Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2013

      I loved this recipe! I did make a substitution of a large jalapeno for the bell pepper, as I was out of bell pepper. I think it added a little heat that I liked a lot, so if I make this again, I'll do the same substitution. I made it on top of the stove, so added about 1/4 cup more water to handle the evaporation, plus the fact that I like my sloppy joes juicy. I also only cooked it for about 1 hour, as I didn't read the cook time before doing the preparation, and dinner was required to be on time. I'm sure the longer cooking would have mellowed everything out some, but it was very edible after 1 hour. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      The BEST sloppy joe recipe ever!!! It's not too tangy or sweet, and the flavors blend together perfectly for that old-time sloppy joe taste. The longer you cook it, the better it tastes too! I found this recipe on here quite a few years ago, and I've been making it ever since. It's awesome. It's that kind of sloppy joe you'd find at a church potluck, or at grandma's house. I've passed this recipe on to dozens of people, and I always share the story of it coming in with the electric bill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2014

      Best homemade sloppy joes ever! I've tried many recipes but this is the go-to from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      I've tried quite of few sloppy joe recipes, and this is by far the best one. I usually vary from the written recipe, but no changes are called for with this one. I've also used ground turkey without browning it first and had great success. When I couldn't remember which one we liked, I was sorely disappointed with every other result. Now that I know this was THE one, I will never use another recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      This is the best recipe I have found on this site. I made another popular recipe and found it too sweet and it had too much of a BBQ taste. I did reduce the vinegar to 1 T. and added a bit more water, but it is pretty much perfect. Thanks so much forposting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      I have made this a few times but not sure if I have tried the crock pot yet. Never planning that far ahead! As written, it is too sweet for me but this time I omitted the sugar and used red wine vinegar and I like it much better. Added about a cup of cooked beans and found it still needed catsup. I grew up on a powdered package mix- didn't think it would be so hard to find something to replace it! It was more "saucy" than this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      Thank you so much for sharing this! It was delicious!!!! I haven't had Sloppy Joes in a very long time because I never cared much for the canned stuff and it never occurred to me to go looking for a homemade recipe. I'm so happy I found this! My kids also loved it! This is definitely going into the rotation! The only thing I did differently was to simmer it on the stove for an hour instead of the Crockpot and only added a few shakes of pepper. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Tasted just like Manwhich! So happy I chose this one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I was a little skeptical that this was the "best recipe" you have ever had" but it really is true. Fantastic! My daughter does not like sloppy joes because a lot of the recipes are too "barbecuey" but this one was great - very flavorful. I loved that there was plenty of sauce and I just cooked it down on the stove until i got it the consistency I wanted it. Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

    • on May 07, 2010

      These are SO GOOD!! I agree with Southern Transplant~~this is now my Sloppy Joe recipe! I did make changes: Used TVP instead of ground beef and reconstituted it in McKay's Beef Seasoning broth and left out the green pepper. I also cooked it on the stove since I decided to make them about an hour before dinner. The flavor is so rich and yummy. Thank you so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Yummy! I've changed my mind--from now on, THIS will now be the Sloppy Joe recipe I make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Exactly what I remember them being like as a child. Thanks so much!! The house smelled so good while these were cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      I'm not a fan of crock pot cooking, but this is a great recipe. My 11-year-old who hates sloppy joes liked them. The only change I made was to use a poblano pepper rather than a green bell pepper to add a little heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Wonderful! My husband loves sloppy joes and this recipe is perfect for our taste.Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Super delicious. Mimi in Maine's photo shows perfectly how this recipe turns out. I followed the direction with the exception of cutting way back on the green pepper. I put in just a few very small pieces of chopped green pepper. It has an old-fashioned sloppy joe flavor. I will make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Throw all your other sloppy joe recipes away, this is by far the best one you'll ever make. I didn't make it in crockpot, just made on stovetop and simmered for about an hour and still super. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I haven't had sloppy joes in years, and I'm happy to find this recipe. It's a good summer meal - letting the crockpot do the cooking. The flavors are very good, and the meat is juicy and tender. I will make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This really hit the spot... it wasn't too sweet or too tangy. Just the right mixture of ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    40%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1147.1 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes