14 Reviews

This was a really good meal. My husband is Cuban and is very picky about meals with rice. Everything I've tried in the past just didn't stand up to par. But this one we ALL really enjoyed. I gave it 4 stars because we thought it needed just a little more spice to it. But overall it was very good and so easy too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kare620bear April 28, 2011

Everyone in my family really liked this - seven of us, ages 5-39. I made this following the directions - minus the onion because I didn't have one and with regular rice instead of instant. I allowed it to simmer 22 minutes instead of 5 and the rice was fully cooked. I also added some left over rice from the night before (heated before added). Before adding the cheese I put the food into a 9x13 baking dish. After I added the cheese I put it in the oven @ 375 for about 5 minutes. The cheese was melted and nice & stringy.

I agree that it needs a little kick or spice to it, especially because when you hear or read "Fiesta" in a dish you think of course about Mexican food - but I also think of spicy. I had read the previous reviews and opted to not add additional spices because I wanted to taste for myself what it needed. I think red pepper flakes might do the trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannyn June 13, 2011

I made this on 5/21/10 for the " Farm Cooking " event in the Cooking Photos forum.(also for mine and SO's dinner ;) ) Due to what was on hand, a couple of changes were made. Instead of stewed tomatoes, fire roasted diced were used. I only had 1 cup of rice, so the amount of water was adjusted. And Mucho Gusto Taco Seasoning Mix was used for the taco seasoning. As you can see by the photo, I added a bit of cheese to the top for a garnish( I love cheese :) ).We felt that it needed a bit more of a " kick ",so if this is made again, I'm going to add some crushed red pepper flakes. I think that if you are making this for kids or people that don't like real spicy foods this is great. Thanks for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 23, 2010

this was so fast and so easy!! It tasted great. The whole family enjoyed. And... I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed... also used FF cheese/brown rice to make it WeightWatcher friendly! really great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KFHnow March 07, 2010

I liked this alot, Dh said he would give it 3, so I settled for "in-between". The only change I made was to use egg noodles instead of rice. It was quick, easy and stick to your ribs food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu November 09, 2009

This was really good! Very quick and easy, too, which is a must for the working mother. Everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again. The only thing I changed was to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed, and canned corn instead of frozen. Oh, but I wouldn't say this is 8 servings. More like 4 to 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katlinn June 23, 2009

DH made this for supper tonight and it was a tasty and quick meal. He used ground round instead of the ground turkey and dried minced onion. We would have liked more corn and the stewed tomatoes seemed to large and out of place. Petite diced tomatoes would have worked out better for us. Made and reviewed for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes team.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 08, 2009

I made this as a take home meal for my DS, I did a few adjustments, added in 4 minced garlic cloves and cayenne pepper to the turkey mixture and a whole onion, this made an easy delicious meal that was thoroughly enjoyed by my DS, thanks for sharing bmcnichoI, I made for ZWT 5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 17, 2009

This made a quick and tasty dinner. I made exactly as stated and my family enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 15, 2008

Very easy to put together and delicious. We will be adding this to our regular weeknight rotation. The kids and hubby cleaned their plates and went back for more. Success! The leftovers were great for lunch the next day also. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef December 13, 2008
Skillet Fiesta Dinner