Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker/Crock Pot Massaman Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker/Crock Pot Massaman Curry

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2011

      This is a great recipe, don't listen to the negative review I think its all about the cook if such a good dish doesn't turn out. Make sure you do a home-made paste, this way you ca control the chilli content (and i like plenty of chillies) her is a link to a massaman home made paste http://www.food.com/recipe/massamun-curry-paste-41591
      I also changed the coconut milk to low fat carnation milk but only added 10% during cooking and other 90% in last hour with the fish sauce and palm suger. and I used good quality Osso Bucco even better. Good luck.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      Incredible flavor..the only problem I had was it was extremely oily! Maybe next time I'll try using coconut milk instead. Either than that it was delicious. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe Chickee. I had everything ready and was about to start the recipe, when I was called into work, so I threw the recipe and ingredients at DH and said "follow the recipe and you'll be fine!" I came home to a wonderful dinner. I loved it and so did DH and DD. I know the recipe was followed exactly and the curry turned out absolutely superb. The meat was so tender and it wasnt too hot or spicy either. Will ba making this again... well actually DH will !!!!! ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This was great, simple and easy and made the house smell fabulous! The meat was so tender, our toddler doesn't usually like "chewy meat" but wolfed this down. Used a Paenang curry paste as we're not fans of spice (Gasp, heathen I know!) but it really was lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      A definite 5 and a true keeper. Even my curry hating 3 kids liked this, and that is saying something. Ignore what Chef #1573909 is saying, even if it doesn't meet their expectations, it is a great curry. Made for AU/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Don't let the other ratings fool you. This recipe is garbage. If you know what true masaman tastes like, well...this will make you gag. If you do attempt despite my advice (even though I've been to Thailand and had this dish plently of times) then avoid the pre-made masaman paste at all costs. The dish becomes nothing but a salty mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This was awesome! I didn't have time to do it in the crock pot, so I just did it in a normal pot. It is a definite favorite and I am making it again! We had friends over that had never had Thai food before and they thought I was the most amazing cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This was just perfect, I followed the recipe to the letter and it didn't fail me, a sure winner in this house and will become a regular dish for weekends and week days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      A great recipe that we really loved. It came together easily and is really tasty. Had quite a bit leftover so the second night I used as a base for a shepards pie which I topped with mashed potatoes and sprinkled with peanuts. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      My DH put it this way, "This is the best Zaar recipe you've made in quite a while!" and I make a Zaar recipe almost daily! This really is terrific. I used a can of massaman curry from a local oriental shop and when I first tasted this dish after, I thought, "oh, no, it's ruined!", it seemed too spicy hot. It wasn't! I also couldn't find coconut cream so used a can of coconut milk. I also used the lemon juice over the tamarind paste. This is soooo delicious! Thanks, Chickee! Made for Aussie/New Zealand Recipe Swap #18.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker/Crock Pot Massaman Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.1
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    35%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 77.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 544.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes