Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Taco Macaroni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Taco Macaroni

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2012

      This recipe is pretty good. I love that it doesn`t use packaged taco seasoning. I agree with others that it needs a bit of changes to be amazing. I will play around with it and am sure it will end up on my keeper list. Thanks for the great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I thought this was an amazing meal. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This was just okay, it was missing something. It has potential but it needs more flavor and it doesn't taste anything like tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This made a nice lunch for us. I used a container of cooked and seasoned ground chuck (with carrots and tomatoes) from my freezer stash and followed the recipe starting with adding the tomatoe sauce. It went together in a flash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This dish has a lot of potential. I didn't have ground sirloin, so I just used what I had in the fridge which was ground turkey. Overall I was impressed with how well the noodles cooked all together. It seems to be missing some "zing" to it. I think it is a very hearty meal, but I might try some more seasonings next time and maybe add black beans or corn to it. Overall, it was a tasty meal. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      It didn't have the flavor I was expecting. I would cook the noodles seperately and add more seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Going into this I had two questions: would everything REALLY fit into a skillet? and Is it REALLY a good idea to put uncooked macaroni in this? Yes and yes. This was really a delicious, easy dinner. Like an upscale hamburger helper. I did end up having to add some flour to thicken up the sauce. I also used cellentani noodles (which are like curly-cue elbow noodles). That fancied things up a bit :D Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      You have a very good recipe. Just a veggie and dinner is done. I followed your recipe just as you have posted. However I had to add about 1/4 cup of water. Next time I think I will decrease the Macaroni to 2 1/2 Cups. But hats off to you for a very good tasting meal. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      My husband and boys love stuff like this so it is going into the make again file. Thanks Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      loved it, made a few minor changes (medium onion, no cilantro, and a cheese blend of american, cheddar and mozzerella) but I ate THREE helpings last night and am having leftovers for lunch. love the spice! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

    • on June 08, 2008

      This was very good and very easy to make. The ingredient list looks long but it's very easy to put together. I followed the recipe except added a little less cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This was really quite good and super simple to make on a busy weeknight. I did use whole wheat macaroni so it took about 3 minutes longer to cook. I also used 5 clvoes of fresh garlic and added it after I cooked the meat and cooked it a bit. I used fresh cilantro as well, skipped the salt and used 1 heaping teaspoon of cumin. I also added some red pepper flakes. We added the cheese and the milk but in the future we will probably skip this step as we didn't think the extra fat was worth the taste difference - it was delicious before adding the milk and cheese. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This is so good, you simply must try it! I left out the pepper also, used one teaspoon of garlic and one teaspoon of cumin. I also used a finely shredded Tex-Mex cheese blend that I get at Costco. I was afraid that there wouldn't be enough liquid to cook that much macaroni, so I reduced the pasta to two cups and it was just about right. Next time, I think I will add an additional 6 ounces of water, since Rotel is only a 10 oz can. Parsley, this was terrific! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I was a little skeptical about this one, but I was wrong! I will make it often becuase of the easy ingredients and short prep. I didnt add the cayenne since my 7 year old hates " when things make his tongue burn". The Rotel made it plenty spicy for us. I used 1 1/2lbs beef and added in a can of corn undrained. It was the perfect consistency. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      My boys LOVED this. My youngest ate THREE helpings! He told me this was the best meal I have made in a long time :) I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the cayenne pepper as I don't like things too spicy. For me, I thought it was still a bit spicy, the rest of my family told me I was a whimp (which I am when it comes to hot and spicy LOL). I also used Dreamfield pasta and dried onion flakes instead of the small onion. I also stayed on the safe side and used 1/2 tsp of cumin- I figured if it needed it - I could add later. This was very easy to put together after work. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Loved it! I couldn't stop eating it :) I followed recipe to a T, except cut everything in half and used whole wheat macaroni. Just spicy enough for me. Perfect! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      We really liked this. I omitted the dried cilantro, and used chili powder instead of cayenne pepper. My only recommendation would be to add a can of corn. Thanks for good, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was delicious! We have food sensitivities, so I substituted rice cheese, rice milk, ground turkey and brown rice elbo macaroni. With all of the substitutions I did not expect it to turn out as good as it did--it was great! I used a really good tomato sauce when I made this. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is really good, and my young children like it too, which is always a plus. The only thing I did different was to use my own taco seasoning mix instead of the spices. However, I had to switch everything to a dutch oven when i added the macaroni. There is NO way all this will fit in a skillet(unless you have a REALLY big one). It makes a TON of food, enough for 3 meals for DH and two preschoolers. Anyway, yummy and inexpesive......a defininate keeper! Added note: I made this again, but with diced cooked chicken instead of ground beef. Also delish that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Taco Macaroni

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.9
     
    Calories from Fat 215
    39%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 99.1 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1088.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites