18 Reviews

don't let the small number of reviews deter you; this recipe is fantastic! We, as another reviewer did, added more guram masala near the end of cooking to maintain the flavors. We also added twice as much cream because we like it creamy. Don't judge. I didn't need to add the cornstarch bc it thickened up nicely on its own. It was amazing and I am definitely making it again. Thank you!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sum dum girl February 14, 2013

Made this and bought some from a restaurant to compare. The crockpot one was a hit. I personally couldn't taste a difference and my friends agreed. I don't like spicy so I didn't add jalapeño and did 1teaspoon of cayenne pepper, with that said, I still thought it was a little too spicy. Next time I'll only do 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Will be making this again! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fredomoftruth September 09, 2013

So yummy! We used non-fat Greek yogurt and half-n-half instead of cream (that might be why it didn't look uber creamy like you get in a restaurant, but it tasted great!) Also didn't use the cornstarch, forgot to get it. This was a super easy dish. We served with aromatic rice and a couple of sides from an Indian cookbook we have. The sides were more time consuming than the main dish! This will definitely go into our dinner rotation. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stebnay August 04, 2013

Indian food doesn't get easier than this. I doubled the garlic and used diced tomatoes canned in tomato juice (I put the contents of the can into the blender and pureed it for about 20 seconds). Fantastic with naan!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beffymaroo February 16, 2013

This was great and I loved the way the house smelled all day while it cooked! I had to use the tomato paste and I just added a couple cans of water with it and I served it with Aromatic Basmati Rice (Rice Cooker) instead of plain basmati. Thanks for an easy Indian dish that I can rock with my crockpot! Made for ZWT 8

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 23, 2012

This is great and so easy. I also added some more spice at the end to freshen it up. I used crushed tomatoes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW August 21, 2012

Loved this chicken tikka - great flavor and just the right amount of heat for us! The spices really compliment the yogurt/tomato sauce and the cream at the end really adds a wonderful richness to the dish. I have to admit that I cut way back on the cayenne pepper; although I do like my Indian food spicy. This dish is really easy to put together and then it just cooks itself -- my kind of meal! This is going into my Best of 2012 file and I will be making it often as we truly love Indian food. Served with rice and a salad.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration August 15, 2012

THOSE FLAVORS are exactly what my taste buds were craving. As I get older, I'm finding I love the Middle Eastern/African flavors more & more. Much more interesting flavor blends. My American suburbanite taste buds loved every bite. My husband kept sneaking back for more. I'll add more garam masala, as "sum dum girl" suggests, and may go to the Indian grocery store for their masala, just to see if their blends are different than McCormick's.<br/><br/>I'll try serving with Saag Paneer (spinach with Indian cheese) next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImJustGettingStarted January 17, 2015

This was excellent. Hands down the best chicken tikka recipe i have tried so far AND its easy due to the crock pot. Family gobbled it right down (

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeetyWee December 07, 2014

I've made this twice now and it has been delicious every time. It is great with some homemade naan too. I will definitely be making it again but next try adding extra garam masala at the end

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bschie August 21, 2014
Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala