25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked this recipe with a few alterations. I added an extra 8 oz marinara sauce and 1/2 tsp italian seasoning to this. Also, 2 hours before it was done cooking I added 1/2 cup brown basmati rice. Very good, and very easy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u July 28, 2011

Quick, easy recipe with great results. I have always loved stuffed cabbage but it's time consuming to prepare. This recipe tastes exactly like the original!! It's low in calories and has nutritional value! Thank you so much for this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsharonluk May 19, 2010

Great casserole and takes little time to put together. I used ground round, garlic powder, added two cans of diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. I did add a layer of rice over the ground round because I use it when making stuffed cabbage. The only problem I had was I used a 6 quart crock pot and I didnt catch it before the sauce cooked out. It finished cooking on low in about 5 hours. The casserole was a thick stew type meal. Next time I make this I will use my smaller crock pot or keep a closer eye on the 6 quart. Thank you for posting this recipe Parsley! Made and reviewed for the TOTM Forums tag game It's Not Easy Being Green.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 April 01, 2009

I need more stars!! This is the best kind of recipe. Standard ingredients, easy and quick to prepare and all in the crock pot! I too added approx. 1 cup raw rice and that helped to thicken the juices nicely. The flavors were bright and perfect. I will make this again and again. Thanks for posting this keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ March 24, 2013

excellant recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memaw #2 March 06, 2010

Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I used Splenda instead of sugar as that is all I buy. Mine only took about four hours on low. Everyone enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 20, 2009

I prepared this recipe exactly as written and it was a wonderful dinner. I did serve it with white rice. It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toomuch2do2day January 17, 2009

Outstanding. I love everything about this casserole. I used lean ground beef and I the extra 8 ounce can of tomato sauce. I also added in some more sugar, actually brown sugar, cause we like it a little sweet. I did serve it over brown rice because we do love it. I did stir it all up about halfway through the cooking stage. I broke up the ground beef slightly, but I liked that there were some small chunks because you get a big taste of ground beef in the usual cabbage roll recipe. Thanks so much for a winner that is going into my tried and true recipe book.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 04, 2008

This is a great, healthy recipe! It was easy, too. We used the Italian diced tomatoes. I also added a little parmesan cheese on top of mine. The only thing that I will change next time is to maybe mix the ground beef throughout or something. It got kind of squished like a strange patty in the bottom of the crock pot, but it still tasted good. I just had to break it up as I was mixing it. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies October 14, 2008

What a terrfic dinner! I have made this a couple of times and forgot to rate it before sorry. To feel that a recipe is healthy, it has to have the majority, if not all, of it's calories and fat from food that is beneficial. So many cabbage recipes have too much added sugar, white rice, etc, so I am a big fan of this one! I do use the sugar in it, since it's such a small amount and it really does make the difference in whether it tastes "tinny". I use 1 lb Laura's 4% fat ground beef and I serve brown rice to the less calorie restricted as well as putting some shredded cheddar that they can add if they choose. Thanks for the recipe...it will be used frequently!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook October 08, 2008
Slow Cooker Cabbage Roll Casserole