258 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, yum, yum! I was looking for a tasty crock pot pork meal and this hit the spot. Served it over garlic mashed potatoes and sweet peas on the side. Super yummy and DH and DD loved it. Added a dash of cayenne to the gravy for a little flavor boost and it was perfect. Makes excellent no fuss gravy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newly Mrs. Johnson December 16, 2012

This was a fantastic base recipe for pork chops and gravy that can be suited to your own tastes. As for me, I used 5 teaspoons of yellow mustard (didn't have dry) and increased flour to 3/4 cup. Also, I used a teaspoon of locally obtained seasoning mix that included salt paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper. After browning chops, I made a roux w/ green onions and remainder of the flour, mustard, seasoning mixture. I used about 48 oz of chicken stock slowly mixed into the roux which was then poured over the chops in the crock pot. I cooked on high for two hours and all was done but not quite falling off the bone yet. Then cooked on low for another two hours. Also mixed in a tablespoon of cornstarch for thickening and added a cup of mushrooms. Finally, I tasted and re-adjust seasonings as needed before serving.

Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/slow-cook-down-home-pork-chops-and-gravy-45940?oc=linkback

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajunboy71 December 16, 2012

This was good. I did a couple things differently - added some different spices to the flour mix, including some thyme and paprika. I also whisked the flour into the broth, in the same pan I fried the chops. That helped thicken things a little and I had no clumping. As for the broth, I used the Knorr liquid chicken stock bubbles (no idea what their name is!)and instead of adding 3.5 cups of boiling water to it, I only added about 12oz water. Once it was bubbling in the crock pot, I thought perhaps there wasn't enough liquid and I added about a half bottle of beer. My husband LOVED this and there was a nice amount of gravy. I gave it 4 stars because it was a touch bland, but if I make it again, I will doctor it up more. I also cooked it on high for 2 hours, then switched it to low for 2 hours and it was fall off the bone tender. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara in MD December 10, 2012

I'm amazed at how delicious and easy this recipe is -- the whole family loved it. I used homemade broth and make a couple of flavor additions -- replaced about 1/3 of the wheat flour with masa harina, and added an Italian herb blend (Penzey's Tuscan Sunset). Falling-apart done in less than 3 hours, and the gravy was smooth and delicious over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB November 27, 2012

A great recipe! I was very thankful to find a recipe like this that did not use 'Cream Of..." I read the reviews first and planned accordingly. For my purposes I didn't need a crockpot. I seasoned the chops and and browned them in an oven proof skillet. Then I sauteed mushrooms, onions and garlic, added the stock and some flour mixed with dried mustard and water. I was only making 3 x 1" thick chops but used the full amount of gravy ingredients. It went in to the oven at 350 for 1 1/2 hours with a pan of brussel sprouts, carrots and cauliflower put in to roast for the last 40 minutes. I found it very flavourful and suspect that those who didn't may not have used the concentrated broth. It would make a huge difference substituting regular broth imo. Anyway - it was a fabulous meal with lots of gravy left to pour over the mashed potatoes. This will be a regular item here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned November 01, 2012

My family enjoys this, for me; it is easy to make on a busy day! It tastes great, my first try the pork chops were a little soft ( I wondered if I did not brown them long enough), we will see the results with what I am making tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chaloner October 28, 2012

I actually made a recipe very similar to this tonight that I found on Pinterest: ( http://www.mydailymoment.com/recipes/slow-cooked_pork_chops.php ).This recipe called for condensed chicken and rice soup (which I thought was a little strange but was shockingly delicious!) and no addition of flour to the broth. My daughter said this was her favorite dish ever and "Don't lose this recipe, mom!" It's a definite keeper... I'm thinking about experimenting with some different condensed soups for different flavors... maybe onion soup! Yum! Thanks for this easy go-to pork chop recipe... it's a winner! UPDATE: I made this recipe with condensed french onion soup and it was pretty good but my daughter thinks it was better with the chicken and rice soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hollyism October 20, 2012

We did not care for these at all. Followed the recipe exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tacobarlass September 20, 2012

Amazing! I used the crock pot though. Turned out perfect! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinkeejackbaby September 14, 2012

I made this last night for my family, they LOVED it! I did not have any trouble with clumping in the gravy and let it sit in the slow cooker on low for about 4 hours to insure the meat was extra tender. I served with mashed potatos and corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosey252 August 26, 2012
Slow Cook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy