9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was a really nice supper dish easy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 30, 2011

I really enjoyed this! I'm an okra fan, but don't often find new ways to prepare it. Instead of serving as a side dish, I decided to make this into a one-dish meal, and added about 1 1/2 cups of pulled pork that I had leftover from earlier in the week. I used a red pepper instead of green (don't like the green ones) and fresh tomato from my garden. The combination of lots of veggies and rice was very filling without being too heavy calorie wise- always a bonus! I thought this had plenty of flavor, although I did reseason with a bit of salt at the end. Next time I might bump the pepper sauce up as well, but that's just adjusting for personal taste. Thanks for a great dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 28, 2011

i hate green bell pepper, so i used a can of ro-tel tomatoes instead. no other substitutes. a good vegetable side dish and we really liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears November 17, 2006

This is a really easy & flavorful veggie crammed side dish. We loved it! Thanks, Paula!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo November 16, 2006

This was delicious, quick and easy to make. If you aren't a fan of Okra leave it out and make it anyway, this is soooo darned good. I did have to use frozen okra since my garden gave up the ghost too darned soon. Next time I make this the only thing I will change is to add a bit more red pepper sauce since I like a little more zing. Thank You for the recipe, I will be making this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 September 29, 2006

This was a nice way to use okra and I enjoyed it very much. The flavors blended really well. Thank you for posting! Made for ZWT9 and the Soup-A-Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood July 22, 2013

I am from the lowcountry of South Carolina. This could be passed off as a variation to our okra and rice/red rice dishes. We take our rice seriously in Charleston, SC. I am so going to serve this at our next covered dish dinner at church.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Fannie July 16, 2013

not a fan...very bland

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anidifrancofan July 22, 2007

Hated It!!!!!!!!!!!! I had to spiced it up alot. Will not be making this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msnikki8701 August 28, 2006
Skillet Okra and Rice