Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Okra and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Okra and Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2011

      this was a really nice supper dish easy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I really enjoyed this! I'm an okra fan, but don't often find new ways to prepare it. Instead of serving as a side dish, I decided to make this into a one-dish meal, and added about 1 1/2 cups of pulled pork that I had leftover from earlier in the week. I used a red pepper instead of green (don't like the green ones) and fresh tomato from my garden. The combination of lots of veggies and rice was very filling without being too heavy calorie wise- always a bonus! I thought this had plenty of flavor, although I did reseason with a bit of salt at the end. Next time I might bump the pepper sauce up as well, but that's just adjusting for personal taste. Thanks for a great dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      i hate green bell pepper, so i used a can of ro-tel tomatoes instead. no other substitutes. a good vegetable side dish and we really liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      This is a really easy & flavorful veggie crammed side dish. We loved it! Thanks, Paula!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      This was delicious, quick and easy to make. If you aren't a fan of Okra leave it out and make it anyway, this is soooo darned good. I did have to use frozen okra since my garden gave up the ghost too darned soon. Next time I make this the only thing I will change is to add a bit more red pepper sauce since I like a little more zing. Thank You for the recipe, I will be making this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This was a nice way to use okra and I enjoyed it very much. The flavors blended really well. Thank you for posting! Made for ZWT9 and the Soup-A-Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      I am from the lowcountry of South Carolina. This could be passed off as a variation to our okra and rice/red rice dishes. We take our rice seriously in Charleston, SC. I am so going to serve this at our next covered dish dinner at church.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      not a fan...very bland

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Hated It!!!!!!!!!!!! I had to spiced it up alot. Will not be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Okra and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    14%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 92.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes