92 Reviews

First off -IGNORE the photo! Not what skyline chili even looks like, but the taste is great if you follow some of the suggestions to BOIL the beef and serve with finely shredded cheddar. Don't think of it as chili, it is a sauce that goes on noodles... or dogs, if you are going to go for liners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather D. July 08, 2015

This recipe says to brown and drain ground beef? True Skyline (Cincinnati Chili) boil the ground beef during cooking, then chill covered overnight and skim the fat the next day. Also Skyline has no chili powder in it's recipe. A point of emphasis made by it's Greek inventor back in the '40's according to the article I read with him when Skyline first opened it's doors. If done the original way, you can't give this enough STARS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul May 27, 2015

OMG!!! I'm in heaven!!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I took the advice of others and cooked the meat in the broth and it is stunning! I love Skyline chili, and this tastes just like it. WOW.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluelamp28 April 26, 2015

I was a bit skeptical of this recipe, but I liked that it didn't have beans. Turns out we loved it! The blend of cocoa and spices is perfect. I served it on gluten-free spaghetti with shredded cheddar and green onions piled on top. I plan on making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks April 14, 2015

This was delicious. We don't get Skyline here in the UK, so I was just looking forward to a really great chili! I've heard so much about putting chocolate in chili and I've been meaning to try it for ages, I hadn't got round to it until I made this, but now I have I'm converted! It gives a real depth of flavour and richness! I used very lean ground beef, so there was no need to skim the fat, but I still couldn't stop tasting bits as it cooked! We served ours with rice and it went down a treat. Will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog April 02, 2015

It's a good recipe but I don't care for the cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. The cinnamon I don't mind so much but the allspice and cloves do seem to overpower the flavor of everything else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet Schmauss March 31, 2015

Fantastic! One of my go-to recipes. Always a crowd pleaser.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Media Magic Momma January 18, 2015

I admit it has been many years since I've had Skyline Chili, but this tasted exactly as I remembered it, even without the garlic and onions (which I am allergic to). Other than leaving those out, I kept all the ingredients the same. I did follow other reviewers' advice and cooked the meat in the stock for about 30 minutes, then added everything else and simmered it for an hour. It took all of 10 seconds for my immersion blender to finely grind the beef. Served over spaghetti noodles with finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top. Oh my! Was it delicious! My husband has never had Skyline and loved it and I was beyond thrilled to have found such a great copycat. My small children gobbled it up as well. Will certainly make again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kllywlmt December 17, 2014

As most, Lived in Cincy, love Skyline and have it whenever in town visiting family. This is an Awesome recipe for those of us unable to run to the local restaurant!! A Food processor for the meat and onion is a MUST in order to get the correct consistency when plating. Great job T. Ali!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schmooks99 November 16, 2014

We love this recipe. I mix enough of the dry ingredients for 3 batches so I don't have to start from scratch every time. A label on the jar tells me how much to use - 1/2 cup.<br/><br/>We used fettuccine noodles the last time and liked that better. Also, we use sour cream along with the cheese. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherierandall September 14, 2014
Skylike Chili - Skyline Chili Copycat