11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy. I halved the cheese and it was still delicious. It is so easy to make in the crock pot! We ate it as mush with some crusty bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper March 02, 2011

This was really good and soooo easy! We are on a diet so left out the cheese altogether and it was great. Thanks Sharon for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tropicgal November 24, 2008

I love this!! I can't find "polenta" here in town so I had to use normal cornmeal (not even coarse ground). It worked out perfectly. The timing was bang on as well! I used one of those little sticks of medium cheddar for the cheese and was pleasantly surprised to actually taste it. This was great. Other than the sub for the cornmeal, I didn't change a thing. I am looking forward to frying this up for lunch tomorrow! This is going into my permanent book! Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn November 08, 2006

A very easy way to make polenta (or grits). The cheese makes this super rich, I only used 8 oz. Also added garlic powder for garlicky cheese polenta. Threw it together early Sunday morning, went back to bed with a cup of coffee and newspaper, and in two hours you have perfect polenta. Served with fried eggs and a side of watermelon. Put the rest in a greased pan for frying in butter later on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel July 30, 2006

Eeeeek! This didn't work at all for me. Cut recipe in half and used cornmeal as another reviewer did. Cooked almost twice as long as directions before it set up to right consistency. Cooled overnight in frig. When I tried to fry in hot olive oil, the whole batch turned back into mush. Guess I must have done something wrong, but can't imagine what it could have been.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim May 22, 2010

I used a mix of water and chicken broth, ½ polenta and ½ cornmeal. Used 2½t hot salt and omitted pepper. Only had about 2 c shredded cheese, though. Still turned out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
half_baked May 01, 2010

Awesome recipe! I made this with lowfat cheese and chicken stock. I kept everything else the smae and this turned out really yummy! Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) October 13, 2008

This is a great, simple polenta recipe! We added a little more black pepper the second time we made it, as a matter of taste. (A little more cheese would not be a bad idea either!) We used plain yellow cornmeal, and it was fine. We cooled it in a 9x13 baking dish, then cut into squares and sauteed - yum! We wrapped the leftover squares individually and put in the freezer, then fried from frozen - worked perfectly! A definite keeper -- ready-to-fry polenta squares are a staple in our freezer from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady February 18, 2008

This was yummy, a very good lunch. I quartered the recipe and cooked it in my little 1QT crockpot. I can't wait to fry up the leftovers. Thank you for posting - I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout December 11, 2007

This was the first time I've ever made polenta. I used 3 cups warm half & half and 4 cups hot water. Loved it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bertaquilt October 21, 2007
Slow Cooker Cheddar Polenta