263 Reviews

The best chops I've ever had. Husband LOVED, and in-laws raved on and on. A definite keeper, which I'll be making often. Didn't have condensed chicken broth, so just used water and bouillon and it was fine - also used all the leftover flour mixture to mix into the gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! May 29, 2013

I had everything on hand when I came across this recipe! I was so excited to make it because it was just so easy and the reviews were wonderful! At first I wasn't sure if we would enjoy it but after a few bites, it tasted better and better!! My boyfriend thought it was great and said it was a keeper!! We will definately be having this when we want super tender pork chops! They were seriously so perfectly tender!!! mmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brittb216 March 24, 2013

My hubby put this together before we left for work this morning. When he came home for lunch and checked on the crock pot, he was surprised to find the chops already pretty much done. So by the time I came home four hours later, they were definitely off-the-bone tender. Due to our needing to cook these longer than the recipe indicates, I needed to add a little water to loosen up the the gravy; as it was a little too thick. I served these chops with brown rice and baby peas. This was definitely a country-style, hearty meal. :) I can certainly understand why this recipe is so highly rated and has had so many reviews. We will be enjoying this recipe many more times, I'm sure. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Buttercup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe March 05, 2013

I served this recipe with homemade mashed potatoes along with a side dish of carrots & green beans. I had to add another cup of chicken broth in order for the gravy to even mix. Sorry to share that I found this meal quite bland. Slow cooked this on Medium for 5 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JudithIrene February 12, 2013

I got mixed reviews with this recipe. My 18 year old grandson and I really liked it. His father thought it was so-so and my oldest son didn't care for it at all. I added some quartered red potatoes to the crock pot which everyone loved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 February 10, 2013

The essence of comfort food! I love crock pot recipes. I prepped it in the morning, When I came home that evening the meat and gravy were cooked to perfection. Will keep this favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godsgal1 February 02, 2013

Yum, yum, yum! I was looking for a tasty crock pot pork meal and this hit the spot. Served it over garlic mashed potatoes and sweet peas on the side. Super yummy and DH and DD loved it. Added a dash of cayenne to the gravy for a little flavor boost and it was perfect. Makes excellent no fuss gravy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newly Mrs. Johnson December 16, 2012

This was a fantastic base recipe for pork chops and gravy that can be suited to your own tastes. As for me, I used 5 teaspoons of yellow mustard (didn't have dry) and increased flour to 3/4 cup. Also, I used a teaspoon of locally obtained seasoning mix that included salt paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper. After browning chops, I made a roux w/ green onions and remainder of the flour, mustard, seasoning mixture. I used about 48 oz of chicken stock slowly mixed into the roux which was then poured over the chops in the crock pot. I cooked on high for two hours and all was done but not quite falling off the bone yet. Then cooked on low for another two hours. Also mixed in a tablespoon of cornstarch for thickening and added a cup of mushrooms. Finally, I tasted and re-adjust seasonings as needed before serving.

Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/slow-cook-down-home-pork-chops-and-gravy-45940?oc=linkback

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajunboy71 December 16, 2012

This was good. I did a couple things differently - added some different spices to the flour mix, including some thyme and paprika. I also whisked the flour into the broth, in the same pan I fried the chops. That helped thicken things a little and I had no clumping. As for the broth, I used the Knorr liquid chicken stock bubbles (no idea what their name is!)and instead of adding 3.5 cups of boiling water to it, I only added about 12oz water. Once it was bubbling in the crock pot, I thought perhaps there wasn't enough liquid and I added about a half bottle of beer. My husband LOVED this and there was a nice amount of gravy. I gave it 4 stars because it was a touch bland, but if I make it again, I will doctor it up more. I also cooked it on high for 2 hours, then switched it to low for 2 hours and it was fall off the bone tender. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara in MD December 10, 2012

I'm amazed at how delicious and easy this recipe is -- the whole family loved it. I used homemade broth and make a couple of flavor additions -- replaced about 1/3 of the wheat flour with masa harina, and added an Italian herb blend (Penzey's Tuscan Sunset). Falling-apart done in less than 3 hours, and the gravy was smooth and delicious over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB November 27, 2012
Slow Cook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy