9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The only things I changed were using white cornmeal (it was what I had) and splenda sugar blend. I should've added more sugar, since I like sweet cornbread. I used a 10 inch pan and had to cook an additional 10 minutes to make sure the inside was cooked through. It was a bit dry for my taste, but would probably be good with butter and jam, like the other reviewers suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimboleyanne November 27, 2011

This was an excellent recipe. I used Whole what flour (white wheat berries freshly ground), whole grain cornmeal, and soymilk for the milk. I also added another 4 tablespoons sugar (organic unbleached cane sugar). I had to add significantly more milk, (around two cups, I believe) probably because the whole grains soaked up much more than refined grains would. The crust was divine. By itself, it was slightly dry, but add some butter and it was awesome. The best cornbread I've ever had. I'm going to use the recommended amount of sugar when I make it into cornbread stuffing. My southern husband actually prefers Yankee cornbread (imagine that!) so I added a little more sweetness for him. This cornbread is fantastic with strawberry freezer jam.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebblevins September 26, 2007

NUMMY cornbread- thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne March 31, 2014

I made this last night to go with the chili we had for dinner. Loved it. Did the recipe exactly as it was written and it came out perfect. I will be making this a lot. I see muffins in the future also. I saw all the high stars and printed it out for my sister in law too. Coming back, I do see a bad review. Sure you made this recipe? You are definitely the odd man out as I go with the rest. This one is a keeper for me. Thanks for posting an easy and delicious cornbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puddin12 October 08, 2013

Not sure what happened but this was a disaster. I have made cornbread for years and have never had a fail like this one. Tasteless. Negative stars if that was possible. Sorry to the poster. This just didn't work for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH September 17, 2013

Excellent recipe. I have always used a cast iron skillet to make my cornbread. Instead of olive oil or canola for the skillet I preheat the skillet in the oven with at least a tablespoon or two of good ole bacon grease! Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2ManyHobbies October 26, 2008

I am so glad that I found this recipe. I too have a 12" lodge skillet and I needed to make cornbread for a crowd. I used this recipe and it couldn't have been better. The texture and flavor were perfect. I haven't had luck making cornbread in the past and usually just use the box mix, but now I don't have to. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki-G October 29, 2007

Made this up last night to go with a wonderful pot of Butter Beans, unfortunately the bread went so fast I didn't even get a chance to take a picture. Obviously this is a great recipe, thank you for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 July 17, 2006

This was yummy. I added a little more suger because DH likes his cornbread sweet. It was easy to put together, only thing is I used about 2 1/2 cups cornmeal since that was all I had, so I compinsated and used a tad less flour also (about 2 cups), but it was still excellent. I had mine with butter and strawberry jam. Thanks for posting this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv to eat December 30, 2005
Skillet Cornbread