32 Reviews

Of course with a basic recipe like this you have to season it to your taste to make it flavorful, but we all do that when cooking for our families. I give this 5 stars for the fact its so simple to make and the end result is a flavorful meal that you don't have to fuss with, just throw it in the crock pot! I used low sodium mushroom soup, and ff sour cream to lighten it up and make it a bit more healthy. I added fresh mushrooms (about 8 oz). I added about 1 tsp. beef bouillon granules and a about 2 T. Kitchen Bouquet to make the gravy a little darker. Great dish over some thin egg noodles, Pure comfort!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookTillUDrop October 26, 2008

So simple and delish. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claidan September 17, 2012

This was great! So easy to make and the meat turned out really tender! I used fresh mushrooms and used a garlic mushroom soup. I halved the recipe and served with egg noodles. Very easy and tasty recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 July 02, 2012

At first this seemed too simple to be very flavorful but after I made it I definitely changed my mind. This was so easy to make and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina K July 06, 2009

This was a fantastic and easy dinner! I put everything in the crockpot in the morning and it was nearly ready when I got home. I used low-sodium soups and lite sour cream. I also used fresh mushrooms and sauteed them and the onion before putting them in the pot. Very good...will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 June 16, 2009

I thought I might want some extra spice such as oregano or basil, but followed the recipe almost as given for its first time out. In my opinion it really didn't need any extra spice and I'm glad I didn't "tinker" much on first try. The sauce tasted very rich with the flavors of beef, onions, mushrooms and sour cream. The only thing I changed was that I used an 8-oz. package of fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Delicious and easy! This recipe is a real keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamelad April 04, 2008

Excellent. I had ideas in my head all day for how I was going to adapt this recipe (white wine, garlic, bay leaves, etc.) But in the end, it was so nice the way it was... and SO EASY! Thanks a ton! It's staying in the cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LibbyAnne September 13, 2007

This was good!! I felt it needed more seasoning so next time I will add more, but the directions were easy and it was good!! I used cream of mushroom soup, baby bellas and about 1 tsp of Marjoram and a little garlic. Thanks for posting!! I will be making this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen October 01, 2006

This was easy - and good. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom and my sauce was a little thin for my liking. I might try one can next time (and add a little beef broth if needed). Made with LOADS of fresh mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB March 23, 2016

I've just noticed that when you look at this recipe in the Food.com App, it lists the soups (condensed golden mushroom soup + cream of mushroom soup) as 2 separate ingredients, so you end up with a total of 42oz of combined soup. When you look at the recipe on a computer, the soup ingredients are separated with an "or," so I believe you are just to choose 1 type of soup or the other and that the recipe on the App might be incorrect. Since I just now noticed this, I initially made the recipe following the App. Still came out great, but now I understand why it felt like there was so much liquid in comparison to meat/onions/mushrooms. Just FYI for those looking at this recipe on your cell phones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Novice Cook November 24, 2015
Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff