Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2011

      Call 'em dumplings or don't call 'em dumplings, this was still a very satisfying dish, & the only change I made to it was to use lemon pepper instead of the usual pepper! Very nice comfort food! Will be making this one again, for sure! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This is not Chicken and Dumplings, but Chicken pot pie in a pot.......................
      And it was good. Please rename

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I loved this, it was my first attempt at chicken and dumplings and both my husband and I thought it was great. Great flavor as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This recipes lacks something. I did not use the bouillon to cut down on the sodium, but the taste was just to bland. I think you need to add onions to give flavor. Overall not to my liking. Sorry, I do not see why the great reviews. There are many others on here that are much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was a great rendition. I chose to forgo the bullion cubes, the chicken broth was just right by itself (we try to cut sodium wherever we can). I have not had the biscuit style dumplings in YEARS, I was happy to find a recipe (especially a crock pot one!) that incorporated the biscuits :) Yum! Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Great recipe, made it while we went out hiking, and was a welcome sight when we got home. The only thing I warn people is that I made a mistake and purchased cheese biscuits instead of plain ol' biscuits, this caused somewhat a conflict in tastes. It was horrible, but didn't taste right. Highly recommend, and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was excellent! I made it using my favorite buttermilk biscuit recipe instead of a mix and forgot to add garlic (since my broth didn't have any) and the results were still wonderful. I loved how it made the house smell as it was cooking. I'll definitely be making this again, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I am still smacking my lips-outstanding! I did not have chicken broth with roasted garlic so I added 1 teaspoon of minced garlic to the broth. I added 2 tablespoons of minced onion and 1 bay leaf. Instead of adding flour later to thicken the broth I added 1 can of cream of chicken soup at the beginning and stirred it good to break up clumps. My dumplings took 1 hour and 20 minutes but it could be b/c it is an old crock pot or maybe a sheet of paper toweling should be put between the dumplings and cover to absorb the moisture?? Thank you Lainey for posting a super recipe. Made for Everyday is a Holiday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Not much I can add to what has already been said - it's a great recipe - and perfect for those days when you are not in the kitchen. The aroma alone is worth a five! Yes I was anticipating - and I'm sure the neighbours knew we were going to have a great supper! Other then using canned biscuits I made as posted - I suspect one could use their favorite home made recipe for the biscuits with equally good results. Thank you for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Made this as directed except that I used canned biscuits instead of the mix as that is what I had in the fridge. Everyone enjoyed this. This was made with ingredients I normally have on hand. I also needed to thicken it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Just like the Dumplings I loved as a kid that took hours to make. I added equal parts flour and melted butter stirred up to make a Roux to thicken it (towards the end). I love the thin Dumplings common in the South, so I skipped the biscuit mix and milk and added a package of Wonton Wrappers cut into 3/4" strips at the end and let it cook maybe 15 min. In the South you can buy frozen Dumplings, but they are basically the same thing. Anyway thanks for an easy, yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Wow! I made this last night and my hubby invited over his boss (they own a resort and diner). I was irritated because- you know I was experimenting here-but it turned out wonderful. Everyone raved. We will be keeping this one! I would give it more stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Incredible! Very easy...great comfort food. My family loved it. My dumplings took longer than 35 minutes, too, as others suggested, but it has a most appealing flavor. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was good. We opted to thicken it up with some flour and it needed salt and pepper. We used Cheddar Biscuit mix and that worked out fine. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      We really enjoyed this last night. I started it about 11 that morning and just let my crockpot shut down to warm around 4. At this time I shredded the chicken. Then last that night about 2 hours before we ate I turned it back up to high. An hour later added the biscuits and when DH finally returned home an hour later the meal was ready. The only thing I'd change would be to take out some broth when I shredded the chicken and add corn starch to it then add it back in just before the biscuits. We just like the juice a little thicker. I'll be making this again! I forgot to say that the broth w/roasted garlic is a *MUST* it adds so much flavor. Made for *Zaar Stars* game 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Very easy to make & comes out great with little effort! Chicken was tender & juicy, the dumplings took a bit longer to make than indicated, but overall was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This was really good. I did change a few things - added crushed garlic, and 2 chopped yukon gold potatoes. Also, used bisquick to make the dumplings (recipe on their box). I also added 2-3 teaspoons of rosemary. That added a lot of flavor. Yumm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I especially liked this one because of the slowcooker method. That's always a bonus around here. I followed the recipe exactly and the fam thought it was very tasty. This would go over well to bring to a shut-in or someone in need of a meal. Thanks Lainey.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This is pretty easy to put together and tastes great. Another great recipe to use in the motorhome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Very comforting meal. My husband and kids enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 834.2
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    28%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 157.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 2006.9 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 60.8 g
    121%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken broth with roasted garlic

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes