curry paste as we're not fans of spice (Gasp, heathen I know!) but it really was lovely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyMidget February 13, 2014

A definite 5 and a true keeper. Even my curry hating 3 kids liked this, and that is saying something. Ignore what Chef #1573909 is saying, even if it doesn't meet their expectations, it is a great curry. Made for AU/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum June 20, 2010

Don't let the other ratings fool you. This recipe is garbage. If you know what true masaman tastes like, well...this will make you gag. If you do attempt despite my advice (even though I've been to Thailand and had this dish plently of times) then avoid the pre-made masaman paste at all costs. The dish becomes nothing but a salty mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jehovahneck March 09, 2010

This was awesome! I didn't have time to do it in the crock pot, so I just did it in a normal pot. It is a definite favorite and I am making it again! We had friends over that had never had Thai food before and they thought I was the most amazing cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scotrox November 17, 2009

This was just perfect, I followed the recipe to the letter and it didn't fail me, a sure winner in this house and will become a regular dish for weekends and week days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PerfumeJunkie March 10, 2009

A great recipe that we really loved. It came together easily and is really tasty. Had quite a bit leftover so the second night I used as a base for a shepards pie which I topped with mashed potatoes and sprinkled with peanuts. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies October 16, 2008

My DH put it this way, "This is the best Zaar recipe you've made in quite a while!" and I make a Zaar recipe almost daily! This really is terrific. I used a can of massaman curry from a local oriental shop and when I first tasted this dish after, I thought, "oh, no, it's ruined!", it seemed too spicy hot. It wasn't! I also couldn't find coconut cream so used a can of coconut milk. I also used the lemon juice over the tamarind paste. This is soooo delicious! Thanks, Chickee! Made for Aussie/New Zealand Recipe Swap #18.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees August 23, 2008
Slow Cooker/Crock Pot Massaman Curry