Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    256 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 256

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      Great flavor, I skipped the salt with the condensed chicken broth having so much salt in it, worked well. Meat was fork tender (falling apart) and easy for my two preschoolers to pick apart and cut with their own fork. Served with mashed red potatoes and fresh garden veggies. I found even though not 'typical' summer fare, didn't heat up the kitchen and was easy to fix at lunch time and serve for dinner on my day off. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      I followed this recipe to the tee and, sorry, but my family didn't like it at all. I was sceptical about how flavourful it would be based on the ingredients. The gravy was lumpy b/c of the flour and it was very bland. Cooking the meat on high in the crockpot didn't make them tender and we actually didn't end up eating most of it b/c it was too touch. Slow cookers should be used on low for a long period of time in my experience. Sorry, this is not a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      After reading this recipe I thought, why does it have 176 reviews. Well now it has 177. I will never make my pork chops any other way. Made no change except the way I cooked it. I browned 2 chops in my cast iron. removed ,added some butter cooked the flour than added the broth when I had a nice gravy, returned the chops, covered the skillet tight with foil.cooked in oven about 3 hr. at 300. I had the most delish and tender chops I have ever had. With only 2 chops I still kept the same amounts, added some salt and hot pepper flakes. Going to try crock pot next. Thank you so much for posting buttercup, this really is a gem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Wow! This turned out awesome! I needed a dinner where it could be done in a few hours without me sitting there watching it and this fit the bill! I did not have any condensed chicken broth, so I used regular chicken broth. I also ended up using double the amount of flour, mustard, salt and garlic powder to cover all of my chops which I cut off the bone since I had bone-in center cut chops. I ran out of flour mixture right in the middle of breading! I would recommend making sure all the chops are covered in the gravy while they cook as those chops were the most tender. I also used a whole container of chicken broth, (you know the broth that comes in the resealable containers). I mixed in about 3/4 cups of flour and about another tsp of mustard, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp pepper and about a tablespoon of chicken buillion granules for the gravy. My chops took 3 hours on high in my oval Rival crock pot and they were very tender. I made sure to whisk the gravy really well to incorporate the breading that came off and adjust the gravy thickness after the chops were done and out of the crock pot. If you need the gravy thicker, one cup cold water or broth mixed with one tablespoon of flour and bring to a boil in a saucepan or pour in the crock pot on high and let cook for 15 minutes or so until it thickens. Use more or less flour/water mixture to get the thickness you desire. These were moist and tender and this extra broth made enough gravy for all the mashed potatoes I made to go with these. Very flavorful. Very easy! Took me ten minutes to prepare and throw in the crock pot and that was it! I would definitely recommend. I would also make sure to use boneless pork chops also, because in my past experience, the bone breaks down in the gravy and you get crunch bits in your gravy, yuck! You can always cut the chop off the bone like I did and that worked great! Just make sure you have lean chops or the dish will be too greasy! You gotta try this! Thanks for posting buttercup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Really awesome, and I'm not much of a pork chop fan, either. Be careful not to overcook or the consistency of the meat gets a little odd (tender yet dry?). I fried mine hard, deglazed the pan with some cooking wine and threw the juices on top. Trim ALL the fat off the pork chops. I'm so used to leaving fat on for moistness/flavor with pork but it's not needed here, and you'll just be chasing lumps of fat around the pot or scraping it off your chops. Before serving I added some Gravy Master and fresh-ground black pepper to the gravy. This one's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I can see why everyone loved this recipe -- me included! I added wine and mushrooms and sage and garlic powder, as per other reviewers. It was tender and tasty. Served it with brown rice and Grilled Cauliflower. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Yum! I used a small pork roast. I did not like the chops that were for sale that day. This is very easy to prepare. I also added some potatoes to the gravy mixture. The pork roast is very tender and the gravy has a nice mild flavor. Thanks buttercup. "As You Wish"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Wow! This was a great recipe! The pork was tender and flavorful. The gravy was excellent! I have made this twice...once with Chicken Broth and once with Beef Broth! Both are excellent!! Served it with mashed potatoes, green beans, and cheese biscuits! My DH said to keep this recipe handy! He expects it more often! Thank you for a great main dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      I liked the fact that this recipe makes its own gravy without the addition of canned soup - not that I have anything against canned soup, but so many recipes lately seem to call for it. I made it per recipe instructions - did add one cloved fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. My DH really liked this one - will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      Wonderful, buttercup! This recipe is a cinch to pop into the crockpot and is ready in only a couple hours! I used 4 -1" boneless pork loin chops and served this with Bergy's Penne with Broccoli and Garlic Penne With Broccoli & Garlic. We all enjoyed our meal so much! Thank you, buttercup!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      I made this with 6 forequarter chops, and they were quite big. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used water and chicken stock powder, instead of broth. It turned out mush more tasty then I expected, (thought I would add some plum sauce, but it doesnt need it) I also found I needed to cook it an extra hour, maybe because the chops were big. I would make this again, but if I used the bought stock powder, I would cut out the salt, I would also pour the gravy mix over the top of the chops, as it did stick to the bottom of the pot a little. Thanks for sharing Buttercup :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      Love the simplicity of this dish. I have made the recipe as written, and while my husband very much enjoyed it, I found it much too salty. The fix was to use Heart Healthy (low sodium) condensed chicken soup, and this was much improved. The second time I also added some paprika and steak seasoning. This recipe is definitely going to be a regular part of supper time at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      My husband and I really liked this dish. I didn't have dry mustard, so I rubbed my chops with a little grainy Dijon mustard before I dredged them in the flour. I like mustard and pork together anyway. I liked the ease of this recipe, too. I served with mashed red skin potatoes, and steamed carrots. Perfect meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      This was absolutely fantastic and I didn't even follow the directions because the computer was upstairs and the kitchen down! I forgot to bread the chops, instead mixing all the dry ingredients with the liquid after browning the chops without a coating. It was amazing, but the coating will be even more amazing next time! Had it with mashed potatoes, green beans and corn. Enough for dinner, three lunches for daughter's work and two lunches for me at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      Made this in my rice cooker (re-started when it switched to the hold temp in order to keep it on "high" for awhile) since that's what I have, and it was SO delicious! I also had no mustard powder but added a little onion soup mix. I think it's fairly versatile if you go with good flavors. I ended up taking out the pork chops and adding a bit more broth to thin it out and to make there be more of such an amazing thing. I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      loved this recipe, I did put an onion in with the pork chops when they were browning, awesome and easy and tender...we usually buy a whole pork loin when they are on sale and cut them into chops...but they always turn out dry in the oven or on the grill...this was awesome because the chops were great and still not heavy on the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      These chops were really good and very easy to make. Only changes I made were to add some paprika and parsley flakes to the flour mix and to make a roux of the drippings, flour & broth. Gravy came out smooth poured it over the chops in the crock and let it cook. Very good, and very easy. Tender, smelled great & tasted great. Thank you Buttercup, this is a keeper in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      The chops did indeed cook so thoroughly that they fell apart when I tried to remove them from the crockpot. However, the meat was somehow borderline dry. (??) The gravy was okay, but I prefer a darker, richer, brown gravy with some more oomph. This is a good recipe to start using your slow cooker with & would be a good one to tinker/experiment with to find out what works for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      Wow.. I'm not much for crock pot recipes... but this turned out great. My mom really liked it, too. I added thinly sliced onions and put a couple of chunks of carrot and celery into the crock. I can already think of using this same concept with the broth and seasoned flour mixture and doing chicken, too. ... with a little poultry seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      I will make this again. The gravy just made itself. I used a full 14 oz can of chicken broth and added a tablespoon of chicken bullion for additional flavor. Wished I had made mashed potatoes to go with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cook Down Home Pork Chops and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.6
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    42%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 124.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 633.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 43.6 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites