Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Chicken Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Chicken Stew

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2013

      Very delicious! I added onion and used boneless chicken thighs, also instead of flour I used cornstarch. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Oh this is pure comfort food! I used olive oil, boneless thighs, added an onion, poultry seasoning and savory. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      This was fantastic! I made as directed, but increased the thyme to about 1/2 teaspoon. I let everyone add the amount of Kosher salt they wanted at the table. I will be making this one again. Made for ADOPT A TAG, from the game FOOTBALL POOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      This was a yummy stew that was simple to prepare. I did substitute chicken breast, as I never use whole chicken, I also added some herbs to spice it up a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This is pretty good, but hubby and I thought that it was just missing something. I did add onions thinking that might have been it, but it wasn't. Perhaps some poultry seasoning next time might liven it up. There will be a next time because it was easy and good, but it could use some improvement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      ZWT 5 the Dining Daredevils family pick. Can you say amazing! I have nothing to complain about. Ususall, when it comes to chicken I get a little lazy, but not this time. It is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This was really good. I changed a few things like used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken and I left out mushrooms because we don't like them. Made for ZWT5 - Jammin Java Jivers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This is a perfect weeknight meal, coupled with the comfort food level, it deserves 5 stars! I left out the mushrooms (personal preference) and used baby cut carrots. Simmered it for about 45 minutes as we like our veggies and chicken very done. A winner and one that I will turn to again and again. Thanks, Maryland Jim, for posting. Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I'm giving this 5 stars because it's a wonderful comfort food recipe. It's got good flavor and the chicken is very tender. I peeled the red potatoes and omitted the mushrooms to suit our tastes. The whole family enjoyed this meal-in-one. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Wow, talk about comfort foods! This was stick-to-your-ribs delicious! I didn't have thyme, (no pun intended...) and instead substituted a dab of fresh rosemary and oregano. It worked just fine. This is truly country cooking at its best. Thanks, Jim, for posting, and congrats on the Football Pool win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I made this as per the recipe, except used some grapeseed oil & olive oil spread instead of the butter. I also added some frozen corn in the last 5 minutes. Everything worked perfectly & gave us a lovely dinner. Made for PAC Fall 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      Very tasty -- this reminded me a little like a chicken and dumpling - and was fairly easy to put together. I did use skinless chicken thighs - as that was what I had on hand. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Chicken Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.3
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    50%
    Total Fat 27.1 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 109.1 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1130.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites