Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sloppy Joes With Chicken Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sloppy Joes With Chicken Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2014

      This was my favorite sloppy joe recipe growing up. Definitely different from traditional sloppy joes and my picky eater will eat this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      Very similar to the recipe my mother used for sloppy joe lunch fund raisers for our school. Kids can't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      Really tasty and tangy and an easy recipe to make. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and it turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Great variation on a sloppy joes. My family enjoys these for a quick afternoon meal with beans & weenies. Thank-you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      The recipe I grew up with is very similar to this. I've never eaten sloppy joes any other way, so not sure how they compare to others. I don't use vinegar, brown sugar or worcestershire sauce and I've never had a complaint. I use two cans of chicken gumbo and add ketchup to taste. I can't imagine sloppy joes without chicken gumbo soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Very tasty and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      These were delicious and very easy to make. I make them in a skillet on top of the stove instead of microwaving. I just browned the meat and then added the rest of the ingredients and heated it until it was simmering. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I grew up on this recipe. We made it regularly for church get togethers. It's the only joe's I'll eat (I don't like BBQ taste in burger). I also cook on the stove and always add onion to the browning beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      If you're leary of this recipe, don't be, it's great. My grandson does not like BBQ so this is a great sloppy joe substitute. I call it "Loose Meat" sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This is the version that I've made since the early 1960's. The only thing different that I do is brown a finely chopped large onion with the ground beef. I was totally surprised the first time that I made it because you can't even tell the soup is in the finished dish. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      MY FIL makes these and they are fantastic! Very authentic mid-west sloppy joe He is from MInnesota and we always have these at family re-unions they can be made ahead and kept warm in the crockpot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      I loved this recipe and so did my entire family! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      My mother-in-law used to make a version of this when my DH was growing up and it was one of the few dishes he liked (she wasn't much of a cook). Anyways, when he asked her for the recipe, she couldn't find it and just went off memory. Hers only had mustard, ketchup, Chicken Gumbo and Worcestershire. It was different every time we made it (she couldn't remember the measurements) and always tasted like it was missing something. I am so glad I found this recipe. I cooked this on the stove instead of the microwave and let it simmer until it thickened up - about 5 min. Very tasty, easy to make and simple ingredients. Thanks for sharing this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      I make a similar recipe for Sloppy Joes - it is definately a favorite. This is the recipe that our church makes for sales and there are never left-overs! The only differences are in the spices, I substitute lemon juice for the vinegar, add 1 T cornstarch, 2 T brown sugar and 1 t celery salt, omitting the garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      I love this recipe for sloppy joes with chicken gumbo soup. I use to make it alot when my kids were small. They really liked it. I think I got the recipe off of a can of the soup a way back when. I need to made it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sloppy Joes With Chicken Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.2
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    33%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 75.2 mg
    25%
    Sodium 816.7 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes