Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2007

      Delicious!! I love dishes that can be quickly "thrown" together and then forgotten until serving time. This dish definitely fits that category. I made it as written using the 2 TBS. of Dijon mustard, 1/4 tsp. caraway seeds and a dark porter for the beer. The only thing I did differently was to add the cabbage during the last hour of cooking, turning the crockpot up to "high" to make sure the cabbage got done. I served this with roasted red potatoes and carrots. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this quick, easy, and delicious recipe...it is definitely a keeper. I made this for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      I followed this recipe without the caraway seeds...it was FANTASTIC! Everyone raved about the dinner! This was my first attempt at Corned Beef & Cabbage, so I was thrilled. The Apple Cider Vinegar gave tang while the Brown Sugar took away the acidity. The beer melded everything together for a flavorful meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was terrific!!!! I bought a 4 pound corned beef (wih the seasoning packet) and HAD to cook it today or lose it. Unexpectedly I got home much later than I thought (2pm) and looked for a way to cook it quickly (by 8 pm) for dinner. This was SUCH a winner. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so used small red potatos instead of cabbage, light beer instead of dark, and the seasoning packet that came with the meat instead of the dry spices. It was still absolutely excellent. I cooked it on high fom 3-8 pm. Next time I'll make it according to the recipe (it couldn't get any better, but we'll give it a shot!), but for taste, ease, and adaptability I give this the highest marks! Thanks, Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Amazing. I prepared it exactly according to your recipe and it turned out perfectly. I was a little afraid of overstuffing my smallish crock pot, but it cooked down and the flavor/consistency of both the corned beef and the cabbage was fantastic. Thanks for sharing this recipe...I have a feeling that it won't be the last time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Wonderful recipe! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the caraway seeds. I used a bottle of Guinness beer and added red potatoes and carrots to the pot. We both loved it!! This will be my ONLY way to cook corned beef. So easy and tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This was very good. I had a hard time getting all the cabbage in my 6qt slow cooker, but I just kept adding more as it cooked down. I used a full can of Guiness for the beer. The cabbage part of the meal was unbelieveable-- I think I will always make cabbage like this from now on. The corned beef was a little less flavorful than I had hoped, however this was my first time cooking it myself instead of buying it from the deli. Overall, highly recommended and a satisfying meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I was already doing my corned beef in the crockpot and deci3ded at the last minute to throw a little extra something in. I added the vinegar, brown sugar, mustard and beer. With about an hour left to go I added wedges of cabbage to the top and they were perfectly steamed and wonderfully flavored. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      I made this for the family and they all loved it. I added some carrots and celery to it. I wasn't a fan of corned beef before. I had never tasted carraway seeds. I can't stand beer. I still gave this recipe a try. I did not taste the beer at all. I will be making my corned beef and cabbage recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      You have to try this! This was SO good! I cook a lot of corned beef, we eat it all year long. This recipe is my favorite by far. I had a 5 1/2 lb corned beef so I doubled the cider vinegar, brown sugar, mustard (I used Grey Pupon with horseradish bc that's what we had), pepper (fresh cracked), cloves and caraway seeds. I skiped the cabbage just because none of us eat it. But I did throw in a bag of baby carrots the last 2 hours which were out of this world good. I made it with Champ (from this site, also delicious). My husband did comment that this is sweeter then any other he's ever had but he also said that it's his favorite. I'm going to throw out all other recipes! I'll only ever make this one! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I really didn't care for this recipe. The sauce overpowered everything else, and while the sauce didn't taste bad, I really want to taste the cabbage and the corned beef, as well as the potatoes and carrots. Next year I'll go back to my tried and true corned beef and cabbage, cooked with potatoes and carrots, with water, on the stove.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This is delicious! We didn't have caraway seed, so that wasn't included. We also didn't have dijon mustard so I added about 1 tbls dry mustard and about 2 tbls white wine to substitute. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      I don't know what went wrong but mine came out so bland that it's not worth eating. I put all the stuff in, followed the direction, and nothing worth fixing again. I was so looking forward to a wonderful meal for my family, but it was a failure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Delicious. Very good. I really think the apples added something to this dish that usually isn't there in this type of dish. I think it would have been better if I added the cabbage during the last hour as one reviewer did.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      WOW! This is the best corned beef & cabbage ever! My husband said it's too bad they don't make a room freshener that smells like this stuff when it's cooking. (just don't overcook the cabbage...keep checking it and rinse the corned beef off, first. A bit salty, but still 5 stars, all the way.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I liked this better than I thought I would. I don't like beer, so I thought the dark beer would be too much for me, but it didn't taste like beer at all. This was my first time making corned beef and cabbage and it turned out great. I'll be making this every St. Patrick's Day from now on. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      This recipe is awesome! The sweetness from the brown sugar and the tang from the cider and cloves is delicious. And slow cooking makes it fork tender. I made a substitution: I didn't have either the apple vinegar, apple cider, or an apple so I just used hard cider since the alcohol cooks out. My husband and daughter loved this dish. I'll definitely make it again.

      Oh - a note on caraway seeds. I hate caraway seeds with passion. But they were in the seasoning packet and I didn't catch that until too late. I never even tasted them when this was all done.

      Suggestion: My cabbage became discolored after spending all day in the slow cooker. Next time, I will either put the cabbage in an hour before completion, or just put a single wedge in for flavor and then microwave the other wedges and add them before serving. This is purely an aesthetics thing. The discoloration didn't affect the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I have to admit, I didnt care much for this version. After reading all the great reviews, I thought I'd try it but the vinegar was too overwhelming for me. I followed the recipe as posted except used regular beer. Didnt think it'd make much of a difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I made this yesterday for the first time and thought it was wonderful. My husband loved it also! I didn't use the whole head of cabbage as neither one of us like it very much, but I was pleasantly surprised at how different the cabbage tastes when it's made in the slow cooker. I'll definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Awesome! Definitely will make again! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I made this for St. Patrick's Day 2013 and the whole family really enjoyed this, which is saying a lot since I normally HATE corned beef. The only thing I will do differently next time is to leave the cabbage out and cook it in the oven with the potatoes and carrots. Thanks for posting a recipe that makes one of my DH's favorite a good meal for me also. Happy St. Patrick's Day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (606 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 832.3
     
    Calories from Fat 468
    56%
    Total Fat 52.0 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 17.3 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 266.5 mg
    88%
    Sodium 3159.1 mg
    131%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 21.2 g
    85%
    Protein 52.5 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes