12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very delicious! I added onion and used boneless chicken thighs, also instead of flour I used cornstarch. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liljenn March 08, 2013

Oh this is pure comfort food! I used olive oil, boneless thighs, added an onion, poultry seasoning and savory. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea September 17, 2012

This was fantastic! I made as directed, but increased the thyme to about 1/2 teaspoon. I let everyone add the amount of Kosher salt they wanted at the table. I will be making this one again. Made for ADOPT A TAG, from the game FOOTBALL POOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J January 13, 2012

This was a yummy stew that was simple to prepare. I did substitute chicken breast, as I never use whole chicken, I also added some herbs to spice it up a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser October 13, 2011

This is pretty good, but hubby and I thought that it was just missing something. I did add onions thinking that might have been it, but it wasn't. Perhaps some poultry seasoning next time might liven it up. There will be a next time because it was easy and good, but it could use some improvement.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 November 07, 2010

ZWT 5 the Dining Daredevils family pick. Can you say amazing! I have nothing to complain about. Ususall, when it comes to chicken I get a little lazy, but not this time. It is fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef June 10, 2009

This was really good. I changed a few things like used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken and I left out mushrooms because we don't like them. Made for ZWT5 - Jammin Java Jivers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn May 19, 2009

This is a perfect weeknight meal, coupled with the comfort food level, it deserves 5 stars! I left out the mushrooms (personal preference) and used baby cut carrots. Simmered it for about 45 minutes as we like our veggies and chicken very done. A winner and one that I will turn to again and again. Thanks, Maryland Jim, for posting. Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl March 05, 2009

I'm giving this 5 stars because it's a wonderful comfort food recipe. It's got good flavor and the chicken is very tender. I peeled the red potatoes and omitted the mushrooms to suit our tastes. The whole family enjoyed this meal-in-one. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 19, 2008

Wow, talk about comfort foods! This was stick-to-your-ribs delicious! I didn't have thyme, (no pun intended...) and instead substituted a dab of fresh rosemary and oregano. It worked just fine. This is truly country cooking at its best. Thanks, Jim, for posting, and congrats on the Football Pool win!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fauve November 01, 2007
Skillet Chicken Stew