Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooked Oriental Pork Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooked Oriental Pork Chops

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2008

      I make these chops alot. The 1/4 cup crushed chili flakes is an error. It's supposed to be 1/4 teaspoon chili flakes. We call these San Francisco Chops. I got this recipe from TOH Slow Cooker Favorites cookbook and the recipe is the same except for the amount of chili flakes (no one could eat 1/4 cup!) and the cold water should be at the bottom of the recipe, with the cornstarch. I fixed the original recipe here to include these changes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2014

      I thought this was very flavorful and came out tender, though it got a lukewarm reaction from my husband. I think I would have been better off not to thicken the sauce. I think I over cooked the sauce in the process of thickening it, and it seemed to lose flavor. <br/><br/>I should also note that this took only about 4.5 hours to cook in my Deni 6 qt slow cooker, and I opened the cooker once to turn the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I thought I reviewed this already but I guess I didn't. I love this recipe and have cooked it lots of times already. I have also tried it with chicken instead of pork chops and it's still fantastic! I like to use the left over sauce over my rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      I made the recipe as directed except to substitute boneless ribs instead of chops, and use one tablespoon of chili powder instead of 1/4 cup. That was more than enough chili pepper. I'd say it was just about right. This was pretty good; very different from our normal foods but tasty. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken in the crock so I pulled it out to a pan to thicken, which worked nicely. I didn't think the flavor was the slightest bit Oriental, but it was good. I might make this again, and if I do it will be without change; the flavors melded well and it was good even though it didn't have the "wow" factor ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I followed the example of one of the reviewers (Jennifer Wood), who used the stovetop instead of a crock pot. My chops were small and thin and boneless, and I was only cooking 2 of them. But I love sauce and the sauce ingredients didn't seem to be so much that keeping it the same would be silly, so I kept the sauce ingredient ants the same. I'm confused though. Perhaps it's the novice cook in me (half the time I have horrible luck with recipes even when I follow them exactly) and this one was weird. So I thought that 1/2 cup total of liquid (soy sauce and chicken broth) seemed like very little, how could this cover 4 1 inch chops? I had 2 chops that were about 1/2 inch thick and they were barely covered in a small 2qt saucepan. But I figured what did I know? Lol! I also thought that 1/4 cup of chili pepper flakes was crazy; my bf and I like spicy but that seemed way too much. I used 1 tablespoon worth instead and this seemed to be way more than plenty. I also added a couple of drops of sesame oil to the canola oil I used when browning the chops, and garlic. I had used a larger pan for this, but transferred all the rest of the ingredients after realizing the pan was way too big for all the ingredients. I simmered this between med-low and low heat in a covered 2qt saucepan for about 30 mins, but when I checked after this time, the sauce had thickened by itself. I debated with myself whether to add the cornstarch/water to thicken it, but then I figured I just didn't know what I was doing, so I added in the thickener, put the chops back in and covered the pan and cooked another 5-10 mins. THere was almost no sauce left! WHat was left was thick and pasty. I took the chops out and put a little bit more chicken broth and whisked. Then I finally added 3/4 cup of chicken broth (which I had leftover from the 1 cup I'd made with water and a chicken boullion cube). I whisked this around trying to loosen up the pasty sauce and it thinned out too much. *SIGH* So I turned the heat up from med-low to med and got it boiling, which worked and thickened up really nicely. The extra chicken broth didn't hurt the sauce in any way. I thought it still had plenty of flavor and heat. I served this with white rice and Roasted Sugar Snap Peas. I prob overcooked the chops or there wasn't enough cooking liquid, because although they were fairly tender, they were dry. But regardless of the poor luck I had making this dish, my bf liked it, and I liked it. :) I saved the bit of leftover sauce too, because I thought it would be nice tossed with rice noodles later. I still think 1 tablespoon of the chili pepper flakes was more than adequate, even with the additional broth I had to use. Thanks for your patience eveyrone in reading this. I had to vent though about my weird experience in making this. :) Thank you TheDancingCook, I might try this again :) either in crock pot or on stove, and maybe modify it a bit. I know my chops were smaller and thinner than recipe called for, but that still makes me wonder how the cooking liquid was enough. Oh well, lol! :) Bf's been asking me to make this all week. I froze the leftover sauce from last time. I made fresh sauce w/ 1 cup of chicken broth (chicken boullion cube/water), and the amts called for in the recipe for the other ingreds. My chops were also a bit thicker. I also used just under 1 Tbsp of chili flakes. To the fresh sauce I added the frozen leftover sauce and let cook until the frozen sauce was incorporated and thawed into the fresh. This made a lot more cooking liquid. I boiled in a covered 2 qt saucepan for 20 mins on med. I used a tbsp of water/just under 1 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken, covered and cooked another 10 mins, then turned off the heat and let them hang out while I finished up a side dish I started out late. The sauce freezes really well and worked well with the fresh sauce I made. I served this with Ginger Glazed Carrots and white rice. Thanks again! :) (Oh and thanks to anyone patient enough to read this review!) UPDATE: Back, yet again. Took a fistful of frozen sauce from the freezer bag and tossed it with rice noodles. I soaked the rice noodles for 10 mins in cold water, drained, put them into boiling water for 5 mins, drained, then added the hot noodles back into the pan with the sauce (which had been thawing on the counter for about 15-20 mins. The sauce went well with the rice noodles! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      I looked at a 1/4 cup of pepper flakes and said no way. I used half that amount and still found the food too spicy. Admittedly, I am a wimp about the spicy stuff BUT don't say I didn't warn you! I used bone in country style ribs and cooked them on low for six hours (five would have been plenty). I would have rated these higher but I don't think anyone will eat the leftovers. Most likely I will try these again but with even fewer pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      This recipe made very tender pork chops but they were too spicy for me. I only used 1/2 of the amount of pepper flakes. I used boneless pork chops. I followed the directions exactly except I simmered them in a covered skillet on the stove for about 45 minutes. The sauce had a great flavor and the chops were so incredibly tender and moist. I will definately make this again minus the pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      These were simple to prepare and very good. I was expecting a sweeter taste due to the sugar and was pleasantly surprised by the savory taste. I too used less of the chili pepper flakes because of the children. Next time, I will try these with the chili pepper, because the children weren't interested in them but my dh was - and he was adding "heat" to them at the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      These pork chops were Excellent! I did have to cut back on the chili pepper flakes since I was serving it to my child. I also added a little bit of green bell pepper and they still turned out great. Next time my child goes to grandmas for the night, I will make it again with the exact amount of chili pepper flakes it calls for. Thanks Tara....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooked Oriental Pork Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 332.2
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    57%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 75.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1123.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes