Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Hopping John Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Hopping John

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2003

      Nurse Di! Made this last night. Dahling and I inhaled it! Sauteed some celery with the onion and upped the garlic and chicken broth. Added a bay leaf, 1 tsp hot sauce and a little Italian seasoning, plus some diced ham. Used frozen black-eyes. WOW!!! Thanks a bunch!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      UPDATED REVIEW: Over the years I've come to like beans in general more than I used to, including black eyed-peas, and have to say, this recipe is really wicked good. Thank you so much for posting the recipe. We've been having it every New Year ever since I found it, and would happily make it more than once a year, too. ;-)

      OLD REVIEW: This was totally edible. That might not sound like much of a compliment, but coming from someone who hates black-eyed peas as much as I do and subjects herself to them once a year only because it's lucky tradition, it is a *huge* compliment! :-) For the most part, I just found it really salty, so I'll try this again next year but maybe using real broth instead of bouillon and adding a bay leaf and some other spice like others have suggested. Thank you for posting a recipe that made a dish I usually dread something not all that bad to look forward to! Happy New Year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      very easy to make and I think you could mix about anything in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This is my favorite new year's day meal. I used frozen black eyed peas and added sliced sausage to make it more of a meal. I also substituted tony chacherie's seasoning for the salt and red pepper. I fried a some bacon and used the drippings instead of the butter. Used a mix of brown and white rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      This was really tasty! I used brown rice (cooked on the side with the broth) and would probably reduce the amount next time by half. I added about half a ham steak in chunks, and about a quarter of a red bell pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Great Recipe! I use red or black kidney beans, basmati or jasmine rice, and add a little bit of adobo powder as seasoning. It comes out perfect every time. I'm sure any bean would taste delicious in this recipe. What a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe, and I mean love love love love love this recipe. My husband and I eat white rice 3-4 times a week, but I often get bored. This recipe is incredible! I love that we are getting more beans/fiber into our diet, and I add a chopped red bell pepper to the onion mix, so we are getting more veggies too. We make this once a week, it is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

    • on July 10, 2009

      just made this a lil while ago..its really good. i will def. be makin it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      We love this! Had it for New Year's and then again tonight "just because" it sounded good. Made it a main dish by starting out with chicken breast strips with the onion and extra, extra garlic. Also added a bay leaf as it simmered. Super meal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This is so good, thanks so much for posting. I have made this the last 2 New Years Day and everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on January 05, 2008

      Very Tasty dish! My girls, who do not really care for black eye peas, had second helpings! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Good recipe...made for the New Year's supper along with kale and cornbread. I think I cooked it a little long, so the rice was mushy, but it still tasted great. Served with Tabasco added at the table. Thanks for a great New Year's black-eyed pea recipe! Now hope this brings us good luck! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Very good with our New Year meal of Grilled Pork Ribs Florentine Style (Rostinciana) Grilled Pork Ribs Florentine Style (Rostinciana) (without the salad) and Collard Greens - It's Good for You! Collard Greens - It's Good for You! DH doesn't love the collards but he enjoyed them mixed in with the Hopping John and even took seconds. Next time I may try the Black Eyed peas with the fat back added in for some extra flavor. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I was sure I posted my 5 stars before but, since I don't see my review, I'll do it again. This dish is outstanding! I now make it on a regular basis. In fact, I crave it on a regular basis. So easy, nutritional and delicious! Wish I could give it a hundred stars. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I made this last night to go with some BBQ chicken and a salad. I like rice and beans anyway, but the onion, garlic, and red peppers made a very tasty combination. My mom is a picky eater (a role reversal from when I was a child!) and she even asked for the recipe. I plan to take the leftovers in my lunch this week, will make a great meatless meal. I will add this to my list of favorite "go with" dishes. Thanks NP Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This is my first time ever at preparing/eating Hopping John and I enjoyed it very much as did my husband. I followed directions as written but I think I added a bit too much liquid because it took far too long for the liquid to be absorbed. Also, I think I checked it too often and stirred too often causing the rice to mush up a bit, my fault of course. I'll be making this again and use a bit less liquid and keep my hands off the lid and I'm sure I'll get a much better result the second time around. The flavor is excellent and the heat level was just perfect, not too hot nor too bland. The directions were excellent, preparation couldn't be easier (leave your hands off the lid while cooking!), great side dish for a quick mid-week meal accompaniment. I served this with Salsa Chicken #27475, another outstanding dish! Thanks NurseDi for shaking up my cooking routine. This will definately be made again and added to my permanent cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      My SO has had Hopping John before,but since I've never eaten it, I thought "Why not give it a shot?".And now after eating this,I wished that I had tried it long before now.Since there were only three of us, I made just half the recipe and it halved just great.This dish went very well the rest of our meal(And as a BTW, this is the first time I've ever used anything but instant rice.)This will be part of our New Year's Day tradition from now on.Thank you so much for posting.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Simple, delicious, cheap, and healthy. I used olive oil instead of butter and homemade stock. Will make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Hopping John

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.0
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    16%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1197.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes