12 Reviews

Delicious! I used all beef stock and omitted the bouillon cubes I also added in some crushed chili flakes, thanks for posted this great crockpot stew recipe Sue, we enjoyed this today for an early dinner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 31, 2010

Excellent! Both DH and I loved this stew. Comfort food at it's best. It has very good depth of flavor and the beef was really tender. You can't go wrong with this recipe. As loof said it wasn't very thick but if thats a factor in your house you can always stir in the remaining flour mix toward the end of cooking (I had a fair amount left) and that should help. All in all, Yummm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 02, 2009

We loved this! I used low sodium V8 instead of plain tomato juice, and put enough to cover the meat. I didn't have any beef boullion on hand so opted to use a can of french onion soup. This is a wonderful meal that is easy to put together and absolutely delicious! Thanks CB! Made for KK Mini Cookathon

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom October 18, 2009

This is a delicious beef stew recipe! I had V8 on hand so I used that in place of the tomato juice and omitted the beef bouillon cubes since I used beef broth. The stew meat was fork tender and loved the vegetables in the sauce. Sus I will definitely make this stew again and thank you for sharing it with us! Made and reviewed for the game forums Zaar Stars recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 17, 2012

I don't normally change a recipe, but I didn't have all the ingredients that were listed so I changed the recipe a bit so I could use foods that I already had in my pantry. I used the whole can of tomato juice and eliminated the water that was called for in the recipe. Also, for the meat I didn't use fresh stewing meat. I used a can of USDA commodity pork,with juices and all, which my husband's father gave to him. For those of you who don't know what commodity meat is-- It is meat that the US government buys from farmers and then cans and distributes to the low income. Since I used the canned meat there was no need for the flour or olive oil. I did add the onion powder to the crockpot. I also left out the celery because I didn't have any. Instead of adding 4 fresh carrots, I used 1 can of carrots, drained. I also used 1 can of green beans, drained, instead of frozen green beans. I also added 1 can of corn, drained and 1 small can of tomato paste, 1 T worchestershire sauce, 2 T sugar and 1/2 tsp pepper. It worked out great with ingredients that I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Daycare Lady February 11, 2010

We loved this! This was a real help for me this week, we have been as busier then lima beans growing mid-August here, and needed some down-time from cooking. But we needed comfort. And comfort this was. I halved this, since it was the two of us, so I halved the juice, (I used my homemade vegetable juice so it was 20 ounces). I did keep to the same seasonings, and did add the celery 4 stalks as celery is good for you. This was as yummy as finding a candy-cane under the Xmas-tree. Thank you for sharing such a comforting treat with us, CB! Made for *French Forum Herb Month* February 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm February 03, 2010

Great comfort food! To me this seemed more of a soup than a stew as the broth is not very thick, but it has great taste just the same. Loved all the veggies too - a healthy and satisfying meal - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof October 20, 2009

The smell while this is cooking is wonderful. The bad part about that is it made me hungry all day too. The only reason I am giving this a 4 instead of a 5 is because it is more like a soup than a stew. The potatoes, meat and veggies are stew size, but the liquid makes it more soup like. This is still very very good and I highly recommend it! Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom January 10, 2009

Sue - what a gem of a recipe you have here. My kids did not complain about the tomato base as they could not "see" tomatoes! Yeah! I did sub out the bouillon and used low sodium beef broth instead (1 1/2 cups to be equivalent to the water/bouillon mixture). That was the only change...used all the veggies and even added some frozen peas to finish off a bag. Very comforting dish for a chilly night. Thanks friend for a great find. This is a Thank You tag for the Holiday Tag Game event in December.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 22, 2008

This was really good, it had a wonderful flavor and the meat was tender. I did go easy on the bouillon, only used 5 cubes and also only used enough tomato juice to cover the meat, was trying to watch the sodium content. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 04, 2008
Slow Cooker Beef Stew