10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make these chops alot. The 1/4 cup crushed chili flakes is an error. It's supposed to be 1/4 teaspoon chili flakes. We call these San Francisco Chops. I got this recipe from TOH Slow Cooker Favorites cookbook and the recipe is the same except for the amount of chili flakes (no one could eat 1/4 cup!) and the cold water should be at the bottom of the recipe, with the cornstarch. I fixed the original recipe here to include these changes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 December 10, 2008

Wow!!! These were delicious!!!! I added some sliced onions and more garlic. Also doubled the sauce cuz I had 7 pork chops. I was worried that this wasn't gonna turn out. All the good reviews and there has been many times when I am the one that doesn't like it. Very glad I tried it! First time I have ever done pork chops in the crockpot. It is kind of like chicken adobo, which we love. The soy and the brown sugar really balance each other out. Didn't get too much heat from the red pepper. We ate it with white rice and broccoli. We did add siraccha for some heat. This didn't thicken up for me in the crockpot and by putting it on high for the last 30 min I think it dried it out a little bit. 30 minutes earlier they were more succulent. I even tried taking the lid off to get it to thicken. Next time I will take the liquid out and thicken over the stove. I totally forgot to take a pic. Will do it tomorrow with the leftovers. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel January 21, 2015

I thought this was very flavorful and came out tender, though it got a lukewarm reaction from my husband. I think I would have been better off not to thicken the sauce. I think I over cooked the sauce in the process of thickening it, and it seemed to lose flavor. <br/><br/>I should also note that this took only about 4.5 hours to cook in my Deni 6 qt slow cooker, and I opened the cooker once to turn the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovechocolate July 12, 2014

I thought I reviewed this already but I guess I didn't. I love this recipe and have cooked it lots of times already. I have also tried it with chicken instead of pork chops and it's still fantastic! I like to use the left over sauce over my rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turtlelicious September 20, 2009

I made the recipe as directed except to substitute boneless ribs instead of chops, and use one tablespoon of chili powder instead of 1/4 cup. That was more than enough chili pepper. I'd say it was just about right. This was pretty good; very different from our normal foods but tasty. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken in the crock so I pulled it out to a pan to thicken, which worked nicely. I didn't think the flavor was the slightest bit Oriental, but it was good. I might make this again, and if I do it will be without change; the flavors melded well and it was good even though it didn't have the "wow" factor ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW April 28, 2008

I followed the example of one of the reviewers (Jennifer Wood), who used the stovetop instead of a crock pot. My chops were small and thin and boneless, and I was only cooking 2 of them. But I love sauce and the sauce ingredients didn't seem to be so much that keeping it the same would be silly, so I kept the sauce ingredient ants the same. I'm confused though. Perhaps it's the novice cook in me (half the time I have horrible luck with recipes even when I follow them exactly) and this one was weird. So I thought that 1/2 cup total of liquid (soy sauce and chicken broth) seemed like very little, how could this cover 4 1 inch chops? I had 2 chops that were about 1/2 inch thick and they were barely covered in a small 2qt saucepan. But I figured what did I know? Lol! I also thought that 1/4 cup of chili pepper flakes was crazy; my bf and I like spicy but that seemed way too much. I used 1 tablespoon worth instead and this seemed to be way more than plenty. I also added a couple of drops of sesame oil to the canola oil I used when browning the chops, and garlic. I had used a larger pan for this, but transferred all the rest of the ingredients after realizing the pan was way too big for all the ingredients. I simmered this between med-low and low heat in a covered 2qt saucepan for about 30 mins, but when I checked after this time, the sauce had thickened by itself. I debated with myself whether to add the cornstarch/water to thicken it, but then I figured I just didn't know what I was doing, so I added in the thickener, put the chops back in and covered the pan and cooked another 5-10 mins. THere was almost no sauce left! WHat was left was thick and pasty. I took the chops out and put a little bit more chicken broth and whisked. Then I finally added 3/4 cup of chicken broth (which I had leftover from the 1 cup I'd made with water and a chicken boullion cube). I whisked this around trying to loosen up the pasty sauce and it thinned out too much. *SIGH* So I turned the heat up from med-low to med and got it boiling, which worked and thickened up really nicely. The extra chicken broth didn't hurt the sauce in any way. I thought it still had plenty of flavor and heat. I served this with white rice and Roasted Sugar Snap Peas. I prob overcooked the chops or there wasn't enough cooking liquid, because although they were fairly tender, they were dry. But regardless of the poor luck I had making this dish, my bf liked it, and I liked it. :) I saved the bit of leftover sauce too, because I thought it would be nice tossed with rice noodles later. I still think 1 tablespoon of the chili pepper flakes was more than adequate, even with the additional broth I had to use. Thanks for your patience eveyrone in reading this. I had to vent though about my weird experience in making this. :) Thank you TheDancingCook, I might try this again :) either in crock pot or on stove, and maybe modify it a bit. I know my chops were smaller and thinner than recipe called for, but that still makes me wonder how the cooking liquid was enough. Oh well, lol! :) Bf's been asking me to make this all week. I froze the leftover sauce from last time. I made fresh sauce w/ 1 cup of chicken broth (chicken boullion cube/water), and the amts called for in the recipe for the other ingreds. My chops were also a bit thicker. I also used just under 1 Tbsp of chili flakes. To the fresh sauce I added the frozen leftover sauce and let cook until the frozen sauce was incorporated and thawed into the fresh. This made a lot more cooking liquid. I boiled in a covered 2 qt saucepan for 20 mins on med. I used a tbsp of water/just under 1 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken, covered and cooked another 10 mins, then turned off the heat and let them hang out while I finished up a side dish I started out late. The sauce freezes really well and worked well with the fresh sauce I made. I served this with Ginger Glazed Carrots and white rice. Thanks again! :) (Oh and thanks to anyone patient enough to read this review!) UPDATE: Back, yet again. Took a fistful of frozen sauce from the freezer bag and tossed it with rice noodles. I soaked the rice noodles for 10 mins in cold water, drained, put them into boiling water for 5 mins, drained, then added the hot noodles back into the pan with the sauce (which had been thawing on the counter for about 15-20 mins. The sauce went well with the rice noodles! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage September 13, 2007

I looked at a 1/4 cup of pepper flakes and said no way. I used half that amount and still found the food too spicy. Admittedly, I am a wimp about the spicy stuff BUT don't say I didn't warn you! I used bone in country style ribs and cooked them on low for six hours (five would have been plenty). I would have rated these higher but I don't think anyone will eat the leftovers. Most likely I will try these again but with even fewer pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully March 14, 2005

This recipe made very tender pork chops but they were too spicy for me. I only used 1/2 of the amount of pepper flakes. I used boneless pork chops. I followed the directions exactly except I simmered them in a covered skillet on the stove for about 45 minutes. The sauce had a great flavor and the chops were so incredibly tender and moist. I will definately make this again minus the pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Wood February 15, 2005

These were simple to prepare and very good. I was expecting a sweeter taste due to the sugar and was pleasantly surprised by the savory taste. I too used less of the chili pepper flakes because of the children. Next time, I will try these with the chili pepper, because the children weren't interested in them but my dh was - and he was adding "heat" to them at the table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast December 24, 2004

These pork chops were Excellent! I did have to cut back on the chili pepper flakes since I was serving it to my child. I also added a little bit of green bell pepper and they still turned out great. Next time my child goes to grandmas for the night, I will make it again with the exact amount of chili pepper flakes it calls for. Thanks Tara....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB May 30, 2003
Slow Cooked Oriental Pork Chops