Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Cheddar Polenta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Cheddar Polenta

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2011

      Yummy. I halved the cheese and it was still delicious. It is so easy to make in the crock pot! We ate it as mush with some crusty bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This was really good and soooo easy! We are on a diet so left out the cheese altogether and it was great. Thanks Sharon for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      I love this!! I can't find "polenta" here in town so I had to use normal cornmeal (not even coarse ground). It worked out perfectly. The timing was bang on as well! I used one of those little sticks of medium cheddar for the cheese and was pleasantly surprised to actually taste it. This was great. Other than the sub for the cornmeal, I didn't change a thing. I am looking forward to frying this up for lunch tomorrow! This is going into my permanent book! Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      A very easy way to make polenta (or grits). The cheese makes this super rich, I only used 8 oz. Also added garlic powder for garlicky cheese polenta. Threw it together early Sunday morning, went back to bed with a cup of coffee and newspaper, and in two hours you have perfect polenta. Served with fried eggs and a side of watermelon. Put the rest in a greased pan for frying in butter later on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Eeeeek! This didn't work at all for me. Cut recipe in half and used cornmeal as another reviewer did. Cooked almost twice as long as directions before it set up to right consistency. Cooled overnight in frig. When I tried to fry in hot olive oil, the whole batch turned back into mush. Guess I must have done something wrong, but can't imagine what it could have been.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I used a mix of water and chicken broth, ½ polenta and ½ cornmeal. Used 2½t hot salt and omitted pepper. Only had about 2 c shredded cheese, though. Still turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Awesome recipe! I made this with lowfat cheese and chicken stock. I kept everything else the smae and this turned out really yummy! Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This is a great, simple polenta recipe! We added a little more black pepper the second time we made it, as a matter of taste. (A little more cheese would not be a bad idea either!) We used plain yellow cornmeal, and it was fine. We cooled it in a 9x13 baking dish, then cut into squares and sauteed - yum! We wrapped the leftover squares individually and put in the freezer, then fried from frozen - worked perfectly! A definite keeper -- ready-to-fry polenta squares are a staple in our freezer from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This was yummy, a very good lunch. I quartered the recipe and cooked it in my little 1QT crockpot. I can't wait to fry up the leftovers. Thank you for posting - I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This was the first time I've ever made polenta. I used 3 cups warm half & half and 4 cups hot water. Loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Great! I halved the recipe and used regular yellow corn meal. After it cooked I poured it into a greased pie pan and chilled it. Then cut into wedges and fried in olive oil. Spinkled it with a little freshly grated parmesan and mmmmmmmmmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Cheddar Polenta

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.0
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    55%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 900.3 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes