15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i was raised on homemade sloppy joes - never canned stuff! This is even better than my grandma's! Me and my boyfriend make all the time, the only thing we change is doing brown sugar instead of regular and dijon mustard instead of yellow. oh, and all these people saying it tastes like manwich are crazy! manwich sucks, this recipe is awesome.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xxcookiecutterxx July 30, 2010

I usually don't like Sloppy Joes. I came to the conclusion due to this website that I dont like Manwich or seasoning out of a packet. This is the second one I have tried off this website. I liked it but made one change, I added some vinegar. I needed too to off set the sweetness from the sugar. Next time I would definitely put in less sugar or none. My daughter asked for Sloppy Joes and I made a scrunch face, but this I would eat again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel April 16, 2013

This was really good. I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. I didn't use chili powder or green pepper either. I also added about 1/2 tsp of minced garlic instead of a pinch. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandiNDJ May 19, 2010

I multiplied this recipe by 5 to serve at a church dinner. It was a real hit. The only thing I would maybe do next time is cut down on the sauce a little. Like another reviewer, I had to spoon quite a bit of liquid off, and I didn't even add all the water it called for. Overall though, these Sloppy Joes got rave reviews from everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleyann12 May 04, 2010

This got mixedd reviews at our house. No-one but myself was brought up with slopy joe's, so I thought I'd try this stellar reviewed version on my little family. My husband enjoyed, hence the four stars, but the kids didn't like it, and turned out despite a couple fond memories, i'm not a big fan either. To be fair, if you like sloppy joe's - this is a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ange du soleil November 02, 2009

We really enjoyed this. I made a substitution: didn't have enough ketchup, so added half of a small can of tomato paste. As others mentioned, it was pretty much like Manwich (which I like a lot)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky October 28, 2009

It's got that classic taste and was easy to make. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and doubled the chili powder. Also doubled the whole recipe for a family of 4. That made about the right amount with a small side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mark-junk September 23, 2009

This recipe makes extremely good sloppy joes. The first time I made sloppy joes without using a canned sauce, I used Detweiler's recipe, but had to add a lot of ingredients to add flavor. This recipe has all of those ingredients included in it, so it is a better recipe IMHO. I did add extra Worcestershire sauce and used brown sugar instead of white. I also added some vinegar to the mixture because I like my sloppy joes more tangy. I will definitely use this recipe again and again! *addition* I just wanted to come back and say that I have made this recipe so many times, I can't even count. I actually get a craving for these sloppy joes. Try this, I promise you won't ever want the canned sauce again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys July 21, 2009

I used this for ground venison and thought it tasted pretty close to Manwich from what I remember. Kiddos liked it so will use again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* June 26, 2009
Sloppy Joe Meat