Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2011

      I liked this quite a bit. It did take a bit longer in my oven on broil, but not a problem. Had to sub corn for the carrots based on what I had. I agree with the reviewer who said this was a bit like a pasty without the crust. Think I'll add some garlic next time and mess with the seasonings a bit, but still a quick tasty weeknight dinner. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      I'm always on the lookout for a new way to use ground beef and I loved the idea of a shepherd's pie without crust & without mashed potatoes on the top. I came really close to not getting this made during the tour, but I'd bought hash browns specifically for it. I'm SO glad I did it! My family raved over it. I think that the simple addition of fresh thyme & Worcestershire to the broth gave the whole dish a unique flavor. I didn't have just peas & carrots, so we used a mix of carrots, green beans, corn & asparagus. This dish was so good it makes me wish I hadn't submitted my Best of Tour yet! DS (picky toddler) ate 3 helpings & then licked the serving spoon too! I didn't make this in one dish, as I wanted to freeze half of it. This recipe made two 9 inch square baking dishes & each one will feed the four of us. Thanks for sharing, Nan! Made & enjoyed for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This reminded me of a pasty without the crust. It was easy to make and very filling. I used a 30 ounce bag of potatoes which worked perfect. Thanks for posting this all in one dish meal! Made for *ZWT 6* I'm on Team *Ya Ya Cookerhood*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Very good and an extremely easy to prepare one-dish meal. I used 1 teaspoon dried thyme, substituted Bisto (British gravy maker) for the flour, and used frozen peas (no carrots). Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

    • on October 12, 2009

      5 stars of excellence!! The beef flavor really puts this recipe over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I was very hesitant to try this recipe since I love classic shepherd's pie, but this is very good! The potatoes crisped up nicely in the oven and it tasted great! Thanks for a great new version! Will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Very yummy! FWIW, I did not like working with the hash brown potatoes. I think it would be just as easy and quick to use instant potatoes or the frozen mashed potatoes in the freezer section for the topping. Also, I added more Worcestershire sauce. Great recipe and thank you for sharing! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This was a quick and easy substitute for Shepherd's pie. I used a mixed spring veg mix in place of the frozen peas and carrots and topped the hash browns with a bit of cheddar. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      AWESOME!! My whole family devoured this. My only suggestion is to make sure your pan is broiler safe! I managed to fill my kitchen with toxic fumes bkz the handles on the pan I used started to melt..oops. But the food was delicious with a wonderful gravy! No more tator tot casserole for my family. This is the new favorite!! (and I only used 1 lb. of ground beef, so I cut back on the onion a bit)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Very easy recipe and one I will be making again, I love the frozen hash brown topping on this. I didnt read the recipe well and only had 1 lb of ground sirlon , but everything else was the same as written. I had a 1kg bag of hashbrowns which is close to 8 cups but could only fit about 7 cups on the top. I used a 10 1/2 inch cast iron skillet and I thought it was a perfect size for this dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for the Beyond Burgers event in the photo cooking forum. Sept 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (832 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 899.3
     
    Calories from Fat 363
    40%
    Total Fat 40.3 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 18.1 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 146.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 836.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.4 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 45.2 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites