Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skinny Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skinny Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2008

      Very good! Boiled the potatoes in vegetable broth, drained the potatoes, and then added broth back in when mashing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I have made these twice now and I absolutely LOVE them! Reserving the chicken broth and using it to mash the potatoes instead of butter and milk or cream is just phenominal! The last time I made them, I stirred in Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix to taste (about a Tablespoon) and had the best ranch potatoes I've EVER had...and because it has dried buttermilk powder in it, there is no reason to add sour cream, so I stayed true to your skinny recipe! They also look "buttery" if you start with yukon gold potatoes. I just can't believe there is a delicious, healthy way to eat potatoes! Thanks so much!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      We've made these a couple of times now, and they are great! We don't peel the potatoes. This adds fiber and the nutrients that are found in the skin. I also add 2 tablespoons of light Smart Balance Spread. However, I could leave that out to further reduce the calories and the potatoes would still taste great. Also, do not add the broth all at one time. Different types of potatoes need more or less liquid. Also, salt your potatoes when they are cooking to get more flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Wonderful recipe, especially being low in fat. Some suggestions to help benefit others: Do not add all the liquid at once. Pour in as needed and once you find the consistency to your liking, DO NOT add anymore liquid. I boiled about 5-6 potatoes as I was making just a small batch for my husband's dinner and added as much liquid as I thought necessary.They came out great. I added Vegeta seasoning to give the dish a more potent taste. Next time I will boil the potatoes in broth first to add even more flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      made these an hour ago. DELISH! i added about 3/4 can of broth and 1 tbs smart choice and it tasted just like the taters i eat at my turkey day feasts that are swimming in butter. i will make again. soon. maybe tomorrow for work this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Unbelievable how good it can be without any cream/butter. It was very yummy. Thanks Hope :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Wanted to love these, just couldn't get on board. For myself, it was too much liquid for the potatoes. I guess maybe I had bigger pieces when measuring, but did 8 cups of potatoes and 12 oz of broth. Didn't look appealing, and we didn't enjoy the taste, just blah. Giving three stars though, because my toddlers actually liked them - only mashed potatoes THEY have ever liked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Love these and so tasty even if they are low fat; my DH didn't even notice there no butter,just coomented that they were very good. Thanks for psoting. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Lower in fat is good, and since I am on a "Watching the pounds" kick this did the trick, and they weren't bad tasting either!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I made these to go with fried chicken and gravy. (thought i could save afew calories with the potatoes.) these tasted very good. DD didn't think these would turn out but she was pleasantly suprised. What a wonderful substitution for the mild and butter. thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Love the fact that this is lower in fat. I left the peels on the taters and added tbsp of butter when smashing. Very, very good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      My hubby made this recipe for you mama, since I was sick and couldn't eat. And he really liked them! He only used 2 potatoes, and made 1 cup chicken boullion instead of broth because we didn't have any. But that worked just fine! They didn't need any more salt he said (because of the salt in the boullion), but he did add tons of pepper on top just because that's the way he likes them! LOL! (He also put lots of butter on top, but I think he earned it! ;) LOL!) Thanks so much for a great, easy recipe!! :) Much appreciated!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Simply delicious, very healthy alternative to butter, milk and sour cream. I will admit though, that I added a tiny bit of garlic plus seasoning to spice it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Great healthy alternative to my usual mashed potatoes which include sour cream and cream cheese! I used the chicken broth with garlic in it, and it was too much garlic for us. Next time I'll just use regular chicken broth, and it'll be just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Guess what? My meat and potatoes guy loved these! So I didn't feel the need to mention the lack of butter or milk! (Of course, he still had to put gravy on them...!) I served these with Crispy Baked Chicken Strips and fresh corn for a perfect "comfort-food" meal! Thanks, Mama's Kitchen! We'll be having these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I used this more as a concept rather than directly copying the recipes because there are only two of us and I needed far less than 10 servings. I am a big fan of making comfort food guilt free and you have accomplished that. I steamed my potatoes in my electric steamer and them mashed them by using my potato ricer. I also went for the option of crumbling in a bit of a chicken stock cube and it was a bit like getting gravy infused mashed. I will be doing this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Excellent! I didn't use much of the broth, but it tasted wonderful and I love the lower calories. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      IMHO there was WAY too much liquid for the amount of potatoes and adding liquid to them in the first place waters them down too much for me. I found them to be unflavorful so I took ColCadsMom's advice and added some ranch seasoning. Still didn't do the trick for me so ended up adding 2 tbsp sour cream anyway. Oh, well, I guess some of us are just stuck in our ways. The kids loved them tho and DH liked them but felt they were too mushy. Maybe I'll try it one more time but with bouillon since it tends to have more seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      A nice change from the regular mashed spuds....use a good chicken stock here and you will not be disappointed. Reviewed for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      So good and so healthy - I used low sodium chicken broth and no salt and they were soooooo good. I was also pleasantly suprised at how rich they tasted. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skinny Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    88%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 140.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes