39 Reviews

This recipe made really delicious taco meat. I followed your directions and it couldn't have been any easier. Wouldn't change anything. Not too spicy with heat, but enough seasoning to not be boring. Survey said--5 stars

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 November 27, 2002

I have never made tacos with shredded beef. Amazing!! I will never use ground beef ever again. This was so easy. The beef was so tender and easy to shred. Had a great spicy flavor but not overdone. My family gave it raves. Thanks Nurse Di.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower October 05, 2002

Remarkably nutritious! Ok, maybe not, but damn, it's good! I used flank steak, which turned out quite tender and made my own taco shells from corn tortillas. A true keeper, thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) January 04, 2006

This meat is sooooo good! Just amazing! I used lean beef cubes and broke them apart with the back of a spoon after cooking. Very, very tender meat. I served this with the lettuce, tomato and cheese rolled in lavash bread instead of taco shells. I love this recipe! I'll never cook taco meat with mince in the pan again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! June 16, 2003

This was REALLY yummy...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee Scarpino September 23, 2002

I really wanted to like this recipe... it was so simple... I just didn't enjoy the flavor. I made the meat as instructed but when it came time to add the taco sauce I only put in HALF the recommended amount and it was already swimming in the sauce. Maybe the one I bought just wasn't that great (Ortega advertised as the Nation's #1 taco sauce)... but all I could taste was taco sauce... It was still edible but I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 April 12, 2015

Wow! This was so delicious! I made tortas ( mexican sandwich) out of it. I changed it a little. I used 8 oz cans of green chile, cumin, 5 cloves of garlic, and pepper. I only had like 4 oz of taco sauce. So I added some water and a beef bullion cube. Awsome!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel April 15, 2013

Great and easy recipe for shredded beef! Used this recipe for tacos, but will be using it for chimichangas as well. My only complaint is that it ended up a little too watery for my tacos, but maybe I can try putting it in a pan to soak up some moisture. I also want to try this recipe using a homemade taco seasoning instead of the packet with additives!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliak_hatch March 10, 2013

Made excellent taco meat. I think I will try this for enchiladas as well.

I rubbed my chuck roast w/ salt, pepper and garlic powder- I then browned it in hot oil. I wanted to make sure there was a lot of flavor.

I used McCormick Taco Seasoning packets.

This is a KEEPER! Rated appropriately, and I am not easily impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
des1180 May 05, 2011

I'm living in China at this time and we were having friends over for a mexican themed dinner. Wanted a taco recipe that would be easy, had ingrediants I could find here and not have to worry about keeping warm while guests visited. This was just the thing and everyone raved about it. Loved that it could cook all day while I prepared Frijoles Refritos II (Refried Beans) Spicy Mexican Cheesy Rice Casserole to go with it and then could serve right in the crockpot after shredding. This was so good with the wonderful Mexican flavors we wanted that DH has declared this to be our ONLY taco recipe from now on. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 May 09, 2010
Slow Cooked Shredded Beef Tacos