Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Pizza Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Pizza Crust

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2010

      I used my new KitchenAid stand up mixer to prep the dough. The dough required about 1/2 cup more water but that is probably due to the type of flour I used and not the recipe's fault. This was a good opportunity to use up leftovers from our New Year's Day lunch. I drizzled a little bit of olive oil on the crust, added some feta and Parmesan, sliced grape tomatoes, and a sprinkle of Greek oregano and red onion (basically a modified and glorified version of Queen Margherita)-all leftovers. After removing the mini pizzas from the oven they were garnished with fresh cilantro. Half of the remaining prepared crusts have been frozen. In a little over one hour we had a fantastic meal with lots of fresh ingredients and I was able to use up most of the leftovers. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This is one good recipe. I got the full six pizzas but I think I'll roll it out to 6" or smaller. So much cheaper. I used to buy a frozen pizza for $8+. Now I make a few for that price. Thanks for posting. It's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I made your recipe and it's so easy now to make a nice snack for the grandkids when they come home from school. I was so surprised with how good they really turned out. The kids loved them. I can now keep a supply of shells on hand for after-school snacks. A 15 oz can of pizza sauce is enough to cover the 8 pizzas. I made 2 shells today and divided and froze the remainder sauce to pull out of the freezer along with each shell. Great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I just finished making these crusts and it's the first time I've ever used the skillet method. What a fun recipe to make with kids! For a little extra nutrition, I used half wheat flour but followed the rest of the recipe and they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Coming back to edit with some stars, as promised some time ago. This pizza crust was perfect for our family. We've made it once already and everyone enjoyed making their own pizzas. I even made focaccia out of my piece. I'll be making another 2 or 3 batches of this for the freezer to pull out for quick meals. I should say that I made the dough in my bread machine on the dough setting and I loved the texture of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Great idea! I'm not giving this any stars, because I haven't actually tried the recipe yet. I did use the method though with the leftover dough I had from Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza Recipe (#70165). We haven't had the frozen pizza crusts yet, but they baked up nice (I think I could have even used them as pitas!), and I can't wait to make pizza's for dinner again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This is a fun recipe! We had it for dinner with no fights as to what toppings everyone wanted because we all got what we wanted. Wahoo! We just put the leftovers from the freezer in the oven for lunch today. As we were putting them together, my five-year-old said, "Hey, this is just like a Lunchable." You will get no finer compliment from him. ;-) My only hint is to note the number of yeast packets needed. This was my first time making pizza crusts, and I had no idea they needed so much yeast and almost misread the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. I have a 3 year old and he can now "make" his own pizza. I pull one of these out (I make lots of little indivicual ones as well as some adult sizes) of the freezer and he can top with his own sauce and cheese and toppings. He thinks its great. He helped me make the dough (I threw it all in the bread machine on automatic dough cycle) andto roll out the ..ahem..circles! Thank you for a great recipe. Edit: We did these for OAMC last night and I made the dough by hand and let my son cut out shapes using large cookie cutters. We now have pizzas in toddler size portions and in star, people and heart shapes, they're brilliant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      So easy! My husband and son prefer thin crispy crusts, and my daughter and I prefer thicker, chewier crusts. So now I can make this and use a couple of personal-size shells for half the pizzas, and one regular shell for my daughter and me. Everyone gets what they want!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This is definitely a quicker way of making pizza dough as the rising time and cooking time are shorter than the dough we usually make. Useful for when in a hurry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      So sorry I forgot to review this! Have been making these for a few years now. Love them. I make lots and freeze them. They work out perfectly when my teens bring home unexpected guests. They always enjoy making their own pizzas. I sometimes sprinkle a little cornmeal on one side of the dough prior to frying it up in the pan. I just like the texture. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I never even attempted to make my own pizza crust before but this recipe was easy enough that even I could do it. I am watching what I eat and these will be good for a fairly low calorie and low fat personal pizza. We had two of them and froze the others for later. It was maybe a crispier crust than I would normally had but still much better than any 'diet' frozen pizza. I mixed half a tablespoon of oregano and half a tablespoon of basil into the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      These were so easy, I should have made double. Comes out to be a nice, not too thin but thin enough crust. I was going to make pita bread this week but this bread's consistency is perfect as a pita substitute. Mine didn't come out perfectly round at first but by the second one I started making an eight turn with every roll and that made them come out more circular. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      These were so easy and good. This is the first time I used yeast, and so I am very happy that these turned out really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This was really nice and my kids and I enjoyed it very much. Very easy and a great idea! I never would have thought of frying and freezing pizza dough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      this would be more than 5 stars in my book. So easy and taste grate. I did not have 3 pks of yeast so I used 2 pks of rapid rise and it worked out just fine. This is perfect for my kids. They can make there own toppings and enjoy. I may make them up ahead of time with the toppings and then freeze. That way they can just pop them in and presto...no more store pizza that taste like cardboard. Glad you shared:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      Great recipe, I love pizza, this recipe provided me with an easy way to make great pizza dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      I really liked this. It's the first time I've baked with yeast, and it came out perfectly. I even used 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of some of the white. I made 8 "personal pizza" sized crusts in a skillet, but felt they were still a bit doughy after being cooked only on one side.(after I fixed one with jarred tomato sauce and cheese) I put them all back in a 400 degree oven right on the racks for about 5 minutes. That seemed to finish the cooking. I then topped one with pesto and sliced fresh mozzerella. Wonderful, and VERY crispy! Can't wait to try other toppings. Thanks for a quick replacement for frozen pizza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      These were good and very quick to make. I do prefer the dough I usually make, though, as this one trades a little flavor for speed. I feel that a slow rise, especially an overnight retarding of the dough in the refrigerator, develops a more complex flavor. I also like a very crispy crust, which is easier to attain if the crusts are baked on a hot stone, as the stone pulls moisture from the dough. I used a skillet for the sake of following the recipe, but used a stone when I baked the topped pizzas (they did crispen up, but I don't think as much as if the dough is originally baked on the stone). I did vary the mixing instructions, since I used a food processor to mix and knead the dough. I went ahead and made the pizzas without freezing the crusts, but they would be very handy to keep on hand in the freezer. All this said, I do think this is a very worthwhile recipe, and the ease and speed may encourage those who've never made their own dough to do so. It is also very handy in the event you are wanting pizza, but don't have the advantage of having made the dough ahead of time. I like to grill pizzas when the weather is warm, so with summer approaching I'm sure I'll be making these again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Wonderful tasty easy pizza dough! I substituted a half cup whole wheat flour in for the same amount of flour, and used garlic salt in place of regular salt. After the pizza rounds were cool, I went ahead and sauced them all, added cheese and toppings, and flash froze. After the pizzas were frozen, I wrapped in plastic wrap and popped them into large freezer bags. Just last week I pulled out a couple, preheated the oven to 400, and baked right on the rack for 12 minutes. They came out INCREDIBLE! The crust was nice and crispy, the cheese and toppings just right....the ease of frozen pizza with the taste of homemade! I'll NEVER buy a supermarket frozen pizza again, now that I know how to make my own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Pizza Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.4
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    16%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 391.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites