32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!! Yum yum yum. So ridiculously easy to make, i had everything i needed in the pantry (except the roast of course). I used a 1kg lump of blade and it shrunk down to the tiniest amount, so next time i'm gonna put a monster in. I cant wait to have guests over to share this delicious meat with!!! Thank you so so much for sharing this delightful recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie6111 January 04, 2010

This was a really tender moist roast. I was expecting a stronger Korean flavor but it more tasted like just a delicious roast. Next time I was thinking I could add pineapple while it is cooking in the crockpot and a bit more soy. I think that would be really tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW October 04, 2011

One of the best things to come out of my crock pot in months! Rich savory flavor, tender enough to shred with a fork. We served it over rice with a few stir-fried veggies for color. We like sesame a lot, so we used what the recipe called for and loved it. Made for PAC.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 16, 2011

I will fix this again but cut the sesame oil down. The flavor of the sesame oil took over and was too strong for my taste. Maybe it was the type of oil I used, but will fix this again cutting the sesame oil in half. We served over mashed potatoes, but I felt that it would be better over rice. Thank you for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: January 24, 2010

I made this using petite sirloin steak and it didn't work out at all. I can't blame the recipe for that so I am not going to give this any stars just to be fair. My meat turned out really dry and pretty tasteless. Again I really can't blame the recipe for this, I just wanted to put out a warning to others to be careful which meat to use. I would like to try this recipe again with a longer cooking meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyLin March 12, 2013

I loved how easy this is to make. I decided to serve this on ciabatta rolls instead of kaiser rolls as suggested, and this worked out well. Served au jus. Topped it with a little shredded cabbage, and spread with mayo and horseradish. This is very good! I have leftovers, and will try those over mashed potatoes to test it out that way. Made for PAC Spring 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 14, 2011

Used an eye of round roast (about 3.5 lbs), doubled the sauce, and cooked for about 8 hours. It was super flavorful and tender, easy to shred. When my husband took his first bite he said "OH yeah"...And he's not generally the most complimentary person! Served on 40 Minute Hamburger Buns (which is the best bun recipe ever). Thanks JacquelynLee!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy January 22, 2010

Very good - I used a flat iron roast - but sliced it into 2 inch slices first since I started the recipe a little late. It was done in 3 and a half hours. I increased the sauce by half based on comments but I don't think I would do that again as I had more than enough sauce. Smells wonderful while cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirlsaw November 09, 2009

Very good! Ate with white rice and stir fry veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel March 09, 2015

Very easy and good. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB December 31, 2014
Slow-Cooked Korean Beef