30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love this! Had it for New Year's and then again tonight "just because" it sounded good. Made it a main dish by starting out with chicken breast strips with the onion and extra, extra garlic. Also added a bay leaf as it simmered. Super meal!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana October 12, 2008

This is so good, thanks so much for posting. I have made this the last 2 New Years Day and everyone loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ky Gal April 29, 2008

Very Tasty dish! My girls, who do not really care for black eye peas, had second helpings! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junebugluvs5 January 05, 2008

Good recipe...made for the New Year's supper along with kale and cornbread. I think I cooked it a little long, so the rice was mushy, but it still tasted great. Served with Tabasco added at the table. Thanks for a great New Year's black-eyed pea recipe! Now hope this brings us good luck! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 January 01, 2008

Very good with our New Year meal of Grilled Pork Ribs Florentine Style (Rostinciana) Grilled Pork Ribs Florentine Style (Rostinciana) (without the salad) and Collard Greens - It's Good for You! Collard Greens - It's Good for You! DH doesn't love the collards but he enjoyed them mixed in with the Hopping John and even took seconds. Next time I may try the Black Eyed peas with the fat back added in for some extra flavor. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse January 01, 2008

I was sure I posted my 5 stars before but, since I don't see my review, I'll do it again. This dish is outstanding! I now make it on a regular basis. In fact, I crave it on a regular basis. So easy, nutritional and delicious! Wish I could give it a hundred stars. Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vtopp October 19, 2007

I made this last night to go with some BBQ chicken and a salad. I like rice and beans anyway, but the onion, garlic, and red peppers made a very tasty combination. My mom is a picky eater (a role reversal from when I was a child!) and she even asked for the recipe. I plan to take the leftovers in my lunch this week, will make a great meatless meal. I will add this to my list of favorite "go with" dishes. Thanks NP Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Witherspoon January 21, 2007

This is my first time ever at preparing/eating Hopping John and I enjoyed it very much as did my husband. I followed directions as written but I think I added a bit too much liquid because it took far too long for the liquid to be absorbed. Also, I think I checked it too often and stirred too often causing the rice to mush up a bit, my fault of course. I'll be making this again and use a bit less liquid and keep my hands off the lid and I'm sure I'll get a much better result the second time around. The flavor is excellent and the heat level was just perfect, not too hot nor too bland. The directions were excellent, preparation couldn't be easier (leave your hands off the lid while cooking!), great side dish for a quick mid-week meal accompaniment. I served this with Salsa Chicken #27475, another outstanding dish! Thanks NurseDi for shaking up my cooking routine. This will definately be made again and added to my permanent cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie January 05, 2007

My SO has had Hopping John before,but since I've never eaten it, I thought "Why not give it a shot?".And now after eating this,I wished that I had tried it long before now.Since there were only three of us, I made just half the recipe and it halved just great.This dish went very well the rest of our meal(And as a BTW, this is the first time I've ever used anything but instant rice.)This will be part of our New Year's Day tradition from now on.Thank you so much for posting.:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � January 02, 2007
Skillet Hopping John