10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good - even my picky-eater of a hubby enjoyed this. I used fat-free evaporated milk in it, and no potatoe flakes, it turned out quite well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom_x3 February 15, 2003

Made this tonight with some leftover ham in the fridge. Really scrumptious flavor!! We did not have the mashed potato flakes to thicken so I ladled off some of the broth (maybe 2/3 cup or so) and whisked it with 3-4 tsp of corn starch and then stirred that in. Thickened it nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andreadmb December 01, 2008

Absolutely scrumptious!!! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joellen1972 August 24, 2008

This made great corn chowder. DH doesn't like anything to do with corn so I don't often get a chance to cook using my favorite veggie. This was fabulous. I've made it twice now both times using the potato flakes to thicken. Really good main course soup. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst March 23, 2008

This is delicious chowder! Very easy to put together in the crockpot. I did add potato flakes at the end, I felt the chowder wasn't thick enough. Oh I also left out the pepper (personal choice)! I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Kate January 24, 2008

This is really good. It takes a bit of time to chop up the vegi's (so prepare ahead) but it is worth it. The flavor is excellent and the texture is great too. The only change I would make is to add more corn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender December 07, 2007

I used reduced cream rather than evaporated milk - the hubby definitely wants a repeat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neoshibby September 24, 2007

Oops! Forgot to rate this and couldn't figure out how to edit my original review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janem123 October 29, 2005

I am finally becoming an active member here and trying to review some of the recipes we've tired. This is one I've made a number of time and my family really likes it. I've also taken it to a potluck and was begged for the recipe. I made it as written except I omitted the peppers, used fat free evaporated milk and only use one can of creamed corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie B January 12, 2005

Great taste. My kids loved it (and they don't like much!) Even the leftovers disappeared.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CherylR March 06, 2004
Slow Cooker Corn Chowder