Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skunk Deodorizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skunk Deodorizer

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2003

      I have a giant breed dog that took skunk spray at ground zero in the face and chest. This recipe WORKS!! Use it like a shampoo-- apply to wet dog, lather well and let sit 5 minutes and then make sure to rinse thoroughly. There was no skunk odour left when we were done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      We had to use this recipe once again last night for our mini poodle. It works great. I keep a de-skunking "kit" handy so can respond quickly, since this happens 2-3 times/yr. Next time I'm going to try Baby Shampoo as the "soap" since Duchess always gets it right in the eyes and nose. Once the dog is dry, I spritz her coat with a moisturizing detangler spray & brush thoroughly, so I have not had any problem with her skin suffering from the treatment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I have personally used this recipe - double it for dogs up to 40 pounds and triple it for over 55 pounds. If your dog is a retriever or retriever mix you may need more. Sponge it in, get it to the skin and let it sit for a few minutes. What a life saver! I am now keeping the ingredients in my dog box for emergencies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      The peroxide is not good for the dogs skin. I know someone who used this, and the dogs skin actually dried out really bad, and they ended up at the vet for it. It took along time for the coat to come back as well. It also does not take the smell out. Your best bet is to call the vet for instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Wow - this works great. My little Toy Poodle and my Bichon decided to play with a striped black kitty. Needless to say they didn't smell very good, but after a bath in this, they smell pretty good. Forgot to add, I heated this in the microwave so my furbabies didn't have to have a "cold" bath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This works wonders! We applied and let sit for 20 min. Our dog is now happy and back in the house!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      My dogs got skunked for the second time in 2 weeks tonight. This recipe is miraculous! I let it sit for a bit before rinsing. I also keep bottles of hydrogen peroxide and boxes of baking soda in my laundry room so I'm prepared. Thank you so much for posting this Claire

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      My dog, Popcorn, got sprayed last night. This is the same formula that my vet recommended and it works beautifully. I can't say the smell is completely gone but it's certainly mostly gone. I've just given her a final rinse with vinegar and water in hopes of reducing the last vestiges of eau de skunk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! Last night around 11 our dog Lacy the attacked a skunk last night and was fully sprayed, as in saturated. She got into the house and managed to roll on the living room rug and my bed before I caught her. I made a batch; 1/2 for Lacy, 1/2 for my bed linens. Am making batch #2 for the rug. This stuff is miraculous! I used Ivory Soap (2T)and let it sit on the dog for 10-15 minutes before rinsing off. Thanis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      It is with regret that I have to tell you I had to USE your recipe this morning! It works like magic! I had to use double the amount because my Libby got fully sprayed! I had read too that white (basic) toothpaste applied like a paste afterwards helps with any leftover smells. Now my dog is clean and minty fresh! Now I just have to deal with the rest of the house! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      While out walking this morning, one of the dogs didn't get fully sprayed but enough that you could smell him in the house. Found your recipe and applied it to him with a cloth and couldn't believe how easy this is without having to give a bath and no more smell. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I use a very similar recipe for when my huskies get skunked. We try to leave it on for 5 minutes before rinsing out and washing with regular dog shampoo. 20 oz hydrogen peroxide 3/4 cup baking soda 2 squirts of liquid dish soap The baking soda doesn't all go into solution but the paste helps too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I got this recipe from the vet. It worked like a charm on the dog and on the various surfaces and pieces of clothing he came in contact with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      I got this recipe from my vet when my brave little beagle wanted that intruder out of the yard. Had to do it a couple times(both were really stinky) I use it to whiten their white spots from time to time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      It works. NOTE. You must make it up as you need it. It cannot. I repeat cannot be stored.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      i too have not had to use this (yet) and i hope i dont but have bottles of it now made up in the event my dogs get sprayed by the new skunk family that just moved in. thank you so much for posting. i dont know how i'd manage without this as our 130 pound shepherd wont get in the car to go to the vet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      Thank you SO SO much for posting this recipe. My dog got sprayed early this am and, thank God, I remembered that 'Zaar offered some potions. Did a quick search on "skunk" and this was the one I found. The great reviews encouraged me to give it a whirl. It worked just great on the dog and, later, my smelly hands. I also soaked the dog's collar in the solution & that also seems to have worked (will see tomorrow). You are a lifesaver, Claire de Luna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      This DOES work... (tomato juice did not work at all) She still had a bit of a smell on her head, but she was sprayed full on in the face, literally soaked, so I'm not sure ANYTHING could have totally gotten it out. Since I have a skunk that lives in my back yard, I have the ingredients for this stocked in my bathroom cabinet. Incidentally, the skunk odor removers I bought at the pet store didn't work either, so save yourself some money and try this first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      Your recipe was a life saver. When walking my dog he gave me a scare when he happened to grab a skunk and wouldn't let go of it. Needless to say he was totally doused. Once I regained my composure I remembered reading your recipe. I gave him two shampooings with it and the scent was nearly gone. Thanks Claire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      I also live at a lake and have used this same recipe for deskunking my little corgi and it works!!!!! Be sure the peroxide is 3%. Wilma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skunk Deodorizer

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15329.2 mg
    638%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hydrogen peroxide

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes