10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We just finished eating and this was great. It had a really nice flavor. I will make this again and add some fresh parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingGuru December 18, 2008

Another fabulously delicious KITTENCAL recipe which we thoroughly enjoyed! I used KITTENCAL's Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs, which we love; I used fresh sliced mushrooms and I added 1 chopped onion and 3 cloves of minced garlic (all of which I sauteed briefly with some thyme until the onion had just softened), and I used some of my Vegetable Stock instead of beef consomme. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream without - I believe - compromising either flavour or creaminess. A super-star recipe made for Zaar Stars Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 31, 2008

I had 2 problems with this recipe. First, it was much too salty for my tastes (I did not add any salt "to taste" or use extra parmeson on top). I used consomme' and would suggest using a low sodium beef broth instead. Second, I used store-bought frozen meatballs and just heated them through in the sauce. I didn't like the texture of the meatballs (soft and a bit mushy), so next time would pan-fry or broil them first to get a bit of a "crunch" on the outside first before adding to the sauce. The kids enjoyed it, so will probably make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Ducky March 14, 2008

This is the BEST stroganoff I have ever had. The dijon and combination of sauce ingredients are awesome. I have to admit I did not use meatballs. Instead I just used ground beef. My sauce was pretty thick so I added more broth. This is the second time I've made it, and I love it. I highly recommend this recipe, and its easy to put togerther as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestCooker February 27, 2008

What a wonderful dish - DH loved it, even a very picky friend...loved it. I had some homemade frozen meatballs that I used. I also had some baby sliced portabella mushrooms that I used in place of the canned mushrooms. This was a big hit! Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb, A Westie Mom January 10, 2008

I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I used canned mushrooms and didnt have fresh parsley but did however put some dried parsley flakes in. It was creamy and delicious will definately make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainette October 11, 2007

My son is a ground beef fanatic so I'm always looking for better ways to serve it. Made this recipe with frozen swedish meatballs and it was a huge hit. Also great on rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth E August 19, 2007

Holy cow this recipe is awesome!! I'm not a big fan of meatballs but DH requested meatball stroganoff so I thought I'd give it a whirl. This dish was wonderful. Easy, creamy and downright YUMMY. I used frozen meatballs which made this go together in nothing flat. This is most definately a keeper. Give it a try...you won't be disappointed. Thanks Kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo Mae January 07, 2007

I made this last night. Everyone loved it. The sauce was rich and had great flavor. I was a little concerned about adding cream cheese but it added richness to the sauce. I used Baked Meatballs for the meatballs. I did add onions and garlic. I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z November 30, 2006

This is a wonderfully easy recipe that turns out the most delicious dinner in nothing flat. This Kittencal lady knows her stuff. Please do try it. Perfect just as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crab Lady August 19, 2006
Skillet Meatball-Mushroom Stroganoff