20 Reviews

I love chili and this recipe interested me because of the unique combination of ingredients and the ease of the slow cooked preparation. This was the first time I've tried a chili that involved layering the ingredients instead of mixing them. So when I opened the pot and everything was cooked but sitting there I was worried. Began to mix and slowly, I had this beautiful, thick rich chili that was studded with corn and lovely chunks of peppers. The dish is well seasoned without being spicy-hot which won it many stars with my neighbor and lunch companion. Loved the was the tortilla-corn acted as a binder as well as forming a lovely coating on the chicken. I should mention my one change which was to replace the tortilla chips with 1/3 cup of cornmeal. Easier for me and consistent with the WW Core program. While some might consider this major, for me this was using the chips in their most elemental form - ground corn. Thanks Lainey for the treat.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni January 25, 2007

Made it exactly as directed. This chilli has a very clean, healthy taste. I wouldn't say it screams chilli but is a dish of its own. Pretty good, I might do white chicken next time & maybe more salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maseyluv April 15, 2013

This was a great way to use some of those turkey left-overs from Thanksgiving. It put a new taste to an old bird. We like alot of heat so I did spice it up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
govabrown_1597127 November 30, 2012

This is what I was looking for in a chicken chili!! This is DELICIOUS!! I had to make this up the night before in the crockpot and set it in the crock when I woke up in the morning. I left out the tortilla chip and just stirred them in when I got home in the early afternoon. It still turn out! We love this recipe and will be making it many many more times!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Kate January 24, 2008

Great chili. I used diced tomatoes with chiles instead of the Italian style and I did not drain them. Also add black beans because we like black beans in our chili. Will make this again. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim October 26, 2007

The whole family Loved this recipe! Thanks! I made a small change due to not having all ingredients but it still was great. We used black beans instead of kidney beans and added a small jar of green chilies for added kick. This was great with some cornbread and made for an excellent lunch the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLMom February 26, 2007

How nice it was to put this together late morning, and have a delicious dinner just a few hours later with no last minute fuss. I cooked the Chicken Chili for 1.5 hrs on high, stirred and reduced heat to low for 4 hours more. The toasty taste of the crushed corn chips, and smokey cumin really added something special to this dish. Instead of a can of Italian tomatoes, I used a can of Rotel with green chilies. This hit the spot on a cool fall day. Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. November 05, 2006

This was ok! Meaning it was edible!!! I didn't have green pepper or tortilla chips. I had some leftover tostadas that I used. 3 stars for how easy it was to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel January 20, 2015

I made this a few weeks ago and everyone really liked it which is pretty difficult to achieve in this picky little family. I have been all night looking for the recipe again and am so glad I finally found it. I had emailed to myself! Anyway I've cleaned out all my old emails too so all's well that ends well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
may p. December 11, 2014
Slow-Cooked Chicken Chili