8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice recipe for beans in the slow cooker, thouht the sauce could have had a bit more flavor or maybe less ketchup flavor, but still enjoyed them with pulled pork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJedi October 20, 2009

It was a great use for the dried pinto beans. Kids didn't like it much. Adults did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan October 08, 2008

I made this on 8/17/08 for the "August Crockpot Cooking Challenge 2008 "and as part of my SO's B-Day dinner. The taste isn't what we had expected, so I really don't think this will be made again. But thanks for posting anyway,and"Keep Smiling :)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � August 18, 2008

Yummy!! This is what I've been looking for. The stores here no longer carry BBQ beans in a can. There used to be a TV dinner that was Western style. The dinner had salisbury steak, mashed potatoes & BBQ beans. The inlaws insisted on having the frozen salisbury steak for dinner tonight. (Not my favorite, because I would have preferred to make it.) Anyway, mashed potatoes with meat & gravy. I wanted to fix something different. I remembered the TV dinner. So to Zaar, I did turn & found this recipe. I didn't have time to use a crock pot or use dried beans. I used 2 cans of pinto beans. I rinsed them. I did not add 2 chopped onions. I sprinkled in some dried onions flakes. (I did not measure how much I added. I don't like a lot of onion.) I did not add mustard because I was out of it. I used Bulleye's Smokin' Chiptole BBQ sauce. I read the reviews, so I sprinkled in crushed red pepper. Once again, I did not measure because I like it hot. I cooked it on the stovetop. It turned out wonderful. Not to hot for the inlaws & not to mild to suit my taste. The hubby didn't like it but he is not big on BBQ flavor, except for potato chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinesdw April 23, 2008

Easy to make and economical. My beans were a bit under done even after almost an extra hour, so maybe my water wasn't hot enough when I added it. For my family's tastes I'd cut the onion by half if I make this again and it needs something flavor-wise, so I'd try adding some garlic. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 15, 2008

I think overall this was good. It just needed something more so I added smoked sausage to it (I browned the sausage first before adding to beans). I would make this recipe over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bovibovi25 October 08, 2007

Actually liked the recipe once it sat for a day. Tasted too strong on the barbeque side until then but was good afterward. Make sure your water is really hot to get the beans cooked thoroughly. I agree it could use more heat but very good overall!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricearoni161 July 03, 2007

I am grateful for a way to cook dried beans without soaking overnight or even using a quick cook/soak method. I really liked this recipe, but we prefer more "zing" in our food. Next time I will add a jar of SOFRITO to the water to season the beans more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JawjaCook February 20, 2006
Slow Cooker BBQ Pinto Beans