Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Barbecue Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Barbecue

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2003

      Talk about easy and delicious! I do have one suggestion though. We raise our own beef, so I know there so I know there is not water added to our roasts, but I know how using a crockpot, roasts make their own 'gravy'(water). I cooked my roast on high for 3 hours, then I drained off the excess liquid, then I added the barbecue sauce on top and cooked it on low for an additional 7 hours. If I hadn't drained the extra liquid off, this would have ended up like soup. Otherwise, the beef shredded beautifully and was very delicious. My children ate it up and went back for seconds! Thank you Myrna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      very good and easy...would be great for a pot luck or informal party!! used missy's suggestion and cooked roast on high for three hours and then drained it. added barbeque sauce (sweet baby ray's) and cooked for an additional seven or so hours. still came out really soupy, even after shredding. drained it again, added more barbeque sauce, put on low in the crock pot for another hour, and it was perfect. my meat must have been really juicy. took a little extra effort on my part, but well worth it for the great results. oh, like some of the other reviewers i subbed fresh onion and garlic for the powders. thanks for the great recipe, myrna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      This was very easy to make and it made the whole house smell yummy. i used half an onion and i clove of garlic in mine. I do recommend though maybe waiting to add the bbq sauce until the roast cooks a bit because it does get real watery. that way you could maybe drain the crock pot. Its up you though. I did it just the way the recipe said and even though it became watery, when you shred the beef it soaks up the sauce and comes out okay. I really did enjoy making this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Loved it! Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      Yes, this is very good. I didn't change anything and didn't need to drain the two small roasts that I used. I did add a little bit of liquid smoke seasoning for flavor. I had to cook the meat on high which made it a little tougher than it would have been if I could have cooked it on low but it was still very, very good. My family really loved it. We served it on crusty brotchen rolls with a side of homemade potato salad. A great meal... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      This was great...smelled great, looked great, tasted great...I used Diana Sauce (I think it was the cracked pepper one). Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      How much simpler can it be? I added a little liquid smoke to it. My son, a picky eater, loves it. We eat it shredded on buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      Excellent, easy, versatile. I have used this recipe twice - on country style pork ribs and on spare ribs. Before I begin handling the pork, I mix the dry ingredients - garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper together in a small cup, so I do not have to handle spice bottles while handling the pork. I use less garlic and onion powder than called for in the recipe. I spray the slow cooker with PAM - hoping to make cleaning easier and sprinkle all sides of the ribs with the dry mixture and rub it in a bit with the back of a spoon. I use a low-carb barbecue sauce (Atkins) and spice it up a bit with a half teaspoon of liquid smoke and 1/4 cup Frank's chicken-wing sauce for every 1/2 cup of barbecue sauce. Atkins barbecue sauce is good, but expensive (even when I get it at 30% off with my Vitamin World or GNC membership), so I just paint the ribs with it - using a lot less than a bottle and it still comes out terrific. Oh yeah, I threw in some mushrooms too. I accidentally cooked the spare ribs for nearly 10 hours - some of the bones were soft enough to eat! Still great. The layer on the bottom was more moist than the upper layers, but I liked it both ways. Next time, I will probably spoon some of the liquid up and over the top layers half way through cooking. Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      What a nice dish, made it for Father's Day dinner. Did what Missy Wright suggested and cooked roast on high for 3 hrs, then drained the liquid and added the bbq sauce, and cooked on low 6 hrs. The liquid didn't quite cover the roast, so I turned it during the last 3 hrs. I shredded the meat and mixed it back with the sauce. Served on a toasted bun with fries and bean salad. It was wonderful. I will for sure make this again. -Tami

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Absolutely wonderful! I used Boneless Country Style Pork Ribs, sliced an onion, 2 whole cloves of garlic and store brand BBQ sauce. The meat was so tender and flavorful. I ate one of the ribs as is and shredded the rest for BBQ sandwiches. This recipe is a keeper and will be made over & over. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Barbecue

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.6
     
    Calories from Fat 311
    63%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 117.3 mg
    39%
    Sodium 673.6 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites