Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sloppy Joe Meat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sloppy Joe Meat

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2010

      i was raised on homemade sloppy joes - never canned stuff! This is even better than my grandma's! Me and my boyfriend make all the time, the only thing we change is doing brown sugar instead of regular and dijon mustard instead of yellow. oh, and all these people saying it tastes like manwich are crazy! manwich sucks, this recipe is awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      I usually don't like Sloppy Joes. I came to the conclusion due to this website that I dont like Manwich or seasoning out of a packet. This is the second one I have tried off this website. I liked it but made one change, I added some vinegar. I needed too to off set the sweetness from the sugar. Next time I would definitely put in less sugar or none. My daughter asked for Sloppy Joes and I made a scrunch face, but this I would eat again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

    • on May 19, 2010

      This was really good. I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. I didn't use chili powder or green pepper either. I also added about 1/2 tsp of minced garlic instead of a pinch. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I multiplied this recipe by 5 to serve at a church dinner. It was a real hit. The only thing I would maybe do next time is cut down on the sauce a little. Like another reviewer, I had to spoon quite a bit of liquid off, and I didn't even add all the water it called for. Overall though, these Sloppy Joes got rave reviews from everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This got mixedd reviews at our house. No-one but myself was brought up with slopy joe's, so I thought I'd try this stellar reviewed version on my little family. My husband enjoyed, hence the four stars, but the kids didn't like it, and turned out despite a couple fond memories, i'm not a big fan either. To be fair, if you like sloppy joe's - this is a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. I made a substitution: didn't have enough ketchup, so added half of a small can of tomato paste. As others mentioned, it was pretty much like Manwich (which I like a lot)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      It's got that classic taste and was easy to make. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and doubled the chili powder. Also doubled the whole recipe for a family of 4. That made about the right amount with a small side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This recipe makes extremely good sloppy joes. The first time I made sloppy joes without using a canned sauce, I used Detweiler's recipe, but had to add a lot of ingredients to add flavor. This recipe has all of those ingredients included in it, so it is a better recipe IMHO. I did add extra Worcestershire sauce and used brown sugar instead of white. I also added some vinegar to the mixture because I like my sloppy joes more tangy. I will definitely use this recipe again and again! *addition* I just wanted to come back and say that I have made this recipe so many times, I can't even count. I actually get a craving for these sloppy joes. Try this, I promise you won't ever want the canned sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I used this for ground venison and thought it tasted pretty close to Manwich from what I remember. Kiddos liked it so will use again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Well, let me just say that I usually use a different Zaar sloppy joe recipe. But tonight, I gave this one a try because I didn't have all the ingredients for the other, but I had them all for this one. Boy, am I glad I did!!! This was just tangy enough, and yet still sweet enough. My family said, hands-down, they loved this recipe much more and to stop using the other. So congrats, dontfencemein!!! This recipe is being added to the rotation. Thanks for a great keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This is a great recipe! Will be made over and over again in this house. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      So good - the flavour is excellent - everyone loved and will make it again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I love this recipe! My family was extremely happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Made this for PAC Spring 08 Yum! This was really good! I think next time I will double the recipe 1lb was not enough for my family. Really tasty! Will make again! Also it's very fast to put together! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sloppy Joe Meat

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.7
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    49%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1375.8 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes