Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Beef in Mushroom Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Beef in Mushroom Gravy

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2006

      mmmm,mmmm, Good! So simple and so hearty and satisfying. I gave it 8 hrs on low and it was so tender that no knife was needed. As I didn't have any round steak I used a rump roast. The gravy I did thicken with 1 1/2 tsps of cornstarch, just to suite our preferences, but the flavor needed no adjustment in any way. I always brown a roast before I put it in the Slow Cooker and that was the only work to this recipe and even that is a option. This is an adopted tag for Sharon 1-2-3 in the Zaar Tag game. Sharon, I wish I could send you a big portion of this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I have been searching for a crock pot recipe for round steak for ages. I generally make Swiss steak with round steak and love the flavor, but pounding the steaks with flour is time consuming and messy. This was quick to prepare and a hit with our entire family, including two pre-schoolers. I served with mashed potatoes and a vegetable on the side. Gravy was thick and flavorful. We like our foods with lots of spices, but if you are sensitive to salt, I would suggest using low sodium beef broth and/or reduced sodium mushroom soup. Great recipe. Thank you, Lainey6605!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      What a great recipe. The taste is fabulous. All this gravy is so good. I used a rump roast that I browned first after reading Annacia's review. I cooked it 5 hours and it was perfect. Thanks Lainey :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I made this last night and was impressed with how easy and delicious it was. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it needed some salt and a zing of paprika. Once we added that in, it was 6 stars out of 5! PS: I plan to turn this into French dip sandwiches tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I used the low sodium soup to help cut back on the salt, then proceeded with the recipe. The meat turned out tender and the gravy was really good! I did serve mine over buttered noodles instead of with mashed potatoes, and we loved it! Thank you so much for sharing it with us Lainey! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 3/09 Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Wow was this ever yummy! I did have to make some adaptations. Beef is not really on the list of good foods for me to eat with IBS but I made it for my bf mostly. He loves beef and mushrooms. To at least avoid the dairy problem which I need to avoid, I used 16oz of Imagine brand Creamy Portobello Soup, no water, and 1/2 cup of beef broth made with Herb Ox brand beef bouillon powder, 1 1/2 cups of sliced mushrooms 1 small onion, and generous dashes of black pepper. My steak was just over 1 1/2lbs worth and it was sliced packaged in large slices. I cooked for 7 hours on low and decided to serve on No Yolks Egg Noodles. The steak was so tender and the gravy so flavorful. Bf said it reminded him of beef stroganoff but not as thick. My gravy didn't thicken up much because of the adaptations I had to make, but neither of us minded. I prob could have thickened it up with a cornstarch slurry, but didn't bother. Bf had several servings and this recipe is definitely a winner! Thanks for sharing Lainey! :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This one is all stars. I prepared as directed with the exception of using beef broth instead of water. I also got a late start so I cooked it on high for 4 hr. The meat certainly cooked through but was not yet able to be cut with a fork. I turned it on low for 2 more hrs and it was much more tender. Served over egg noodles and a side of steamed peas. My 6 yr old cleaned her plate making it a keeper in this house. Thank you Lainey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      This meal couldn't be any easier and it tastes delicious. A truly comforting meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This was awesome! I used a 2 1/2 lb chuck roast and added a cup or so of sliced mushrooms. Thickened the gravy with corn starch, and had it with boiled new potatoes. The roast practically fell apart when I took it out of the crock pot! I will be using only this recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Very easy to make with few ingredients. I agree that with a full day of cooking, tends to get a bit dry, even with an extra half-cup water. I'll probably add even more water next time to ensure that I have enough sauce for the noodles. Taste was quite yummy and meat was extremely tender. It just fell apart like a roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I have been making this same recipe for years. My entire family loves it....kids included! I often use a chuck roast and it is fork tender when it is done. I usually put it in the crock pot just before heading out to work and when I get home the house is filled with the most delicious smells!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Yummy- this was really good and easy to put together before going out the door in the morning. Loved the gravy- we didn't think it was too salty. My crock pot must cook faster as my meat was a bit dry cooking it for seven hours but I will need to adjust that next time. Great way to cook steak in the crock pot. Thanks Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Too salty, not appetizing to look, kids would not touch it. I thought it was not horrid but would not make it again. Also, I would prefer something with veggies if I made something similar again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This was my first slow cooker recipe - YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Loved this, Lainey! So easy and so good! We used sirloin, though, as I have bad luck with round steak...no matter what, never comes out tender! I will make this again this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Excellent Lainey! I did add some dry onion flakes and some garlic powder to this as I just could not help myself. LOL Served this over egg noodles with some salad and french bread. Very easy and great taste! Thanks for the great dinner. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      I used part of a pkg. of steaks we got from a price club here in Bangalore; the first ones were so tough we couldn't eat them off the grill. Used this recipe & tossed in the crockpot (with 10 slices of canned jalapeno and a dash of the juice from the jar) and 9 hours later my husband was celebrating my culinary genius! We served it over rice--very good, with a nice, thick gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      i tryed and i like good recipe my husbon loves it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This was so good. Simple to make & really tasty. I used French Onion dry soup mix. My sauce didn't thicken as well as I would have liked so next time might cut down the water a tad & also add onions to the pot as one other reviewer suggested, but a great recipe, one that will be on constant rotation throughout winter! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Really good recipe! I didn't actually cut my beef "oven roast" into serving size pieces before cooking, which I now realize would have made it more tender. When it was done I sliced it and let it soak in the gravy for a bit. That helped with the tenderness. I also put 2 large sweet onions in the bottom of the pot before adding the rest of the ingredients, and it made an awesome mushroom/onion gravy that would be great lver anything! PLus, mine made buckets and buckets of gravy that didn't have to be thickened at all. All in all, good recipe. I did use the 98% fat free mushroom soup with no subtraction from flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Beef in Mushroom Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.7
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    40%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 906.0 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless round steak

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites