15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We also enjoyed this recipe. Cubed a couple of potatoes and added to the other ingredients. Would definately make again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie December 20, 2002

I have been looking for a slow cooker corn chowder recipe that is easy to prepare and tasty, and this one definitely fits the bill. Assembly of the ingredients only took a couple of minutes and the taste was excellent. The only thing I added was a tablespoon of chicken bouillon granules for a little more zing, but that is just a personal preference thing, it was great without that addition.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 September 23, 2002

Similar to others who have posted reviews, I found this to be super quick, super easy, and really good. For those who follow weight watchers plan - this works out to 5 pts per serving

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrapbook Lori February 02, 2009

This was great. I used a can of corn nuggets as I didn't have any frozen corn and also used jerk seasoning instead of cajun. Very good and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ November 05, 2012

This recipe is just okay. I made it using regular potato that I shredded (and used twice what was called for), but the potato just got lost. Next time, I would cube. My husband wouldn't eat any of it (said "yup, tastes like corn") so we threw his out. I did have boneless skinless chicken thigh in place of the ham, but don't think that would've made that much of a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 December 12, 2011

Tonight was my first time to taste, much less cook, corn chowder. I was always kind of put off by the idea in the past, but this was really good. I did have to add a little corn starch/water mixture at the end to thicken it a little. Next time, I think I'm just going to double the hashbrowns. Anyway, it was yummy. The kids were kind of so-so with it, which surprised me. Of course, they're both sick right now, so I'm thinking I may wait a week or so and give it another try. VERY yummy, though, and the perfect choice for our cold and rainy night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) December 08, 2009

I loved this chowder! I doubled the amount of frozen hashbrowns, and at the table topped my bowl with shredded cheddar cheese. A hot bowl of chowder in the winter.... it's a wonderful thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta January 20, 2007

I have never made corn chowder before, but I put this together this morning before I left for work, and when I came home the whole house smelt so good. Thanks for this quick, easy, and tasty meal. We really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purdy Good Cook March 14, 2006

NurseDi - this was soooo good! It was very easy to make, partially because I had all the ingredients on hand (for once). My family really enjoyed it. I will probably try substituting chicken for the ham next time since we always have chicken leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaineMom November 21, 2005

Corn chowder is a favorite of mine. Making it in the crockpot attracted me to this recipe. It had an all-around good flavor and I was a little heavy handed with the cajun spice for my family's taste. Easy to prepare and enjoyed by me and my family. That makes it a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynt July 09, 2004
Slow Cooked Corn Chowder