22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used my new KitchenAid stand up mixer to prep the dough. The dough required about 1/2 cup more water but that is probably due to the type of flour I used and not the recipe's fault. This was a good opportunity to use up leftovers from our New Year's Day lunch. I drizzled a little bit of olive oil on the crust, added some feta and Parmesan, sliced grape tomatoes, and a sprinkle of Greek oregano and red onion (basically a modified and glorified version of Queen Margherita)-all leftovers. After removing the mini pizzas from the oven they were garnished with fresh cilantro. Half of the remaining prepared crusts have been frozen. In a little over one hour we had a fantastic meal with lots of fresh ingredients and I was able to use up most of the leftovers. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 02, 2010

This is one good recipe. I got the full six pizzas but I think I'll roll it out to 6" or smaller. So much cheaper. I used to buy a frozen pizza for $8+. Now I make a few for that price. Thanks for posting. It's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption November 01, 2009

I made your recipe and it's so easy now to make a nice snack for the grandkids when they come home from school. I was so surprised with how good they really turned out. The kids loved them. I can now keep a supply of shells on hand for after-school snacks. A 15 oz can of pizza sauce is enough to cover the 8 pizzas. I made 2 shells today and divided and froze the remainder sauce to pull out of the freezer along with each shell. Great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal September 02, 2009

I just finished making these crusts and it's the first time I've ever used the skillet method. What a fun recipe to make with kids! For a little extra nutrition, I used half wheat flour but followed the rest of the recipe and they were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
campergirls3 August 27, 2009

Coming back to edit with some stars, as promised some time ago. This pizza crust was perfect for our family. We've made it once already and everyone enjoyed making their own pizzas. I even made focaccia out of my piece. I'll be making another 2 or 3 batches of this for the freezer to pull out for quick meals. I should say that I made the dough in my bread machine on the dough setting and I loved the texture of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen of Everything December 27, 2008

Great idea! I'm not giving this any stars, because I haven't actually tried the recipe yet. I did use the method though with the leftover dough I had from Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza Recipe (#70165). We haven't had the frozen pizza crusts yet, but they baked up nice (I think I could have even used them as pitas!), and I can't wait to make pizza's for dinner again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ba4Hire November 30, 2008

This is a fun recipe! We had it for dinner with no fights as to what toppings everyone wanted because we all got what we wanted. Wahoo! We just put the leftovers from the freezer in the oven for lunch today. As we were putting them together, my five-year-old said, "Hey, this is just like a Lunchable." You will get no finer compliment from him. ;-) My only hint is to note the number of yeast packets needed. This was my first time making pizza crusts, and I had no idea they needed so much yeast and almost misread the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palm715 July 19, 2008

I really liked this recipe. I have a 3 year old and he can now "make" his own pizza. I pull one of these out (I make lots of little indivicual ones as well as some adult sizes) of the freezer and he can top with his own sauce and cheese and toppings. He thinks its great. He helped me make the dough (I threw it all in the bread machine on automatic dough cycle) andto roll out the ..ahem..circles! Thank you for a great recipe. Edit: We did these for OAMC last night and I made the dough by hand and let my son cut out shapes using large cookie cutters. We now have pizzas in toddler size portions and in star, people and heart shapes, they're brilliant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkydelia July 17, 2008

So easy! My husband and son prefer thin crispy crusts, and my daughter and I prefer thicker, chewier crusts. So now I can make this and use a couple of personal-size shells for half the pizzas, and one regular shell for my daughter and me. Everyone gets what they want!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell May 26, 2008

This is definitely a quicker way of making pizza dough as the rising time and cooking time are shorter than the dough we usually make. Useful for when in a hurry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose April 16, 2008
Skillet Pizza Crust