Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Penne and Sausage Supper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Penne and Sausage Supper

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2013

      This was rich and creamy yet so easy! We used hot Italian pork sausage and drained the fat before adding the garlic. The only other sub we made was using kale instead of spinach. We are definitely adding this to our regular line up and can't wait to try it with regular Italian sausage too. Thanks for sharing! *****Update - made it again with spinach and a 50/50 blend of hot and regular Italian sausage....still delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      DH said this was awesome! This was so awesome. Easy!! I increased the garlic, used 1/2 cream 1/2 milk and threw in about 4 ounces of tomato paste. This will be made again and soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Wow! I thought this was a great recipe. I use a little extra milk and chicken broth to be sure I had plenty of sauce. I was surprised at how flavorful it was. Left overs were pretty good the next day too. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Excellent recipe. Great flavor. I adapted by using homemade Italian pork sausage. I also substituted tomato paste (roughly 3 T.) for the sun-dried tomatoes. Last, I added some quartered artichoke hearts I wanted to use up. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      I love this recipe. I got the America's Test Kitchen cookbook for Christmas and this was the 1st recipe I tried. I used cream instead of milk and like someone else I too browned my onions with the sausage. It's beautiful dish that people think you spent hours preparing! YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      This was a really tasty dish that was VERY easy to prepare. I used a mixture of hot and sweet pork sausage, added chopped red peppers (since my garden is overflowing with them), added a variety of spices and also added 1/4 cup of sherry wine. It turned out wonderfully! I agree that it did take about 15 minutes for my pasta to cook but I also used whole wheat. The whole family RAVED about this dish and not a single person complained about it having the "S-word" in it (spinach, that is). Thanks for posting! I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I did not brown the onions in the extra oil, I just browned them with the sausage. I also added green peppers and a few mushrooms because I had them but this was tasty and enthusiastically received by my DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Anything with sausage, pasta and cheese is a hit at our house. I already had some leftover cooked linguini, so I used that and didn't add the chicken broth. Also, use cream instead of milk. No spinach. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Super easy to put together and yummy too. I love that the pasta cooks in the skillet making less cleanup after. That is always a plus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Yummy! I adjusted this a little bit, as our family loves our veggies. while adding the pasta, broth and milk, I added some 1 orange & 1 green pepper and a couple handfuls of sliced mushrooms. It turned out very hearty, and very yummy with plenty of leftovers for lunches tomorrow (for the three of us). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is very flavourful but also very salty. I will take some responsibility on the saltiness as my chicken broth was not low sodium, next time it will be. I did add about a 1/2 cup of water as it looked like it needed more sauce. My sausage was not turkey and that may have made a diff. as well. I did have to drain some grease but that worked out ok. The other two people here didn't seem to notice the salt as much as I did. All in all, a very good dinner and one that we will try again. Thank you for sharing this very nice recipe. Made for 2010 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Was a little oily but that is because I didn't notice the note about Italian Sausage until the end. Otherwise excellent! I did find that the pasta took a lot longer to cook than 10 minutes but that could be because I used whole wheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I CANNOT believe I have not rated this recipe! I have made this countless times since I found it a few years ago! This is such a comfort food to me. First time I made it, it was for my sister and myself for our sister night (We used to have them once a month before the kiddies came along) and she absolutely loved it. I am working on my Christmas gifts right now (I am making a kitchen kit for all my friends including a recipe book with my favorite recipes) and this is being included. Thanks for sharing this delightful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This was pretty good. My husband had seconds so that's always the sign of something he really likes. I found it a little salty but I used better then bullion and I probably could have kept it to one cup and then a cup of water. I think next time I will reduce the amount of chicken broth and up the milk a little bit. I used dried sundried tomato as well, but I wish I would have softened them first as well because although they softened up the flavour could have been alot stronger. so my husband gave this 5 but I think it needs a couple of tweaks to be a 5 star. Thank you so much for the recipe! It's going into the rotation :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

    • on August 25, 2007

      This recipe has become one of my favorites! My husband and I both love it and I also made it for my parents, they were impressed. This is a keeper. Thanks for Sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      This was an excellent one-dish meal. Even my hubby enjoyed it and didn't even complain about the turkey (heart healthy) sausage. I found that the recipe as written was excellent, although I used one more link of sausage than called for and whole wheat penne pasta. Also I used sundried tomatoes that were just in a pouch and not in oil and they worked great and reconstituted during the cooking process. Also I added red pepper flakes for some heat. Overall this will be a meal that I will add to our every day favorites and plan to serve it to guests very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I made this with whole wheat pasta and chicken sausage. It was delicious and just right. It also reheats really well for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      Great recipe, my family all rated it very high,and requested to have at least once a month. I am going to double the amount of spinach next time since I just love spinach

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      I absolutely loved this! SO mudh so, that I made it for my entire, extended family at our reunion this month, and everyone there loved it too. So easy to make and I love the fact that I can squeeze in some tomato and spinach for my kids. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Penne and Sausage Supper

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.8
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    35%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 74.1 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1281.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites