11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I look for slow cooker recipes, I do not like to do anything that requires something to be already cooked (like the chicken and canned beans in this soup recipe.) So I used two large, frozen chicken breasts and a couple handfuls of dried white beans (not pre-soaked, pre-cooked) and cooked it on high turning it to low for the last couple of hours) and it turned out great. I like to use dried beans instead of canned because they are so much cheaper. The only change I make when using dried beans is to use a little more liquid than the recipe calls for. Hope that helps others make this fantastic recipe even a little easier!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjensen1 November 29, 2011

After being w/o power all day, it came back on right before bedtime. I quickly threw all the fresh vegetables, raw chicken, broth and bouillon into the crock pot, so I could cook it overnight for the next day's lunch. The next morning, I added the tomatoes and beans and turned the crock pot down to "warm". Everything cooked up nice and tender. I really don't think you need to precook the chicken. It literally fell apart it was so tender. I skipped the butter and Tabasco sauce since I didn't need the fat, and I don't care for too much heat.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) February 11, 2010

One pot meals are always a convenience. I used frozen chicken breasts and chopped them before putting them in the crock pot and stewing initially on high. A bit too salty; perhaps it is best to use one bouillon cube or eliminate the bouillon all together. A nice winter afternoon soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JVernel November 03, 2012

I made this over the weekend when our weather was a bit chilly here in the midwest. I put it all together in the morning and it was ready by early evening. My house smelled wonderful and my kids even ate with us. NO leftovers here!!! Thanks for sharing, this was an amazing meal!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginangino69 November 01, 2010

Made this last night and its already gone! The whole house smelled incredible and it tasted even better. I skipped the Tabasco and parsley but otherwise did the exact recipe. Its definitely a recipe I'm keeping. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelscook October 08, 2010

Simple and delicious! I also just used raw chicken and cut it into bite-sized chunks. I added some Italian seasoning near the end. I am thinking about trying it sometime without the tomatoes, too, because I sampled it before I put them in, and it was pretty good. Like many foods, this was even better the next day. Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking October 16, 2014

I cheated and used our pressure cooker. Used frozen chicken cut into bits and six cups of stock, no bullion. Didn't make any changes to ingredients. Recommend giving it time to reduce as apparently 6 cups is a bit much, but we were hungry and it tasted just fine anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne June 02, 2014

This is a super easy slow cooker recipe, and it tastes delicious. Our whole family loves it (except Ms Picky who doesn't like anything). After reading the reviews I used fresh chicken, which turned out great. I used bouillon cubes & water for all the broth called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocokind April 03, 2014

This was SO good and satisfying :-) I used my own stock and wound up using way less chicken (probably a breast's worth), which I think I could have gotten away with even less; my husband and I prefer less meaty soups. It was very satisfying and almost too filling, though I do not strain my stock (personal preference; the additional fat makes it more filling). I also added a bay leaf, a bit of Italian seasoning, and instead of the bullion added a bit more salt. I skipped the parsley and hot sauce too. This is delicious with Monterrey Jack cheese on the side and I think a nice crusty loaf of bread would make this a meal for guests :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coveredinharmony June 20, 2013

Excellent. My whole family loved this. Not a bland soup at all, full of flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saint louie girl December 07, 2010
Slow Cooker Chicken, Tomato and White Bean Soup