Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2011

      The only things I changed were using white cornmeal (it was what I had) and splenda sugar blend. I should've added more sugar, since I like sweet cornbread. I used a 10 inch pan and had to cook an additional 10 minutes to make sure the inside was cooked through. It was a bit dry for my taste, but would probably be good with butter and jam, like the other reviewers suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was an excellent recipe. I used Whole what flour (white wheat berries freshly ground), whole grain cornmeal, and soymilk for the milk. I also added another 4 tablespoons sugar (organic unbleached cane sugar). I had to add significantly more milk, (around two cups, I believe) probably because the whole grains soaked up much more than refined grains would. The crust was divine. By itself, it was slightly dry, but add some butter and it was awesome. The best cornbread I've ever had. I'm going to use the recommended amount of sugar when I make it into cornbread stuffing. My southern husband actually prefers Yankee cornbread (imagine that!) so I added a little more sweetness for him. This cornbread is fantastic with strawberry freezer jam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      NUMMY cornbread- thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      I made this last night to go with the chili we had for dinner. Loved it. Did the recipe exactly as it was written and it came out perfect. I will be making this a lot. I see muffins in the future also. I saw all the high stars and printed it out for my sister in law too. Coming back, I do see a bad review. Sure you made this recipe? You are definitely the odd man out as I go with the rest. This one is a keeper for me. Thanks for posting an easy and delicious cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Not sure what happened but this was a disaster. I have made cornbread for years and have never had a fail like this one. Tasteless. Negative stars if that was possible. Sorry to the poster. This just didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I have always used a cast iron skillet to make my cornbread. Instead of olive oil or canola for the skillet I preheat the skillet in the oven with at least a tablespoon or two of good ole bacon grease! Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I am so glad that I found this recipe. I too have a 12" lodge skillet and I needed to make cornbread for a crowd. I used this recipe and it couldn't have been better. The texture and flavor were perfect. I haven't had luck making cornbread in the past and usually just use the box mix, but now I don't have to. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      Made this up last night to go with a wonderful pot of Butter Beans, unfortunately the bread went so fast I didn't even get a chance to take a picture. Obviously this is a great recipe, thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      This was yummy. I added a little more suger because DH likes his cornbread sweet. It was easy to put together, only thing is I used about 2 1/2 cups cornmeal since that was all I had, so I compinsated and used a tad less flour also (about 2 cups), but it was still excellent. I had mine with butter and strawberry jam. Thanks for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.4
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    34%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 87.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1179.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites