46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband never said a word all the time we were eating dinner...don't worry, coming from him that means "this is da-- good" and I agree with him, for once.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive January 10, 2008

Oh my....this is so good. I love the sauce on these. The flavor combo was awesome. I will make this again and again. I like this recipe for the winter time and grilling isn't always easy. Thank you for another great recipe....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 07, 2008

I thought this was great. Only mistake was using yellow mustard - definately use dijon or only use 1tsp of yellow! The steaks werent cooked to par, and I think that we would have rather had them broiled in the oven than on a skillet. But my bf couldnt get enough of that onion/mushroom/sauce mixture! Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewCooker April 12, 2007

MizzNezz - I have to join the group and say that I may likely never make steaks any other way but this! This recipe is so easy and so delicious. I am not sure if it was the pan-frying or what, but I had a box of cheap frozen top sirloin steaks and decided to try this recipe. The steaks turned out so tender and everyone RAVED about the fabulous mushrooms/sauce. We like our steaks minus medium rare so I only cooked my steaks for 2 minutes on each side and did each steak in a separate pan individually. My daughter's boyfriend said these were the best steaks he had had anywhere for a long time. And with inexpensive steaks, we can have this often!! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks March 16, 2007

This recipe was perfect! It was so easy to make and only used up one pan. I used Grey Poupon for my dijon mustard and it gave a nice touch to the mushroom and onions topping. The steaks were cooked as directed and came out perfect--not too done and not too rare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshleyDillo February 01, 2007

We both really enjoyed this! I used a mix of portabella and white mushrooms. Per some of the reviews I also thickened up the gravy a little bit. I couldn't believe how quick and easy the recipe was and the steak turned out perfect!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxfan28 December 10, 2006

I used 1/2 cup of red wine in place of the beef broth and used baby portabellos. It gave it nice depth and complimented the mushrooms nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendelina December 03, 2006

You can be sure I left out the mushrooms (I used 3 small onions). And it was perfect. Such a great flavor. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise June 14, 2006

Thanks for a great way to fix steak without the grill. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio July 28, 2005

I give a 4 star rating for the sauces flavor,it did have a great taste!! however it was way too thin,even after trying to thicken it up with cream as some other reviewers suguested it wouldn't cling to steak as I would have liked,the steaks came out a bit tough but perhaps that was my fault. I truely did love the flavor of the sauce,,maybe I will try it again and try thickening it up with a rue next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie #5 July 10, 2005
Skillet Sirloin