263 Reviews

Great flavor, I skipped the salt with the condensed chicken broth having so much salt in it, worked well. Meat was fork tender (falling apart) and easy for my two preschoolers to pick apart and cut with their own fork. Served with mashed red potatoes and fresh garden veggies. I found even though not 'typical' summer fare, didn't heat up the kitchen and was easy to fix at lunch time and serve for dinner on my day off. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Top of the Hill June 23, 2010

I followed this recipe to the tee and, sorry, but my family didn't like it at all. I was sceptical about how flavourful it would be based on the ingredients. The gravy was lumpy b/c of the flour and it was very bland. Cooking the meat on high in the crockpot didn't make them tender and we actually didn't end up eating most of it b/c it was too touch. Slow cookers should be used on low for a long period of time in my experience. Sorry, this is not a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phebes M April 21, 2010

After reading this recipe I thought, why does it have 176 reviews. Well now it has 177. I will never make my pork chops any other way. Made no change except the way I cooked it. I browned 2 chops in my cast iron. removed ,added some butter cooked the flour than added the broth when I had a nice gravy, returned the chops, covered the skillet tight with foil.cooked in oven about 3 hr. at 300. I had the most delish and tender chops I have ever had. With only 2 chops I still kept the same amounts, added some salt and hot pepper flakes. Going to try crock pot next. Thank you so much for posting buttercup, this really is a gem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise March 26, 2010

Wow! This turned out awesome! I needed a dinner where it could be done in a few hours without me sitting there watching it and this fit the bill! I did not have any condensed chicken broth, so I used regular chicken broth. I also ended up using double the amount of flour, mustard, salt and garlic powder to cover all of my chops which I cut off the bone since I had bone-in center cut chops. I ran out of flour mixture right in the middle of breading! I would recommend making sure all the chops are covered in the gravy while they cook as those chops were the most tender. I also used a whole container of chicken broth, (you know the broth that comes in the resealable containers). I mixed in about 3/4 cups of flour and about another tsp of mustard, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp pepper and about a tablespoon of chicken buillion granules for the gravy. My chops took 3 hours on high in my oval Rival crock pot and they were very tender. I made sure to whisk the gravy really well to incorporate the breading that came off and adjust the gravy thickness after the chops were done and out of the crock pot. If you need the gravy thicker, one cup cold water or broth mixed with one tablespoon of flour and bring to a boil in a saucepan or pour in the crock pot on high and let cook for 15 minutes or so until it thickens. Use more or less flour/water mixture to get the thickness you desire. These were moist and tender and this extra broth made enough gravy for all the mashed potatoes I made to go with these. Very flavorful. Very easy! Took me ten minutes to prepare and throw in the crock pot and that was it! I would definitely recommend. I would also make sure to use boneless pork chops also, because in my past experience, the bone breaks down in the gravy and you get crunch bits in your gravy, yuck! You can always cut the chop off the bone like I did and that worked great! Just make sure you have lean chops or the dish will be too greasy! You gotta try this! Thanks for posting buttercup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary N. February 20, 2009

Really awesome, and I'm not much of a pork chop fan, either. Be careful not to overcook or the consistency of the meat gets a little odd (tender yet dry?). I fried mine hard, deglazed the pan with some cooking wine and threw the juices on top. Trim ALL the fat off the pork chops. I'm so used to leaving fat on for moistness/flavor with pork but it's not needed here, and you'll just be chasing lumps of fat around the pot or scraping it off your chops. Before serving I added some Gravy Master and fresh-ground black pepper to the gravy. This one's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L2E770 November 19, 2008

I can see why everyone loved this recipe -- me included! I added wine and mushrooms and sage and garlic powder, as per other reviewers. It was tender and tasty. Served it with brown rice and Grilled Cauliflower. Very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 17, 2008

Yum! I used a small pork roast. I did not like the chops that were for sale that day. This is very easy to prepare. I also added some potatoes to the gravy mixture. The pork roast is very tender and the gravy has a nice mild flavor. Thanks buttercup. "As You Wish"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ September 15, 2008

Wow! This was a great recipe! The pork was tender and flavorful. The gravy was excellent! I have made this twice...once with Chicken Broth and once with Beef Broth! Both are excellent!! Served it with mashed potatoes, green beans, and cheese biscuits! My DH said to keep this recipe handy! He expects it more often! Thank you for a great main dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB502 May 18, 2003

I liked the fact that this recipe makes its own gravy without the addition of canned soup - not that I have anything against canned soup, but so many recipes lately seem to call for it. I made it per recipe instructions - did add one cloved fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. My DH really liked this one - will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 April 16, 2003

Wonderful, buttercup! This recipe is a cinch to pop into the crockpot and is ready in only a couple hours! I used 4 -1" boneless pork loin chops and served this with Bergy's Penne with Broccoli and Garlic Penne With Broccoli & Garlic. We all enjoyed our meal so much! Thank you, buttercup!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 26, 2003
Slow Cook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy