Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Baked Ziti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Baked Ziti

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2006

      What I did to make sure the edges didn't burn or that it didn't turn out dry was I bought 2 jars of the pasta sauce that were a little more than 25 ounces. I also sprayed the inside of the slow cooker with PAM to make sure the sides didn't stick everywhere. Instead of the 6-7 hours on low, I set the cooker to 5 hours on low and it turned out perfect! Not dry at all! Great easy recipe and convenient!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I used hints from the other reviews/comments, and sprayed the crock pot wih PAM, added about an extra half jar of sauce and cooked for only 5 hours on LOW. I was so glad I did... I think it would have been dry if I had used only 2 jars of sauce, and I think it would have burned on the bottom and edges if I had cooked it longer than 5 hours and/or on HIGH.

      With the adjustments mentioned above, the ziti got great reviews from my in-laws! Yay! (Oh - almost forgot to mention, like some of the others, I used whole grain penne pasta.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      Made this & made the following tweaks & it came out AWESOME :) #1 made it vegetarian - still started with browning onions & garlic & then just added in veggies that I had on hand that seemed to go (incld okra :)), #2 used 2 different jars of pasta sauce - roasted red pepper & roasted veggie - & added in some left-over Italian seasoning canned diced tomatoes, #3 added abt 2 tbps chopped fresh basil to the cheese mixture, as well as 1 egg, per another recipe, #4 also added an extra 1/4 cup to each 2 cup layer of sauce just for extra moisture, & #5 cooked on low for 4 hours, then turned off and left in the slow cooker overnight & when I came back in the morning it was perfectly cooked!! this baked ziti came out perfect, super moist & deliciously zesty :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I thought this was delicious. After 4 hours we had to have some, It almost was too dry. So after taking out a few servings I added hot water which made it better, Even my grandchildren love it, Definitely a keeper. I will make it again. It will be great for a potluck or church supper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      Love this recipe!! Very quick and easy! I cook this in a 5.5 qt. slow cooker on low for 4 to 5 hours. I use a little more sauce than the recipe calls for to help keep it from drying out, as well as low fat ricotta and part skim mozzerella. I make this quite a lot. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Other than the bottom and sides browning too much, this was a good ziti recipe. I had made a sauce from another zaar recipe that we all thought was bland but using it in this kept me from throwing it out. Now if I could just get it to work with out the bottom and sides getting over done. Next time I think I will try it when we are home so I can stir it or try it for less time on low and see how that works. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This is an awesome crockpot recipe..I make this using 1 jar pasta sauce and 1 clarge can of pear tomatoes w/basil. I like to use whole wheat ziti.I also drain the beef/onion mixture well after browning. Thank You for sharing MissJ1978..this is made often in our home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was pretty yummy! I cooked mine on low for 6 hours, and as others have mentioned - the sides and bottom were pretty burnt up. My hubby and I sure enjoyed the flavor though! He loves ricotta so it was a winner with him no matter what. :) This recipe is overall a keeper - next time I will just cook it for four hours on low.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Great way to feed a crowd. I love that you can just throw everything in, including dry pasta, and get a meal that everyone will enjoy. Served with Parmesan and Garlic Breadsticks and a green salad. Have made similar recipes and would check to see if the pasta is done after 4 hours on low. I used a 5 1/2 quart crock pot and after 5 hours on low, it was well done. Unfortunately I had to leave so turned to keep warm and held for about 1 1/2 hours. This is not one of those crockpot recipes you can overcook. When it's overdone, it's just not as good, cheese on the sides will burn and the pasta absorbs all of the sauce, so watch carefully the first time you make it. Next time I'll figure on 4 hours. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Very Good Recipe! My boyfriend absolutely loved it and I'm fan as well. Tastes a whole lot like mom's lasagna. And boy do I love using my slow cooker. I made everything the night before then just assembled it and put it on low while I went to work. It did get a little "done" on the outside but not too bad. I sprayed a little PAM in first. I also used low fat Ricotta and low fat Mozzarella to make it a little healthier. Serve with some warm bread and a side salad- Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      excellent and easy!!! I used fat free ricotta and half of the mozzarella for a healthy meal. It was delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      So quick, so easy, and wonderful! I cooked mine on high for 4 hours and then low for one more hour. Turned out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      This worked out perfectly!!! Followed the recipe exactly and we ate it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      I used cooking spray to coat my crockpot and it still came out burned and dry

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I am amazed at how easy, fun and delicious this recipe is! the pasta was cooked, not mushy. I, too, used penne. I did not need to cook it as long as the directions called for but i guess that depends on the slow cooker you have. I would check it and when the edges start to appear brown-ish, like they would if you put it in the over, i would say it's done. You would never know this was NOT baked in an over. Boyfriend gave it rave reviews, and to get a compliment out of him is like pulling teeth! (good thing i am a dentist!!) I would give this 10 stars if i could!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Very good and very easy to make! I will definitely make this recipe again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      I made this over the weekend while my husband and I was out doing yard work. It was an easy recipe to follow and the results were the same as if I baked it in the oven. It was so nice to come in to smell the house filled with a wonderful aroma and even better I didn't have to pull supper together at the last minute.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Mushy noodles. Very little flavor. Nothing beats the oven method. Not much work saved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Thanks for sharing the recipe, MissJ. We'll definitely have it, again. Here's what I did: I sprayed the entire crockpot with Pam and followed the recipe as written. Dinner was ready in 5 hours but my DH went to vote, so I had to hold it for an extra hour. The noodles were a little soft but still edible. I didn't have a problem with dryness or burning. Thanks, again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Very easy to make, my hubby LOVED it. Just throw everything in the pot & forget about it. It did burn a little bit around the edges, but I think by cooking it more slowly (I did high for 5 hours) that it would eliminate that. However, it wasn't a big deal. Very, very tasty! Definitely a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Baked Ziti

    Serving Size: 1 (424 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 996.9
     
    Calories from Fat 381
    38%
    Total Fat 42.4 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 20.4 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 138.5 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1897.4 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.0 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    38%
    Sugars 27.2 g
    108%
    Protein 51.9 g
    103%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes