30 Reviews

What I did to make sure the edges didn't burn or that it didn't turn out dry was I bought 2 jars of the pasta sauce that were a little more than 25 ounces. I also sprayed the inside of the slow cooker with PAM to make sure the sides didn't stick everywhere. Instead of the 6-7 hours on low, I set the cooker to 5 hours on low and it turned out perfect! Not dry at all! Great easy recipe and convenient!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gracey427 September 20, 2006

I used hints from the other reviews/comments, and sprayed the crock pot wih PAM, added about an extra half jar of sauce and cooked for only 5 hours on LOW. I was so glad I did... I think it would have been dry if I had used only 2 jars of sauce, and I think it would have burned on the bottom and edges if I had cooked it longer than 5 hours and/or on HIGH.

With the adjustments mentioned above, the ziti got great reviews from my in-laws! Yay! (Oh - almost forgot to mention, like some of the others, I used whole grain penne pasta.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DF1015 January 16, 2012

Made this & made the following tweaks & it came out AWESOME :) #1 made it vegetarian - still started with browning onions & garlic & then just added in veggies that I had on hand that seemed to go (incld okra :)), #2 used 2 different jars of pasta sauce - roasted red pepper & roasted veggie - & added in some left-over Italian seasoning canned diced tomatoes, #3 added abt 2 tbps chopped fresh basil to the cheese mixture, as well as 1 egg, per another recipe, #4 also added an extra 1/4 cup to each 2 cup layer of sauce just for extra moisture, & #5 cooked on low for 4 hours, then turned off and left in the slow cooker overnight & when I came back in the morning it was perfectly cooked!! this baked ziti came out perfect, super moist & deliciously zesty :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mostlyvegie April 14, 2011

I thought this was delicious. After 4 hours we had to have some, It almost was too dry. So after taking out a few servings I added hot water which made it better, Even my grandchildren love it, Definitely a keeper. I will make it again. It will be great for a potluck or church supper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesl1e February 11, 2012

Love this recipe!! Very quick and easy! I cook this in a 5.5 qt. slow cooker on low for 4 to 5 hours. I use a little more sauce than the recipe calls for to help keep it from drying out, as well as low fat ricotta and part skim mozzerella. I make this quite a lot. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking4men November 05, 2010

Other than the bottom and sides browning too much, this was a good ziti recipe. I had made a sauce from another zaar recipe that we all thought was bland but using it in this kept me from throwing it out. Now if I could just get it to work with out the bottom and sides getting over done. Next time I think I will try it when we are home so I can stir it or try it for less time on low and see how that works. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom March 06, 2010

This is an awesome crockpot recipe..I make this using 1 jar pasta sauce and 1 clarge can of pear tomatoes w/basil. I like to use whole wheat ziti.I also drain the beef/onion mixture well after browning. Thank You for sharing MissJ1978..this is made often in our home!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere December 20, 2009

This was pretty yummy! I cooked mine on low for 6 hours, and as others have mentioned - the sides and bottom were pretty burnt up. My hubby and I sure enjoyed the flavor though! He loves ricotta so it was a winner with him no matter what. :) This recipe is overall a keeper - next time I will just cook it for four hours on low.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ March 16, 2009

Great way to feed a crowd. I love that you can just throw everything in, including dry pasta, and get a meal that everyone will enjoy. Served with Parmesan and Garlic Breadsticks and a green salad. Have made similar recipes and would check to see if the pasta is done after 4 hours on low. I used a 5 1/2 quart crock pot and after 5 hours on low, it was well done. Unfortunately I had to leave so turned to keep warm and held for about 1 1/2 hours. This is not one of those crockpot recipes you can overcook. When it's overdone, it's just not as good, cheese on the sides will burn and the pasta absorbs all of the sauce, so watch carefully the first time you make it. Next time I'll figure on 4 hours. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama March 02, 2009

Very Good Recipe! My boyfriend absolutely loved it and I'm fan as well. Tastes a whole lot like mom's lasagna. And boy do I love using my slow cooker. I made everything the night before then just assembled it and put it on low while I went to work. It did get a little "done" on the outside but not too bad. I sprayed a little PAM in first. I also used low fat Ricotta and low fat Mozzarella to make it a little healthier. Serve with some warm bread and a side salad- Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Profesora 82 December 15, 2008
Slow Cooker Baked Ziti