11 Reviews

I liked this quite a bit. It did take a bit longer in my oven on broil, but not a problem. Had to sub corn for the carrots based on what I had. I agree with the reviewer who said this was a bit like a pasty without the crust. Think I'll add some garlic next time and mess with the seasonings a bit, but still a quick tasty weeknight dinner. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie October 27, 2011

I'm always on the lookout for a new way to use ground beef and I loved the idea of a shepherd's pie without crust & without mashed potatoes on the top. I came really close to not getting this made during the tour, but I'd bought hash browns specifically for it. I'm SO glad I did it! My family raved over it. I think that the simple addition of fresh thyme & Worcestershire to the broth gave the whole dish a unique flavor. I didn't have just peas & carrots, so we used a mix of carrots, green beans, corn & asparagus. This dish was so good it makes me wish I hadn't submitted my Best of Tour yet! DS (picky toddler) ate 3 helpings & then licked the serving spoon too! I didn't make this in one dish, as I wanted to freeze half of it. This recipe made two 9 inch square baking dishes & each one will feed the four of us. Thanks for sharing, Nan! Made & enjoyed for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** June 25, 2010

This reminded me of a pasty without the crust. It was easy to make and very filling. I used a 30 ounce bag of potatoes which worked perfect. Thanks for posting this all in one dish meal! Made for *ZWT 6* I'm on Team *Ya Ya Cookerhood*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 18, 2010

Very good and an extremely easy to prepare one-dish meal. I used 1 teaspoon dried thyme, substituted Bisto (British gravy maker) for the flour, and used frozen peas (no carrots). Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms February 28, 2010

5 stars of excellence!! The beef flavor really puts this recipe over the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wilfong October 12, 2009

I was very hesitant to try this recipe since I love classic shepherd's pie, but this is very good! The potatoes crisped up nicely in the oven and it tasted great! Thanks for a great new version! Will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakiegirljds January 14, 2009

Very yummy! FWIW, I did not like working with the hash brown potatoes. I think it would be just as easy and quick to use instant potatoes or the frozen mashed potatoes in the freezer section for the topping. Also, I added more Worcestershire sauce. Great recipe and thank you for sharing! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 November 09, 2008

This was a quick and easy substitute for Shepherd's pie. I used a mixed spring veg mix in place of the frozen peas and carrots and topped the hash browns with a bit of cheddar. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 08, 2008

AWESOME!! My whole family devoured this. My only suggestion is to make sure your pan is broiler safe! I managed to fill my kitchen with toxic fumes bkz the handles on the pan I used started to melt..oops. But the food was delicious with a wonderful gravy! No more tator tot casserole for my family. This is the new favorite!! (and I only used 1 lb. of ground beef, so I cut back on the onion a bit)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Ann D October 21, 2008
Skillet Shepherd's Pie