81 Reviews

This is one of the best chicken soups we've ever had. I cubed the cooked chicken, added a few chopped mushrooms and used all low-sodium chicken broth, with no water. As other reviewers suggested, I added the noodles when I turned the crockpot off; they cooked through and didn't get mushy at all. All the proportions of ingredients were perfect, which made this such an extra-good chicken soup recipe. I'll definitely make this again -- we loved it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester April 20, 2010

First time making chicken noodle soup and it was AMAZING! I used 2lbs of split chicken breast with the skin removed and did 4cups water and 4cups broth. Only used one teaspoon salt. My hubby thought it was excellent! Defiently a keeper and so easy to do

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggie49 February 20, 2012

I love this recipe however I use Orzo instead of the egg noodles they last and hold up well

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLBishop1983 December 29, 2010

I'm a chicken breast kind of cook most of the time & I used them here, too! Also used homemade chicken broth & substituted lemon pepper for the usual S&P ~ & we had A GREAT TASTING, WONDERFULLY COMFORTING SOUP! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 25, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I used 4 cups of water in the crock pot (which is a smallish one), and added 4 cups of chicken broth after stripping the meat from the bones. I also added about 1/2 of a head of garlic (minced) with the onions, and several stalks of parsley on top of the chicken. Delightful! Even my picky stepdaughter ate a bowl or two, and she won't anything I cook! I did strain the stock through cheesecloth and pick through the vegetables to make sure I didn't accidentally include any smaller pieces of bone.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quondamquadrat October 30, 2008

I made this soup using frozen chicken skinless boneless chicken breasts to make it healthier. I was worried it wouldn't come out well but it came out fantastic! The second time I used Brown rice, cooking it separate and adding it to soup when it was done. Again it came out fantastic, everyone loved it even the kids!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Altom85 January 16, 2013

Made this twice now. First time came out amazing, used chicken breast and followed the suggestion of 4cups chicken broth 4cups water and I used 2tsp salt.

Second time making it I didn't think and didn't measure out the noodles so I just put a whole bag in, and the noodles came out broken and mushy. So I'm thinking that's what other people's problems with the noodles are. You MUST measure out the nokdles!

Will make again and remember to only use 3 cups of noodles

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piscesabitdreamy November 14, 2012

So yummy! We were all feeling a bit poorly today and this really hit the spot. I only used half an onion, a whole tsp thyme, one tsp oregano and changed the pepper to lemon pepper. I used Delicious Homemade Egg Noodles for the noodles. It made it perfect! Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwtGrl1231 November 03, 2009

THIS is how chicken noodle soup is supposed to be! Lots of chicken, lots of noodles and lots of rich flavor. I used 3 1/2 pounds of bone-in skinless chicken thighs. Because my chicken was thighs and had bones, I used the water. That made for a great stock! I halved the amount of salt and thought it was fine. I'd say this makes more than 6 servings, and that's agood thing. ;) I highly recommend this recipe for the chicken noodle soup-lovers out there. Thanx for posting it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 03, 2008

Ugh! This recipe is good..but I am a little frustrated that I wasted my time to get to the noodles and now it's ruined. I read the other reviews about the wide egg noodles..so when I turned my crock pot off (after cooking all day) I added the egg noodles and they were literally dough 5-10 minutes later. My 2nd time and 2nd recipe of making chicken noodle and this recipe kind of ruined dinner because of the noodle choice. I also added a can of cream of chicken because the soup was very liquidy before the noodle mistake. I will use this recipe again, but will definitely use a different kind of noodle.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolynn_klein November 07, 2013
Slow Cooker Chicken Noodle Soup