Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      We really enjoyed your tasty recipe Halcyon Eve. It was sooo good, I won't be buying mixes ever again. It was so quick and easy to make with great results. The sloppy joes were very flavorful and satisfying. I made the sauce as written using a hot chili powder which gave it a lovely heat. I didn't use buns but opted for Bacon Scones, which worked beautifully with this dish. Thank you for sharing your recipe, that has gone into my keeper box. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      April 9, 2009: This recipe is what has made a sloppy joe lover out of me! loof suggested the recipe in the PAC thread while I was talking about making sloppy joes for DH & DS & how excited they'd be. I had everything easily on hand as well as a half of a red bell pepper to use up, so I threw that in too. I made 40 Minute Hamburger Buns to go with them & this dinner was inhaled! Thanks loof for recommending it & thanks Eve for sharing it! We'll be using it again & again. UPDATE: Eve, we first tried your recipe 2 years ago and we've tried a few in between, but we keep coming back to yours and my family has begun comparing all others to it! :) I finally wore out my original print out of the recipe and when I came to print a new one for DH's dinner pick last night, I realized I had never taken a photo before! So I did and just wanted to post it for you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      my daughter never really liked sloppy joes until I made them this way. Now, she loves them! I don't like mine sweet, so I left out the brown sugar completely. The ketchup made them sweet enough for us. This recipe is a KEEPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This is our "keeper" recipe now for Sloppy Joes. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Great sloppy joes! The sauce was yummy but toasting the buns with parmesan and garlic is what put these over the top - what a great idea! I left out the onions and added a bit more than 4 teaspoons of brown sugar. These were terrific - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Halcyon Eve, these were wondeful! Made as written, and added 1/2 slice provolone cheese to the buns as they toasted for DH. He really liked that as they really held together. Thanks for a new favorite. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag, Jan 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Sloppy joes are comfort food for me & 1 of the things I crave most from US-based cuisine. I served these SJs w/Cajun-spiced, oven-baked potato wedges + fruit salad & found this version esp impressive for the toasted bun part of the recipe. My mom used to grill the buns in butter to give them a firmer texture b4 piling on the SJ mixture. You could actually pick them up to eat vs having to use a fork. The SJ mixture is very tasty, but the use of butter, garlic & Parm cheese on the buns gives them an added taste & texture dimension that is spec & I liked a lot! Sml buns are not available here, but I did not mind a bit using jumbo buns to dbl my pleasure. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us, It opened my eyes to the best & tastiest way to serve SJs. *Yum* ! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.6
     
    Calories from Fat 194
    41%
    Total Fat 21.6 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 106.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1189.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes