Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slammin' Salmon Crunchy Cakes With Gayla Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slammin' Salmon Crunchy Cakes With Gayla Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2013

      I made the recipe exactly as it stands. It worked perfectly, except that the salmon cakes threatened to fall apart in the pan -- but did not. I talked them out of it. I made the sauce exactly as set out. What we liked about this recipe (because there are so many salmon patties and salmon cakes recipes) was that these cakes tasted of salmon ... most others have so much boiled potato or breadcrumbs that the real salmon taste is completely lost. The only sub I did was to use chopped, canned South African peppadew/piquante peppers instead of red bell pepper. (It is really a piquant taste!) Thank you, Potscrubber, for a recipe I will certainly use again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I did not make the gayla sauce just the salmon cakes. This was a huge hit and I doubled the recipe. Loved the different flavors and have been told this is the only way they want to eat them from here on out!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Took a couple liberties to veganize this recipe (well minus the salmon, which is too good in the Northwest to pass up on), but it still turned out fantastic. Substitutions included Vegenaise, Ener-G egg replacer, adding in an extra tablespoon of bread crumbs (seemed a little too moist) and using Emeril's Essence creole seasoning instead of Old Bay seasoning. I didn't have any capers so my Gayla sauce consisted of Vegenaise, lemon juice, dijon mustard, black pepper, and crushed red pepper...so tasty! Can't wait to make this for my hubby when he gets home in September:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      We had this last night. I made as written. It was wonderful. The sauce made it over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I really wanted to like this recipe because of all the good hits it got, but in the end, they were just OK. I had made up the ingredients and chilled really well before I made the patties. They were so moist that there was no way that they were going to stay together and they ended up breaking up while cooking. I would do this recipe again, but I would watch the amount of wet ingredients that is going in to the pot. I have alot of huge salmon steaks in my freezer, so I will play around with this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      These were very very tasty and an inexpensive alternative to crab cakes (which we love). I was out of capers so I didn't technically make the "Gayla Sauce" but used all the other ingredients and part of a grated cucumber and some old Bay seasoning as well - so it was sort of a lemon-dill-cucumber sauce which we liked alot! Thanks for posting! PS - I used 1/3 cup as a measurement guide and got exactly four cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Update: This is still to date THE BEST Salmon Cakes I have EVER laid a lip on! WTG my dear Potsie! You are one AMAZING PERSON! origina review...OH MY GRAVY! This is DIVINE! Slammin' indeed! My dear you have a WINNER here in this gem of a recipe! Spicy and yummy and crunchy and DEEEELISH! This is going right into my KEEPERS cookbook and I promise I will be making this again! LOVE LOVE LOVE the deep flavors that run all through this easy recipe! This is so FAB! I LOVE that this uses stuff that can be found in my pantry just about any old day! This is PERFECT for those days when I have been RUNNING everywhere and had no time to even think about taking something out for supper! Who needs take out? This is FAR SUPERIOR and just as fast! I would not change a darn thing here! Thank you so much for sharing this divine dish with us! HUGE HUGE HUGS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Tonight I think I was reinacting 'Ramsey's Kitchen Nightmares'! I wanted something quick and tasty for our dinner and came across this recipe. I made the sauce but only had 4 Tbsp of mayo....no worries, I'll make less sauce. It does pay to read the entire recipe first because I had not noticed that more mayo was required. YIKES! So back to the main section where I found recipe 71967 for homemade mayo. Cool...made the mayo (great btw) but would advise others NOT to peer into the hole of the blender while trickling in the oil. It may be a great hair conditioner but my contact lenses did not like it! Went back and augmented the sauce with the mayo that had not coated my hair and face and had enough left to proceed with this recipe. I KNEW I had a box of Panko but could not find it. Called my neighbour, dressed for minus 13 degree temps and hopped the fence to her house where the best she had was pretty generic breadcrumbs. Got home, ripped off boots, gloves and hat and found DH standing there with a smile on his face and the Panko that HE had put away acres from where it is supposed to live. Snarled at the nearest dog (displacement as DH does not like snarls) and carried on. Served it with garlic smashed red potato and some corn I had frozen this summer. A glass of wine for DH and a bottle with a straw for me! Great Salmon cakes and sauce! It took about 90 minutes for the process including road trips, mayo making and a shampoo so not as quick as I had hoped but delicious. I think the uncooked filling minus the egg could be my new salmon salad sandwich recipe too. Thanks for theiving and posting Pot Scrubber. Will make it many times I'm sure but hopefully minus the chaos. BTW skipped the dill as I loathe it and made it with Red Sockeye salmon as that is what I generally buy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      WOW - hey Potsie - Jim and I had these tonight. I am married to a fisherman who thinks the only fish worth eating are straight from the ocean and they still have a pulse as he takes out their fillet. After eating this tonight - he just looked at me and said " you can make these again" - Now I have to tell you - with a review like that from Jim - you will just slide into heaven whenever you depart this earth - you are a shoe in:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      MAKE THESE! Crunchy and light and just a yummy sauce. I worried for a minute that they would fall apart in the pan, but it didn't happen. I omitted the dill as preference and upped the cayenne and mionced garlic. The sauce is lovely and would be great on sandwiches too! Made for Daffy Daffodils Canada ZWT Challenge

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      There were really great! I only wish they had less mayo in them. I made them exactly as written but pumped up the cayenne in the cakes and added some hot sauce to the sauce. I'll be making these again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      My DH and I both enjoyed this yummy recipe! I did use a large egg, so added a few more breadcrumbs. I didn't have any corn flakes, so used cheerios! Thanks for a good dinner! Served with cole slaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      I grew up on my Grandmother's Salmon cakes and now I make them for me and DH all the time. Mine never come out quite the same twice so I decided to give this recipe a try and I'm sure glad I did! They were delicious. I did not have the corn flakes so I increased the breadcrumbs but it didn't matter they were crispy on the outside and moist and flavorful on the inside. The sauce just makes these so don't leave that part out! Thanks for a great recipe its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Delicious! I usually use the freshest salmon available for salmon cakes, but this time I used a can of Wild Alaskan King Salmon. I was not disappointed. I did not add the seasoning salt and I used the egg whites that I had leftover from another recipe instead of a whole egg. The patties were easy to handle, firm, and had a great texture. I also used package cornflake crumbs that were already pulverized. I placed the cakes in hot oil and flipped them once. Easy as one, two, three! The sauce is a great pairing and I can see why you snagged the recipe and included it! I used homemade mayo in the sauce... ohhh sooo good! I served the salmon cakes with Emeril Lagasse's Coleslaw and Baked Potatoes With Shallot-Corn Butter (both recipes on Zaar). Thank you Pottsie! Outstanding Salmon Cakes and a perfect dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      I am not sure what happened with these. The only changes I made in the directions were to use green bell peppers instead of the red and fresh dill for the dried. I had difficulty keeping them together and thought they needed additional breadcrumbs to bind the moist mixture together. Also, these were way to salty for us. I am sorry, I picked this recipe because I love salmon and salmon cakes are a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      These were awesome :) even the kids like them!!! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slammin' Salmon Crunchy Cakes With Gayla Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.1
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    36%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 90.0 mg
    30%
    Sodium 522.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes