Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2010

      Delicious! I used all beef stock and omitted the bouillon cubes I also added in some crushed chili flakes, thanks for posted this great crockpot stew recipe Sue, we enjoyed this today for an early dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Excellent! Both DH and I loved this stew. Comfort food at it's best. It has very good depth of flavor and the beef was really tender. You can't go wrong with this recipe. As loof said it wasn't very thick but if thats a factor in your house you can always stir in the remaining flour mix toward the end of cooking (I had a fair amount left) and that should help. All in all, Yummm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      We loved this! I used low sodium V8 instead of plain tomato juice, and put enough to cover the meat. I didn't have any beef boullion on hand so opted to use a can of french onion soup. This is a wonderful meal that is easy to put together and absolutely delicious! Thanks CB! Made for KK Mini Cookathon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      This is a delicious beef stew recipe! I had V8 on hand so I used that in place of the tomato juice and omitted the beef bouillon cubes since I used beef broth. The stew meat was fork tender and loved the vegetables in the sauce. Sus I will definitely make this stew again and thank you for sharing it with us! Made and reviewed for the game forums Zaar Stars recipe tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      I don't normally change a recipe, but I didn't have all the ingredients that were listed so I changed the recipe a bit so I could use foods that I already had in my pantry. I used the whole can of tomato juice and eliminated the water that was called for in the recipe. Also, for the meat I didn't use fresh stewing meat. I used a can of USDA commodity pork,with juices and all, which my husband's father gave to him. For those of you who don't know what commodity meat is-- It is meat that the US government buys from farmers and then cans and distributes to the low income. Since I used the canned meat there was no need for the flour or olive oil. I did add the onion powder to the crockpot. I also left out the celery because I didn't have any. Instead of adding 4 fresh carrots, I used 1 can of carrots, drained. I also used 1 can of green beans, drained, instead of frozen green beans. I also added 1 can of corn, drained and 1 small can of tomato paste, 1 T worchestershire sauce, 2 T sugar and 1/2 tsp pepper. It worked out great with ingredients that I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      We loved this! This was a real help for me this week, we have been as busier then lima beans growing mid-August here, and needed some down-time from cooking. But we needed comfort. And comfort this was. I halved this, since it was the two of us, so I halved the juice, (I used my homemade vegetable juice so it was 20 ounces). I did keep to the same seasonings, and did add the celery 4 stalks as celery is good for you. This was as yummy as finding a candy-cane under the Xmas-tree. Thank you for sharing such a comforting treat with us, CB! Made for *French Forum Herb Month* February 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Great comfort food! To me this seemed more of a soup than a stew as the broth is not very thick, but it has great taste just the same. Loved all the veggies too - a healthy and satisfying meal - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      The smell while this is cooking is wonderful. The bad part about that is it made me hungry all day too. The only reason I am giving this a 4 instead of a 5 is because it is more like a soup than a stew. The potatoes, meat and veggies are stew size, but the liquid makes it more soup like. This is still very very good and I highly recommend it! Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Sue - what a gem of a recipe you have here. My kids did not complain about the tomato base as they could not "see" tomatoes! Yeah! I did sub out the bouillon and used low sodium beef broth instead (1 1/2 cups to be equivalent to the water/bouillon mixture). That was the only change...used all the veggies and even added some frozen peas to finish off a bag. Very comforting dish for a chilly night. Thanks friend for a great find. This is a Thank You tag for the Holiday Tag Game event in December.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This was really good, it had a wonderful flavor and the meat was tender. I did go easy on the bouillon, only used 5 cubes and also only used enough tomato juice to cover the meat, was trying to watch the sodium content. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This recipe was delicious. I followed the recipe perfectly right up to the potatoes. I did not add green beans but added turnip instead. I also only added 2 envelopes of beef bouillon and only 1 cup water. It was actually runny with the water so at the end, I added a little cornstarch mixed with water and stirred it into the stew. It turned out to be a wonderfully flavourful stew with lots of delicious sauce. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I will be making again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Very good,shared some.Didn't have enough tomato juice so subbed with more beef bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (608 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.9
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    24%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 73.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 2900.2 mg
    120%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 21.1 g
    84%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes