Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow-Cooked Short Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Cooked Short Ribs

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2002

      The best, the best, the best!!!! My family came running when I said dinner was ready. The smell was compelling. The rib meat was falling off the bone tender and the sauce was out of this world. We used our rolls to sop up the extra sauce. Thanks for another new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      My local grocery had a sale on short ribs and I knew I had just added this to my cookbook so I snatched them up. These are the hands down, the best short ribs I have ever made! The sauce is wonderful!!! Had enough to spoon over homemade mashed potatoes. This is pure comfort food! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! Thanks Nurse Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      These were really good. I used frozen country style ribs and didn't have time to flour and brown them. Will definately do that next time so I have a thicker sauce. I used balsamic vinegar (that's all I had) and only half a tablespoon of the chili powder. My mom came over during dinner and left with the recipe! Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      Holy Moly, these ribs are some kind of delicious. A very easy recipe that worked well for my busy lifestyle. The meat was wonderfully tender. The sauce was aplenty and very tangy. We had friends over for dinner and they also loved the ribs. Thanks Nurse Di. Very impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Oh my gosh! The sauce is amazing! I didn't have the cider or red wine vinegar and so I substituted Holland House Marsala Cooking Wine instead and it was through the roof yummy! My whole family loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      I have 3 words! OH MY GOD!!!!! Thanks NurseDi, these are great!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      No doubt about it, these ribs are the best. The sauce was so tangy and loaded with flavor. There was lots of it and we used it on the rice. The meat was very tender and the cooking method was very easy. I love a good crock-pot recipe and this is a good one. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      These ribs are delicious! My husband loved them and so did I. I used balsamic vinegar and the sauce turned out so very good and the meat just fell off of the bones. This recipe is definately a keeper. Thanks NurseDi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This was very very good! I hurried it up a bit by turning my crock pot on high and cooked it for 4 hours. It was just as tender as a longer time on low, I'm sure. I was short on chili sauce, so made up for it with some enchilada style red chile sauce, but I don't think that altered the flavor much. I also altered it to adjust the portion down to accommodate 3 lbs. of meat, but actually used 4 lbs. In any case, the amount of sauce was just right, and the flavor was great. I was a happy eater, and hubby was drooling at the wonderful smell even before it was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      We couldn't wait to dive into this recipe, our home smelled so good. I made this in a cast iron Dutch oven on the stovetop to start the browning process, then put it all in the oven on 275 degrees for about 3 hours. It was so good that as we devoured it and there was only 1 short rib left, I realized that I hadn't taken a photo to post on RecipeZaar. Next time, which will be soon, I can tell you that. Thanks for posting this easy & delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Hubby wasn't a fan. He really didn't like the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was very good, but there was something missing I couldn't quite put my finger on. I'll definitely make them again, with experimentation to see what it was. Not bad at all, just not what I was expecting somehow. Edit: I made this again tonight with the following changes: I added Bobbie-Q Sauce (Barbecue Sauce) to the sauce as well as 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes and a tablespoon of malt vinegar. After cooking in the crock pot for almost 16 hours it was falling-apart delicious and the sauce was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I love slow cooked beef ribs. It just screams comfort food. I served this with mashed potatoes and green beans. Yummy. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      What a great method! I didn't bother coating the meat in flour, just browned it up a bit in some EVOO and tossed in the crock pot with the sauce. I reduced the vinegar to 1/2 cup but followed as written otherwise. Fantastic tasting sauce. Loved it! I want to try again with another cut, possibly country style ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This was wonderful! The exact same flavor as the ribs my Mother's used to make. I am trilled because nobody has her recipe, it was just something she used to whip up! I live in the middle of nowhere.. no short ribs available. I took a London Broil Steak and cut into 1"x1" strips and prepared same. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This is the best BBQish type sauce ever! I have used it numerous times now. I LOVE this sauce. I have made this with chicken (sub chicken broth) and with pork (sub chicken broth) as well as with the short ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      WOW! I made these for a group of people and everyone loved them. I used about 5 1/2lbs of ribs, and there wasn't a single RIB left. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      Great taste and as you said the sauce is great. I will make this often thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      wow this was wonderful. I did make a few changes...left out the butter and flour entirely. Broiled the meat on all sides till browned. I used balsamic vinegar and salsa instead of wine or cider vinegar and chile sauce. the meat was spoon tender and the sauce.....oh the sauce, my hubbie and I couldn't get enough of it....thanks nurse di for a real keeper. It deserves 10 stars....here they are**********

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      Yum Yum Yum! I made this recipe exactly as stated. I have to admit I was a bit worried by the amount of chili powder (afraid it would be too spicy for the kids) - boy was I wrong! These ribs were awesome! I used both boneless and bone-in ribs. The sauce was tangy and very tasty. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Cooked Short Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 699.6
     
    Calories from Fat 495
    70%
    Total Fat 55.0 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 114.9 mg
    38%
    Sodium 890.1 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 17.4 g
    69%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cider

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites