8 Reviews

Yummy pretty healthy snack. I tried this both with leftover baked acorn squash and with canned pumpkin. The baked acorn squash version was 5 stars. To me with the canned pumpkin it was 4 stars. I use Balkan (thick) yogurt. With the canned pumpkin I felt I needed to add more real maple syrup but I think it was because it was the thin type I used. The acorn squash had the perfect amount of sweetness as stated yet I used a thicker version of real maple syrup. I used chopped walnuts each time. I will make this again if I have left over baked squash, thick maple syrup and I would like to try toasting my walnuts next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 14, 2010

I make this all the time for breakfast! It's so delicious and filling!! I typically just use an individual, single-serving sized yogurt (I like vanilla) and then add a bunch of pumpkin. I probably end up using more pumpkin than yogurt. Sometimes I add the cinnamon but I rarely add the maple syrup or nuts. Using vanilla yogurt makes this sweet enough without the syrup and I don't like the consistency of nuts in yogurt. I usually split this in half then for 2 breakfasts. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee September 14, 2010

Yummy. There needs to be more recipes like this for pumpkin besides the usual pie and cheesecake. Next time will try this with ginger!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smcsf11 January 20, 2010

This is a yummy, creamy healthy dessert. I used it as a dip to go with Gaia22's Anyday Louisiana Biscuits using sunflower seeds in place of the walnuts (due to an allergy). All in all very enjoyable, but next time I think Ill add some more cinnamon. Thanks so much for sharing with us, JB! Made and reviewed for Edn8 Make my Recipe in the Australian Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 28, 2009

This was very satisfying. I mixed the pumpkin, maple syrup, and cinnamon together placed in Sunday bowl and topped with vanilla yogurt and nuts to make a health Sunday. Will make next time I get the late night munchies. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 09, 2009

This was good! Healthy, and satisfying. I used sugarfree maple syrup, and added a bit of splenda to make sweeten it a bit. I also toasted my walnuts to give them more flavor. I might try it with cottage cheese instead of plain yogurt next time. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AwShucks November 15, 2008

This was really good...I used Dannon light n' fit vanilla yogurt instead of the plain yogurt, sugar free maple flavored syrup because I didn't have the real stuff, and pecans. It reminded me so much of pumpkin pie without the guilt!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Doeinck November 06, 2008

Okay, I love pumpkin pie and many other pumpkin dishes, but this was awful! I couldn't even get myself to eat a second bite! This was dumped out and now I need to go make some pumpkin muffins with the leftover canned pumpkin that I did not use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids April 06, 2010
Slimming Pumpkin Snack