13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was OK, but I didn't love it. It was very sweet. I love the idea that it's made with lentils instead of meat. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and added some apple cider vinegar. Surprisingly my toddler daughter loved it, so that's a bonus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen December 21, 2010

This wasn't a bad recipe, just not what I think of when I think of Sloppy Joe flavor so I did tweak mine quite a bit with ketchup, mustard, and a bit of BBQ sauce. I do absolutely LOVE the idea of using lentils instead of meat and everyone in my family gobbled them up! I think next time, I'll stick with my regular spice mixture but keep the lentils! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen January 13, 2010

It was very good but too much sugar. Next time I will try using half the amount of sugar. I used two onions instead of 1 and red lentils instead of brown lentils. Good vegetarian dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helgaf January 07, 2010

This was very good! I made only a few changes - I added a little bit of liquid smoke, cider vinegar and blackstrap molasses to the mix. I also substituted agave nectar for the sugar. The only thing I would do differently is add another can of tomatoes, but we like our sloppy joes tomato-y to begin with. We'll definitely be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Mellie~ October 28, 2009

Loved it! It is so yummy and makes alot so I can freeze for a quick weeknight meal! I used blue agave sweetner from trader joe's instead of the brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zinfandel29 September 25, 2009

This is a quick and super-yummy meal! It's so easy to throw in all the ingredients at the beginning of the day, and then come home to a great tasting dinner! I served this with homemade warm wheat bread and it was a hit! Not to mention, what a healthy meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel August 16, 2009

Great vegan recipe. I was out of onion so I had to use onion powder and it still turned out great. Will be making this often! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynn08 March 02, 2009

These are wonderful. We ended up calling them Sloppy Lenny's, and they have become a staple on our vegetarian menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EMcooks January 18, 2009

Wonderful! I was expecting something a little thicker and sloppy joe like, but the taste more than made up for it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 August 24, 2008
Sloppy Lentils