16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good. Made it for a party of 30 people. Doubled the recipe except for the sugar and added an onion and garlic powder and it was well received from the guests. recipe was requested from guests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wolf3749 March 07, 2011

Simple and tasty. I used frozen chicken breast, dumped all the ingredients on top in the slow cooker and cooked on high for 4 hours. The sauce was very thin like another poster pointed out, but I removed the breasts, added a slurry of 1 TBSP cornstarch and 2 TBSP water to the remaining sauce, boiling for a minute or two and it coated the chicken nicely. Served with buttered noodles and broccoli, enjoyed by all. Going in the keeper file! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 June 02, 2010

This is really good and really easy! I read other reviews and I only put 3/4 c. brown sugar. I used French's yellow mustard and 4 quite large chicken breasts. I placed the still-frozen chicken in the crock pot, mixed the sauce ingredients together, poured it over the chicken, and cooked it on LOW for 8 hours. With the frozen chicken, it makes the sauce pretty thin (because of the ice), but it still tasted great. I served this with Ranch Roasted Potatoes and veggies for a really good meal. I was thinking that, with thicker sauce, it'd be good as shredded chicken on a toasted roll too. I'll make this one again for sure. Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 April 29, 2010

I've been looking for a good BBQ Chicken recipe for a long time. This one is great. I made a couple of adjustments; 1. reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. A full cup made it too sweet for my taste. 2. Added a dash of liquid smoke to the mixture. It gave it the flavor of having been cooked in a smoker. I made it the day before I planned to serve it. It reheated beautifully and I shredded it and served it on warm buns, brushing the buns with some of the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgmooney May 18, 2008

Very simple recipe, the kind I love. My family loved it. A little on the sweet side though. Next time I may decrease the amount of sugar. Served with corn on the cob and cold slaw. Great summer meal. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pastorlacreece July 24, 2014

Simply marvelous! For 12 people, I doubled everything except the mustard. I halved 6 huge chicken breasts crosswise, and placed everything in a slow cooker for 8 hours on Low. Perfect served with a spinach salad, baked potatoes, and garlicky green beans! One guest declared the sauce the best she ever ate and requested the recipe. Thanks for a quick and easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammyof3 February 08, 2009

Absolutely delicious, and it was really simple! I used about 2.5 lbs of chicken thighs, and the meat just slid right off the bone when finished. My boyfriend loved it - called it a "hit." :) This recipe is definitely a keeper, and I had to report back with my successful first slow cooker experience!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arice3 December 30, 2008

This was really good and easy. Before boiling I sprinkled the chicken breast with Montreal Chicken Seasoning. I used apple cider vinegar and as someone else suggested, I cut the brown sugar back a bit to 3/4 cup and added a few splashes of liquid smoke. I also poured half of the sauce in, added chicken and then poured rest of the sauce over the top. This gave the chicken a nice color. Cooked on low for about 7 hours. The results were tender and juicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister September 17, 2008

This was my second slow cooker meal ever! I was really delicious. I used 4 chicken thigh fillets and an onion, diced them and browned them before I put them in the slow cooker. Whilst I was doing this I had put a good teaspoonful of minced garlic and a sprinkle of chinese 5 spice in the crock on high. As soon as the chicken and onion were ready I turned it back to low and did the recipe as stated. Towards the end I threw in 3/4 cup of rice and about the same in chicken stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bee_410606361 May 10, 2008

Oh wow. This was so tasty and so easy to make. I hate dry chicken, but this was so moist. I would make this again in a heartbeat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelley13 January 23, 2008
Slow Cooker Barbecue Chicken